We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cozy hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albany House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albany House
Ranked #68 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, 30th and 31st December. The staff are attentive and courteous. The hotel looks beautiful and has a Victorian look. The entry, lounge, including the room depicts a Victorian era. We stayed in a room with a queen size bed. It is spacious. To our delight there was a spare bed. We had a view overlooking the back of the building. The toilet is new but the flush to the toilet needed fixing. It was attended to.
The hotel is old, requires a renovation. The breakfast was great. The staff member made us feel at home. Toast and freshly made coffee brought to the table. It was like a Viennese breakfast. There was a cheese platter and a variety of bread. Try the cranberry cheddar cheese. It's local. There was a fruit salad as well.
It is centrally located, with a 10 minute walk to temple bar.
I strongly recommend that if you are looking for a three star hotel although not modern, does need an upgrade, that you choose Albany house.
Positives: the hotel looks beautiful, modern toilet, spacious room, polite and helpful staff, great breakfast.
Negatives: needs an upgrade

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YEGA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    351
    137
    50
    15
See reviews for
101
348
50
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for only 1 night. This was probably enough. Staff were nice and helpful but our room was not what we expected. Desperately in need of attention. Breakfast was ok. The hotel is central but I personally wouldn't stay there again. There was some work going on at hotel but I think it needs a more major revamp. See pictures.

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kinell1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

For a 2 days business + leisure trip I had to discuss the room noise issue 3 times. While staff are doing their best to give service, failing to disclose that there will be drillings, scaffolding works and construction work from 7.30am to 6pm is far from ideal.

It is a nice hotel in a good location but you cannot expect guests to "work their activities around" something like that.

Every attempt was made to help by the staff. I was given a small courtyard room but there were renovations and woodwork going in the evening in the floor above so I was moved to the top floor. The following after in between meetings there was too much drillimg to quietly enjoy the room.

Another room suggestion was given but I declined as I did not have time to move again. I phoned reception with notice.

The following morning confusion about room change caused the cleaning lady to ignore "do not disturb" sign and came in at 7.30am.

Unable to solve the problem that is beyond their controls...staff end up being stressed no matter diplomatic both sides are in expressing concerns or finding ways to overcome the problem. They tried very hard and should be commended.

Quiet enjoyment was simply not possible with industrial drills going, without ear plugs it can be a shrill noise. I wrote an email to management asking for partial refund credit for use in better times at the hotel in the future.

Had the construction site not been there, I would give this hotel a 4 star for the staff service and cleaniness in the newer refurbished rooms. Everyone was trying but the construction this time was a deal breaker to a positive experience. But I think something needs to be done to help noise reduction....complementary ear plugs in the room?



Stayed December 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaWYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Simply the best in the area if you are looking for a nice accommodation in the city centre.
Albany house is Just few steps from St. Stephen garden,ten minutes walking from Trinity College and it s in a strategic area if you are visiting Dublin for the first time. I checked in yesterday afternoon and our room is really nice, with a big confortable bed,clean fornitures and a view on the main street. The room is really quite even if outside there s traffic all day. Staff at the reception and restaurant is kind and helpful...excellent housekeeping service during our stay!! I will be happy to come back here one day , :)

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank alice343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016

Loved the setting, the beautiful high ceilings the new carpets, the friendly staff and most of all the cheeses at breakfast. Easy walk to everywhere including the Guiness Storehouse, once there no need for taxi or bus.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. If you are a light sleeper avoid the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Let's start with the positives. Very helpful friendly staff who let us drop off our luggage and leave at hotel befire check in and after check out so we didn't have to drag it around Dublin. Breakfast was lovely home made breads and jams. Organic milk and some wonderful cheeses. A great cup of coffee and plenty if it. Again cheerful helpful staff. Negatives we had booked this break well in advance for 3 couples for 3 nights so would have expected decent rooms, instead we were sent unto the bowels of the earth down thread bare stairs with carpets stuck together with duck tape. There were workmen everywhere, plaster dust, banging etc like living on a building site. The room was a reasonable siz but dated and tired furniture covered in a layer if dust and the window opened onto a back yard with more work going on. There was no fridge. The bathroom was clean and tidy with a very good shower and tons if hot water. If I had booked at the last minute for one night and paid €50 I would have said ok. But at €100 per night for 3 nights for 3 couples I expected better. Although I didn't see the rooms upstairs there were no workmen and the carpets were in a better state of repair so my guess would be that the rooms were also better. Overall disappointed and probably wouldn't go back.

Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MoiraRathbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2016

Stayed here in a group of six and it's a lovely place to stay. The rooms were large and the beds comfortable. Everywhere was very clean. The rooms could do with a bit of an update but it's fine. The continental breakfast was great, especially the homemade jam! The staff were also great. The location is about a ten minute walk to the Temple Bar area but we found this fine. That area was way too crowded anyway. The taxi to and from the airport is around €35 euros. One small point. We had room 27 which was great. The kettle lead was too short though so we had to place it on the floor when we used it. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprost1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Harrington Hall
#86 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilronan House
#39 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
The Dean
#63 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House

Property: Albany House
Address: Albany House 84 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Dublin
#66 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany House 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Albany House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany House Hotel Dublin
Albany Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing