We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value hotel in central location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albany House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Albany House
Ranked #66 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value hotel in central location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel was in easy walking distance to all attractions. The rooms were large and clean with a great shower. Staff were friendly and helpful. You couldnt expect more for the price paid. Good value and would recommend if you want a good 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    362
    141
    50
    15
See reviews for
106
362
51
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We had a nice room in the 4th floor. The breakfast was nice and we especially loved the fruit salad. A great place to stay in Dublin which is also quite close to the city center. We'd love to come back again.

Helpful?
Thank Steffen R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

For our last night in Ireland, we wanted to stay in one of the hotels in the many Georgian houses around St. Stephen's Green. The Albany House seemed to us like a very affordable option in this regard, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Our room was ready before the official check-in time--a nice change compared to our usual experience in the UK and Ireland. It was on the second floor facing the courtyard behind the hotel, super quiet, and very spacious, with very high ceilings and nice plaster ornaments. The bathroom was huge as well, with a sleek and functional design. Wifi was fast and easy to use.

Breakfast was a bit basic but with delicious poppyseed rolls. Maybe some boiled eggs and meats could have complemented the jam and cheese that was offered.

The hotel is nicely located for sightseeing and shopping purposes, with all the major destinations within walking distance. Aircoach offers a fast and frequent airport connection to and from the Lower Leeson Street stop (€8 one-way), which is also where you can catch or get off bus 145 to and from Heuston Station (does not run frequently on weekends though).

Room Tip: We would recommend asking for a room facing the courtyard behind the hotel and/or on a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in Albany House on a week night in December. We had tickets to a show in the O2 and had planned to go out afterwards.

The location of the hotel was the main attraction as it is just on Harcourt Street, beside St. Stephen's Green. The interior of the hotel was beautiful. It was cosy, warm, inviting and the receptionist was lovely and chatty.

The room was spacious, warm, with a modern, big TV and a very spacious bathroom with a big bath, which is always a huge bonus for me as I always take a bath when staying in a hotel.

We were out for the night and returned to the hotel at approximately midnight, only to find the door closed. After 10 minutes of standing in the freezing cold and continuous ringing of the bell was the door open, to which a man simply stated "Room number?" and were granted entry when I replied. Not the best system to have if you plan on returning to the hotel after a night out. I felt like I was returning home after I missed my curfew.

The beds were comfy, however, as it was December, we could've perhaps done with an extra blanket as it was a little chilly in the middle of the night. Still, I had a much better night's sleep than in other places that I've stayed in.

The location of our room was unfortunate. We were under the room that was being used for breakfast and, as the floorboards was so thin, we could hear continuous footsteps above our heads in the morning from 6 a.m. Also, the Luas was outside our window, granted, it wasn't too loud and stops at approx midnight and begins at approx 6, so it wasn't too bad. So, I can't speak for other rooms at the hotel, perhaps we were just unlucky.

The breakfast was a huge disappointment. It was a continental breakfast that started at 7:00 a.m. and finished at 10:30 a.m. We arrived down at 9:30 a.m. only to find most of the pastries gone and with the fruit salad beginning to turn brown. We ended up with toast that tasted like cardboard and quite watered down tea. I ended up having oj and bread for breakfast. Not ideal.

In all, I liked the location and interior of the hotel. I do believe that we were just unfortunate with the room we were allocated but the breakfast was a huge disappointment but I would stay there again as I do think it was value for money.

Room Tip: Any rooms on a lower floor than ground level are bound to be noisy and try to avoid the rooms beside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niamh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
Level Contributor
263 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I booked Albany House for a short break, largely on the basis of favourable price. The hotel was much better than I had expected. It is a nice Georgian building in a good neighbourhood close to St. Stephen's Green and within easy walking distance of many of Dublin's best-known attractions.
My room was spacious and the shower room was sparklingly clean. There were coffee/tea making facilities and the large TV had a good selection of Irish and UK channels. The bed was comfortable and although my room overlooked the road with trams etc., I had no problems with noise.
My room would have benefitted from some redecoration; but this seemed to be imminent, judging by the painter at work next door! He, like all the hotel staff I encountered, was pleasant and cheerful.
The breakfast (un-cooked) was very good and I particularly enjoyed the local crusty brown bread. The fixed menu might be something of an issue for guests staying for longer periods.
Albany House would be my first choice if/when I return to Dublin.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel in December. The location is great - 5 minutes walk from one of the busiest shopping streets, walking distance from interesting monuments like Trinity College, Dublin Castle, St. Patrick Cathedral...
Room was spacious and nicely equipped. We asked for a quiet room and we got it, but I can imagine the rooms facing the main street can be a bit noisy (tram goes there and drunken people, too :) ) Everything was perfectly clean. Only the bed mattress was too soft for our backs, this was the only bad thing about our stay, but can be quite important one. And the inside temperature was not really high, as the heating was switched off - probably was too hot weather for Irish to start the heating :)
Breakfast was basic but good - musli, fruit, cheese... no bacon, no ham, no meat.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
The bus 16 from the airport has a stop about 300 meters from the hotel. Be careful when going to the airport, the journey takes about 1 hour (we went home on Monday morning), so leave enough time for the journey. Of course, you can choose taxi or airport bus, which are faster.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room prior to your arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I don't usually review hotels but I just felt like I had to after just returning from a weekend stay at Albany House. The location was absolutely fantastic, 5 minute walk to Grafton Street and St Stephens Green. The room was beautiful, we were lucky enough to get upgraded to an executive suite and it was amazing. .the whole building is beautifully decorated throughout and very clean. I honestly can't fault the hotel and its very friendly staff. ..a real find..will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sargea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#90 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harrington Hall
#85 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
The Dean
#68 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House

Property: Albany House
Address: Albany House 84 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Dublin
#66 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany House 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Albany House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany House Hotel Dublin
Albany Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing