We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Albany House!”
Review of Albany House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albany House
Ranked #65 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Spent 5 nights at Albany House sharing a double room with a friend. We were a bit worried when we were told that we had a room downstairs on the lower floor - but when we came through the door we quickly realized there was no reason to worry. The room was huge compared to Swedish standard! We had one large single bed and one queen size, and a corner with two large comfortable armchairs. The bathroom had both shower and bathtub as well as two sinks (perfect for two women sharing a room :) )

For us who likes history this is a lovely old building with fantastic atmosphere (those who like modern Scandinavian style might want to look elsewhere though).

I have read some people complaining about noise - we came home one night when it was very noisy outside the hotel, but we heard absolutely nothing of the noise in our room (we had requested a quiet room and were very pleased!).

This is a smaller hotel which shows in the very friendly and personal attention from the staff.

The continental breakfast was of very high standard for Ireland (you might just get white toast and cornflakes), there was freshly made tea/coffee, fresh fruit salad, lovely bakery bread that was still warm, croissants, gourmet cheeses, and several types of cereals - we were so full that we did not eat lunch during the entire trip :)

I thought it was impossible to get this kind of accomodation for the price we paid! Thank you everyone at Albany House for giving us such a pleasant stay, will definately stay again!

Room Tip: Our lower floor room facing away from the street was nice and quiet dispite loud noise out on the st...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Idisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
There are newer reviews for Albany House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had 3 nights at Albany. Staff were helpful and the breakfast good (continental only) with fresh breads, toast, cheeses, fruit, yoghurt, and good coffee etc. Served till 10am at weekends and 9.30am in the week. the hotel is well located within 10 mins walk of the city centre and close to Whelans and many other bars and clubs. Late at night, the Georgian buildings opposite Albany transform into a couple of vibrant clubs so many young people flock there. Rooms to the front may hear a bit of noise - particularly if you had your window open during warmer months. No air conditioning and en-suite was rather small but room was otherwise fine and clean.

Room Tip: for a quieter room, book a room at the back.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday-Dreamer1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for only 1 night. I loved the convenient location. We took a bus from the airport and walked about 2 blocks to the hotel. The receptionist was overall helpful. The facility was a bit of a maze. It seemed that they turned a 2-3 roll houses into 1 by creating openings here and there. It was not a major downside, but the first few times I went back to my room I had to remember which side of the building it was on and which way to turn. The room was decent-typical European room size, but could use a bit more tender, love, and care to look more appealing.

The major downside of the hotel is its proximity to clubs and bars in the area and a one-pane old looking window. Our room faced the main street, so I could hear the noises from the street pretty well. At around midnight to mid morning the next day, I could hear people yelling and singing and car honking. I poked my head out and saw a line of taxis waiting to pick people up. I couldn't tell where the people were from, but I could hear some music in the distant. I don't know if rooms in the back of the hotel would be quieter, but it might be good to ask for it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just spent 3 nights at this small hotel (50 rooms). The location is perfect, just off St. Stephens Green but in a quiet street. My room was extremely comfortable and well appointed, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The continental buffet breakfast is very good, my only complaint is that breakfast finshes at 9.30. This is a very well run hotel and I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in Dublin.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights, we found it to be in a good location with various accessible routes to get around the city, Albany house is a stones throw away from the major shopping streets and the tour buses stop just around the corner. As soon as we stepped in the door we were made to feel welcome. we were given a junior suite which apart from a bit of decoration needing to be done was absolutely fantastic the whole guest house was impeccably clean and well presented and the staff friendly . Breakfast served between 07.30 and 10.00 and a good choice of items available. it might of been nice to see some meats available and maybe hot chocolate for those that don't drink coffee or tea otherwise we loved our stay plus you don't pay till you leave either.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jules829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Albanys house for 3 days. The personnel was really super friendly, the bathroom was very modern and clean.
In a room At the front side of the hotel you hear the tram and partying people on the street, but for us it was not too bad.
The price is absolutely okay, the hotel is 2 minutes away from Sheppards shopping center and 10 minutes from the Temple Bar.
Only problem: there's no elevator, so you may have to carry you luggage to the 3rd floor on your own.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank bogenregen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed Sept 27 - Oct 4 and had a wonderful time. Great room with updated bath, friendly staff and basic breakfast. We walked everywhere and found the location to be great. We were there during the Hurling final and while there was noise all around, our room at the back was very restful. For our last night we stayed at a Holiday Inn by the airport and the value at Albany House beat that hands down.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#72 of 150 in Dublin
805 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harrington Hall
#87 of 150 in Dublin
534 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,500 reviews
The Dean
#71 of 150 in Dublin
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House

Address: Albany House 84 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Dublin
#66 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £67 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany House 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albany House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany House Hotel Dublin
Albany Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing