We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Group trip”
Review of Avalon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avalon House
Ranked #22 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Bielefeld
1 review
“Group trip”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were a group of 20 from Germany. Nice and friendly staff. Great location, just a ten minute walk from Temple Bar. Shops, cafés and a nice park just around the corner. Will stay there the next time again...


Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    306
    213
    105
    70
See reviews for
54
148
171
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Just highly recomended for hostel lovers:) perfect location friendly staff clean rooms. may b a bit problem for someone coz they have mixed male and female showers. everything else is very good. not for couples tho...

Room Tip: 4 bed or 4 bed en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGerkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Hi guys,
I spent a lot of months in this Hostel and I really recommend it.
It's a nice place where staff is very friendly, nice and helpful.
The room are very clean to be an hostel and they change your sheets and pillow cases every 3 days. Also the sharing room are nice with a lot of space and the people that I met there were very nice and respectful. I spent great time there, at the moment I get an apartment in Dublin but I always go there once per week because I miss the lovely athmosphere.
The only negative aspect is that the kitchen closes at 10.00 pm, that it's a littel bit early if you like eating late.
Anyway I traied a lot of Hostel in Dublin, but I think Avalon House is the best one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margherita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonDublin, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back to Avalon in the near future .

All the best ,
Avalon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Setting aside the usual yearning for cleanliness and peace and quiet, one can really learn to love this hostel.
This being said, the hostel always smells clean, despite the fixed carpet in the room, and the public facilities don't look new, but are clean.
The biggest asset of this hotel though, aside from the awesome location, is the genuinely friendly staff. A big shout-out for Gustavo.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Ser Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonDublin, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this review .
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us .
We hope to welcome you back to Avalon in the near future .

All the best ,
Team @ Avalon House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Denied late checkout (1pm) due to 'st pats weekend'. Our stay was for St Pats night after the parade.

Our twin room was right next to shower room, and LOUD.
Also we had to climb over numerous split level stairs to get to the room out of the lift.

Room was decent for the price but people running up and down the halls and the showers banging resulted in no sleep.

I asked for us to end up with late checkout so we could try and get some sleep before our flight. Managment agreed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonDublin, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
I was very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us , as discussed during your visit our night porters do try there best to keep noise levels to a minimal and we do provide free ear plugs at the reception.I hope the complimentary late check out of 5 pm helped with getting a little sleep before your travels that night.
We hope to welcome you back to Avalon in the near future,

All the best
Team @ Avalon House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I was there with a friend, but she wanted to stay in a hotel instead. The room was very clean, albeit small. (to be expected) The staff was very helpful in directing me to major points of interest. Breakfast was a cold one, but still very filling and tasty.

So, I arrived to check in and it appeared I made a mistake in booking my room. They were great about getting me in for the night at the very least. They also provided me with many alternate choices. Unfortunately I was there during the strew performance world championship and every hostel was booked for the weekend.

I ended up just staying in the hotel for the rest of my trip in Dublin.

Room Tip: Pick a small room if you aren't into sharing with strangers -- although I find that to be half t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larbear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,799 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#16 of 106 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon House

Property: Avalon House
Address: Avalon House 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Avalon House 1*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing