We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underwhelming experience!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albany House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albany House
Ranked #66 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Underwhelming experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed at the Albany for a night whilst working in Dublin. Was somewhat stunned by the experience. Reviews read well and certainly the guesthouse is nicely decorated etc. However, the service could not have been more unwelcoming and remote. No attempt made to assist me with luggage (of which I had quite a lot) up to a top floor room some four flights up. I was pouring with sweat by the time I got to the top (despite being pretty fit!). When I asked if an iron could be delivered to my room I was told that there was no room service and that I'd have to lug the board and iron up the four flights of stairs again!! On checkout, no conversation whatsoever and no enquiry as to whether my stay had been ok. Pretty poor reflection of Irish hospitality I have to say. I hope this isn't the first impressions foreign visitors get of an Irish welcome. It reminded me of the worst excesses of the Celtic tiger years when many felt they didn't need to make any effort whatsoever.

Needless to say, whole experience not helped in any way by the racket on the street until the small hours (3am+ by the time I got my first bit of sleep).

Proceed with caution if you are considering staying!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GirlEnnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    362
    141
    50
    15
See reviews for
106
362
51
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at Albany House Sept. 18 and 19 this year and found it to be very nice. The building is old Georgian and well-kept. The location very good - we walked everywhere, even to the jail. The bathroom nicely updated and bedroom at the bottom and the back was very quiet and comfortable. All in all, great value for the money and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomargliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Very nice guest house. Really close to grafton street for shopping. Rooms are lovely and clean. Lovely Georgian interior. Only downside is the breakfast. Very poor attempt. Cereal, toast, bread and cheese. Needs hot food with a fry available. If it had this it would get 5 stars. Internet is a bit awkward as instead of just connecting to an open router you have to get a four word password from reception every 24hrs. Would prove confusing for those with a lesser technical ability, as have to register with bitbuzz.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cillitbango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I had room 43, which is at the very top and back of the B&B. It is the quietest of rooms per se but - it was still quite warm and there is no a/c so sleeping with the window open still allowed the noise from the street to be heard. The breakfast is great! the staff for the most part could not do enough for you. A special shout out to Una and Owen at the front desk who were always so friendly. All in all a great location, close to everything without having to take a taxi.

There is no lift(elevator) so you can appreciate climbing up to the 4th floor (80 steps up and 80 steps down - yes I counted them) was a bit trying with the suitcases upon arrival. While there are only 2 pubs across the street the noise can definitely be heard till 5am - Fri, Sat, Sun. The quietest nights were Tue and Wed. The wifi was hit or miss which was disappointing. I am not sure if that was just the Albany House or the internet in general.

All in all a great B&B to stay if you don't mind the noise but rest assured there are other hotels near Grafton St. and Temple Bar where the noise is worse. So if you want to be close to the middle of everything this is the place. As I will be traveling often to Dublin, I am not sure if I would stay here again as the noise was an issue for me. I was told it is like that wherever you may stay in Dublin.

Room Tip: If you want the quietest room ask for a room facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmp660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avondale, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I chose this hotel because Rick Steves recommended it. We spent our first two nights in Dublin here and returned for our final night after touring Ireland. The location is great if you want to be near St. Steven's Green, Trinity College, shopping, museums, and great restaurants. The staff is very helpful. Breakfast is OK. It never changes and the coffee is pretty bad. The rooms we had were very nice and meticulously clean. I knew to ask for rooms in the back which we did get. It made no difference! There is a night club across the street. I used ear plugs and it still did not help. People yelled and screamed and cars honked horns from about 1AM to 4AM. This occured the three nights we stayed there. Having no lift was a minor inconvenience in comparison to the unending raucous that went on at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeaninne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Albany House is a very nice Hotel located in a great part of the city. Because this Hotel is located in a very old building there is NO elevator and almost all of the rooms are at least 2 flights of stairs up. If you don't mind stairs, thats great but there is a lot of stair climbing each day. The breakfast in the morning was good. The room I stayed in was huge for one person and faced the main street below. Because there was no air conditioning, having a window open was necessary, but the main street was very noisy. I would stay here again on a return trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wedge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Good location at walking distance to most points of interest. Nice old house. Nice rooms. Friendly staff. Good breakfast with fast service (The breakfast staff works really, really hard). So what is missing for a better grade?
Many stairs and no lift. Some nights a lot of noise from nearby clubs going on all night it seemd. And we were at the back at the top floor. Bad light for doing your make up in the bathroom and in the room. No reading light by the easy chairs. No WiFi in rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karinn-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#90 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harrington Hall
#85 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
The Dean
#68 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House

Property: Albany House
Address: Albany House 84 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Dublin
#66 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany House 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Albany House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany House Hotel Dublin
Albany Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing