We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value hostel in Dublin”
Review of Avalon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avalon House
Ranked #27 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed in hostels all over Ireland during our holiday in February and Avalon was easily our favourite.
We had a twin room with shared bathroom and paid 20 euros each per night. It was a bargain. You will not find better value anywhere else,
The room was small but warm, the beds comfy, included sheets and towels, very good free wifi in room, great location, friendly staff, and cheerful, bustling atmosphere that made us feel right at home.
Breakfast is included - served inside Bald Barista cafe downstairs; toast with butter, jam, honey and chocolate spread, muesli, weetbix, milk on tap, tea, coffee, hot chocolate - as much as you like. There is the option to buy other food and excellent coffee for very reasonable prices in the cafe but most people seemed to take advantage of the freebies, and for us it was more than adequate.
The location is within 5 (or at most 10) minutes walk of attractions such as Temple Bar, Grafton Street, St Stephens Green, National Museums and Gallery, Trinity College, Chester Beatty library and Little Museum of Ireland. The Guinness Storehouse is an easy 20 minute walk away.
Getting there from airport, number 16 Dublin bus (yellow) stops opposite and cost us 2.90 euros. Returning to airport, number 16 departs from stop on same side of street as Avalon (right next door), runs every 11 minutes, and cost 3.05 euros each -possibly because we were in peak hour. Allow an hour, traffic was busy.
The only hiccup was a cold shower on our first morning but we soon figured how to get a hot shower. If you are on the fourth floor like us the hot water takes a LONG time to run through the pipes. It is a push button system and you might need to push 10 or more times. Also, guy on reception said water starts heating at 6 am, so don't attempt a shower before about 7am. Follow this advice and you will have hot showers!
There is a Dunnes food store 5 minutes walk north, same street, which carries everything you could possibly need; we saved money and cooked in the kitchen, a very sociable place.
The building is old and has a certain grunge factor but cleaning happens every day so in spite of appearances we felt it was clean. Another plus for older travelers like me - there was a sprinkling of other "mature" guests, so you will not feel out of place if you are older than the average back packer.
Great place, well done, Avalon is doing everything right.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed wiyh 3 others in 4 bedded dorm.beds were clean and comfy.staff very helpful and friendly .will be booking again for our return to the city in 2 years time where this time we will beat the Irish in 6 nations.
Thank you Dublin you were awesome xx

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I came here with my friend on short trip from Liverpool . I stayed here only 1 night . I can not say it was good or bad, because it was really short stay. But without any problems in the evening or in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I am living in Avalon House from January and I can say its best price and best service . Stuff is fun and great . Hostel and every sector is very clean . Breakfest is excellent and Free Internet is in all hostel rooms . Hostel is only 2 minutes from Graffton street and Luas .

Jasmin Islamovic

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmin_Islamovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We were very disappointed with our stay. We did not received the value for our money during the stay and felt uncomfortable with the cleanliness and the basic repair of the building. We even made a formal complaint to the hostel and to Famous Hostels and have yet to hear anything back from management (We stayed January 2nd and it's been about a month since we sent the complaint). Here were our problems: We had a private double room, it was musty and damp smelling. We have had to keep the door open to let in some sort of fresh air in. The kitchen is dirty. Not just the cause of a busy hostel, but neglect. Oven tops look like they had not been cleaned for ages. Day old dirty dishes, spoiled food and trash everywhere and broken plumbing (sinks were literally overflowing with dirty dishwater). The sinks did not drain and as such those using the facilities were unable to clean properly. The state of the kitchen raised serious health concerns. I could not imagine cooking in here after midday. There was no hot water to speak of for showers during the day. I consider hot water to be a basic necessity when paying for accommodation. We were told by staff that there is frequently a problem with the boiler and that they have been told "its being fixed" but they encouraged us to make a formal complaint so maybe the owners would be more inclined to actually do something about it. Toilets are unisex which is fine. I noticed a very strange fuzzy red fungus or moss growing on the cracks of the bathroom floor. Also, I noticed the bathroom checks by staff were never completed (they were supposed to be done and signed off at various intervals of the day), but signed off randomly at the end of the night. For breakfast, we encountered filthy dishes, lack of options (cereal, oats, or bread). We were told continental breakfast yet no juice or basic fruit was available at all. Staff were friendly and apologetic when we voiced our concerns, but were ineffective at offering any solutions to the problems except telling us to write a formal complaint.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidespana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

After reading previous reviews I was feeling apprehensive about staying here,but I honestly don't understand the bad reviews. When we checked in the reception staff were very nice and informative,rooms spotless and a free breakfast :)).. Had a great stay and will definitely be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just a 10 minute walk from the famous Temple Bar, is this Guesthouse really good situated. The rooms match the qualtiy-price ratio pretty good. If you're just in Dublin to have a drink and a laugh in the pubs, I'd definitely recommend this House.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoyHendriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#15 of 126 in Dublin
814 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 126 in Dublin
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Egali Hostel
#13 of 126 in Dublin
163 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 126 in Dublin
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon House

Address: Avalon House 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: £16 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Avalon House 1*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avalon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing