We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few minor irritations but definitely worth it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albany House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albany House
Ranked #66 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A few minor irritations but definitely worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

I spent 4 nights in a single room. The room was on the interior courtyard at the bottom so it was quiet and isolated from most noise. You could tell when the Luas tram rumbled by or when someone was walking in the vacant office above, but other than that it was very quiet and isolated from the street noise. There was a day concert in the adjacent Iveagh Gardens which was quite loud but it ended sometime around 8:30 PM. I thought that the room was a little small, but for 1 person it worked out ok. The room and bathroom had been renovated recently and there was plenty of water pressure.

The hotel is a block below St. Stephen's Green on Harcourt Street, so it's about a 10 to 15-minute walk to most places (Trinity College, Temple Bar, O'Connell St., etc.). It's a great location if you're interested in Grafton Street, St. Stephen's Green, or Merrion Square though. The entrance to Iveagh Gardens is next door.

Breakfast was "Irish Continental" -- an Irish twist on a standard continental breakfast. In addition to the typical things for continental breakfast, there is also toast and a cheese board. Spent about 320 euros for 4 nights.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdyls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    362
    141
    50
    15
See reviews for
106
362
51
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

The hotel was beautiful - full of character. The staff was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. We found a special rate on their website for 75 euros a night including breakfast which was fantastic. We asked for a room in the back, per recommendations we got from tripadvisor.com and were given one which was much quieter than staying on the streetside. One warning, there was no elevator and our room was six flights up, so not for the weak of heart (it was the only one left with a double bed - we had only reserved the hotel about two weeks prior to arriving). Breakfast was delicious and filling. It's on a quiet street and an easy walk to everywhere, near pubs, museums, with a cute little grocery store next road over. Saturday and Sunday nights were a little noisy but we were sleeping with our window open and I'm a light sleeper. All in all a great package and we can't say enough nice things about the staff.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2009

stayed in albany house great location,fab rooms looks like all rooms were recently redone,fab bathrooms ,staff so friendly and helpful and breakfast so healty good location for o2 arena and any other surrowding theaters .will be defo coming back

  • Liked — spaces,clean and friendly
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank quinner52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

My Boyfriend and I booked a weekend two night stay here after viewing it's website.
It appered to be very homely and warm and having stayed there I can stay that our first impressions were 100% correct.
I could not reccomend Albany House more,they were very friendly and very helpful.
Our check in time was not until 2.pm but when we arrived at 12 the staff let us leave our bags and take our room key because we reached Dublin eariler then expected.
The room was lovely, warm and clean with a nice bathroom and lovely bath!
My boyfriend and I greatly enjoyed our stay here and would definatly return!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SLsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2008

Fabulous hotel for the price. On the quiet end of Harcourt but a perfect location to go anywhere. St stephens green, shopping and food just up the street. I looked for a long time for a hotel that was close to this area but that didn't have horrible noise issues. I found it in this hotel. We stayed our first night in Dublin north of the Liffey but south of theLiffey if you are shopping and sighseeing is better. The only negative thing I can say is they don't have a lounge in the hotel for a night cap. The rooms were large and the showers were the best of the hotels we stayed at while in ireland.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — No food available in hotel except breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank boxerloverx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

My Mum, brother and I had such a lovely time at the albany hotel.
It has a warm friendly environment, clean warm rooms and spacious bathrooms.
The staff were really helpful and genuine and couldn't do more to help you.
We stayed the weekend of the Dublin Marathon, in which we were taking part in the family run, and The Albany was kind enough to let us keep our room late free of charge so that wew could shower and change afterwards!
The breakfast was really nice, basic, but nice! And the tea was soo soo nice. Its in a great location right by St Stephens Green, the only bummer is the Luas running outside but you cant help that and u get used to it.
Thanks for a really great stay

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — not enough milk or tea in the room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fashionannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2008

I went to Dublin on a hen weekend. There was 22 of us, some stayed at this hotel and the rest stayed in Harrington Hall.
From the airport we got a bus which was 1euro90 each. The check in was quick and easy and got to our rooms straight away. The shops are about 5-10min walk also you will find some pubs there to. We had a triple room which was massive. Lovely bathroom, clean and confrotable beds, but we only had one spot light for the whole room, even though there were lamps, it still wasnt bright enough. On the same street there are nightclubs and more pubs, I never went to these but friends said they were good. Everyone in Dublin was so friendly, and laid back, taking photos of us and chatting, such a lovely place.
Spent most of the time at Temple bar which can be walked, the only thing that annoyed me about my trip was the beggers, every 2mins I was stopped which kinda got annoying. From the hotel to the airport we got a taxi, it cost us 42euros, but cost friends 35euros, so it varys. In a taxi it took about 20mins. You can email me if you would like to ask qeustions. This trip was excellent

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Beggers
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#90 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harrington Hall
#85 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
The Dean
#68 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House

Property: Albany House
Address: Albany House 84 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Dublin
#66 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany House 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Albany House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany House Hotel Dublin
Albany Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing