We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
140
323
242
124
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
323
242
124
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastperson roomtemple bargrafton streettrinity collegedormirelandpub
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Me and my friend stayed at the Hostel for 1 week and booked a 2-bed private room. The rooms are clean and there is everything you need: towels, duvets and hot water. The nights are loud, but what else do you except for a youth hostel ;)...but you can get free earplugs at the reception - yeah!
The breakfast is very basic - the location is really good! You can reach the most important spots by feet!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Franziska Johan... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonDublin, Manager at Avalon House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review, hope to see you on your next visit to Dublin,
Team @ Avalon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The location is absolutely strategic, 5 minutes walk from everything, very well connected to the airport and to the public transportations in town. The common kitchen is the best we've ever seen in an hostel.
The rooms are a bit "essential" and the bathroom are tiny and not exactly comfy, especially the shower. We booked a private room for 4 and it was fine for a 2 nights stay.

Room Tip: go for a private room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonDublin, Manager at Avalon House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed our newly refurbished kitchen, hope to see you back on your next visit to Dublin
All the very best from the team @ Avalon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

The best hostel I have ever stayed in! So clean, comfortable and friendly. Room was very small for three people but this wasn't to matter as we didn't spend a lot of time in there. Provides towels and very comfortable bedding. Beds were a little hard but pillows comfortable. We all felt very safe here and enjoyed a lovely selection for breakfast in the morning. Check out could be a little later as it felt very early.. especially after a night round temple bar. Also this is a little far out from the action so is a bit of a walk into the action.
We honestly loved our stay here!! Thank you so much for a brilliant place to stay adding to our perfect weekend. We will definitely stay here again!! Highly recommended

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonDublin, Manager at Avalon House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you so much for the fabulous review we are delighted you enjoyed and it gave us great pleasure reading your thoughts. We hope you visit us again on your next visit to Dublin
All the best, Team @ Avalon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

I usually don't expect much from hostels.. but this one was just impossible.. the room were not nice.. there was. Rotten smell, which came from the floor. (Old wooden flor). The dorms room are really small, and the bed are of really poor quality, you can't move without waking up others. The shower and toilets were probably the worse.. it was simply gross.. old, beaten and dirty..

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Frenchfriess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Avalon House from Sat 12th - Mon 14th Aug. The lady who greeted us at reception was very friendly and informative. When entering our room, yes it could do with a facelift but for €15-€20 per night it was expected, the bathroom was small but had working facilities that we needed. On Saturday night we returned to our room at midnight and made sure WE adhered to the quiet signs posted all around, its a shame that some people didn't do the same as we were woken up at 2am, 3am and 4am by girls screaming and running down the corridors. The signs clearly state that you will be asked to leave the hostel if you are noisy past 11pm, so this should have been enforced. We were woken up at 7am on the Sunday morning by a fire alarm and upon opening with the windows noticed it was due to the toaster (the smell was very strong) can't be helped, these things happen but a mention from the staff would have been nice. Sunday night, in the early hours of Monday morning it was like a repeat of the night before, this time a man was wondering up and down the corridor shouting, singing and banging on the walls - it was 3am and again totally incosiderate. At 6:30am that morning we were woken by the fire alarm, as the kitchen doesn't open until 7 we thought it must have been a necessary evacuation so we proceed to get out of bed and start getting dressed but then the alarm stopped so we got back in to bed, then it started again, then it stopped - this happened about 18 times in 30 minutes so we decided to get up and dressed, checkout early and go elsewhere for breakfast as the noise and flashing light was giving us a headache. Upon checkout, there was no apology for the fire alarm or even a 'how was your stay' overall, room was bearable for the price paid but the lack of consideration from other guests and willingness to do anything about the events which occured means we are unlikely to return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 500Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews