We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and value”
Review of Albany House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albany House
Ranked #65 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Good location and value”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The location is very convenient for sightseeing, but be sure you get a room at the back if you like your sleep. There are two clubs across the street that seem to be very popular. Although we initially disliked our room (in the lower level with a view of the back area), it was quiet and relatively cool. The continental breakfast was quite nice--good coffee, nice selection of breads, fresh fruit--and the servers very helpful. The desk staff were also very helpful in getting taxis and giving directions. Not a brilliant hotel, but clean and good value.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back if you like to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    366
    142
    50
    16
See reviews for
107
367
51
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was our first stop on our European trip in June! The room was HUGE compared to our other hotels we stayed at. The breakfast was fabulous and the front desk was also helpful! It was noisy at night, but we stayed in the back of the hotel. That was the only downside to this hotel. Other than that, the location was great and we were able to walk ANYWHERE. We took one cab during our trip because we felt like being lazy that morning. I would highly recommend this hotel. I can't wait to go back to Dublin!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed at the Albany House for three nights while in Dublin. I made a good choice. The hotel is centrally located and is a five minute walk to Grafton Street and is right next to St. Stephen's Green. The breakfast is well-done and the staff are friendly and helpful. If noise is a bother, request to not stay at the front of the hotel. Many night clubs in the area can be a bit noisy at night. I stayed at the back of the hotel and did not hear a thing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here twice during our time in Ireland. Both times were great. The first time we were on the street side and the double pane windows kept the city noise out. There was no air conditioning but that wasn't a problem for us. The second room was at the back of the building and we left our window open. The room was huge and perfect for us.

The location is wonderful and walkable to anything in Dublin. It was a perfect location for going to all the genealogy research facilities. Also convenient to Trinity college, Grafton Street, the river and just about anywhere.

The breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights and our room was magnificent - a good large Edwardian room with really high ceilings. The hotel has retained the character of the old buildings very well.
We asked for a room at the back and there was no problem with noise, but I wouldn't have wanted to be at the front, where the nightclubs nearby could indeed have created a problem.
The breakfast was fine and everyone was very helpful. The location is excellently central.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I would give this place an "ok". We were in Ireland for 10 nights, we stayed in 6 different hotels and this was my least favorite. I read the reviews about the noise and thought it can't be that bad. It is that bad. The lineup for the nightclub across the street was insane and extremely noisy. We had a room at the back of the hotel and still could not sleep. Also, no ac so it was hot and couldn't open the window because of the noise. It's also outdated. We were spoiled by the much nicer hotels we stayed in before this one.
Also, we had booked to spend 3 nights here and decided to cancel 2. I was told we would be charged for one of those nights as it was late notice. I was fine with this however, we had gotten a deal on the room so I assumed we would be charged the same rate as we would have paid if we didn't cancel. Not the case. I was charged regular price for one night as a penalty which was twice what we would have paid if we stayed there. So even tho she said we'd pay for one cancelled night and the night we stayed there, my bill was pretty much the cost of three nights. Not impressed. Poor customer service.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorbud123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great location--walking distance to everything, lovely staff, breakfast very nice. Managed to provide a double and single bed for my daughter, grandson and me. There had been some confusion about the reservations made for myself and another family group but the staff was extremely helpful via phone calls and emails. Carrying suitcases downstairs was a little tricky, but we managed. There was no phone provided until the last night. It would also be helpful to have a small fridge to keep water, snacks available, especially with a child in the room. Bathroom was excellent. I would return.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street and there was noise in the evening from patrons at local bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#87 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dean
#69 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Harrington Hall
#86 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House

Property: Albany House
Address: Albany House 84 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Dublin
#66 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany House 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albany House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany House Hotel Dublin
Albany Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing