We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Harrington Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harrington Hall
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location. I suggest sat nav to help you find the hotel. I wouldn't stay here again, unless it was just a quick night. The location is excellent, near Grafton Street and the College greens. We had a room in the basement of this Georgian town home. It was very cold down there and we could chill our refreshments sitting on the window ledge. That's cold. The free parking is difficult to say the least. It's a small courtyard out back that should fit five cars but they stuff about nine cars there. They insist you leave your keys with them even if you parked where you would not have to move the car. The receptionist was a bit rude and off putting I must say. The hotel needs a major renovation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank javafinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

What's not to love about this beautiful b&b? OK, I can think of only one thing ...

CON = the parking is a nightmare. We had to wait 22 minutes to pull out b/c the guy couldn't find the right key to the car that was blocking us in!! That made our drive to the airport all the more frustrating b/c we thought we left enough time to get there. So if you are staying and bring a car, keep that in mind. If you don't have a car, even better!! It's right on the tram line and buses are plentiful.

PRO = other than parking, it was most excellent! The triple bedroom had great beds in a roomy space. The view out the window was nothing to write home about, but who cares? You are in Dublin and in walking distance to everything!! LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!! Shower was the best I had the entire time I was visiting Ireland. No shower has the pressure that this place has!! There were even tissue boxes in the room (which I hear is a rarity). The dining area was absolutely delightful--a bright, yellow, and cheery space! Breakfast included a wide assortment of fruits, cheeses and meats, as well as hot dishes. What I especially loved is the whole fruit that was offered--plums, pears, and grapes (you don't see that often) in addition to apples, oranges, bananas, etc. There was also cut up watermelon in the cooler. The pastry selection was almost pornographic -- so sinfully good. My only complaint about breakfast was the coffee ... drink tea instead! Trust me on that.

I know that some reviewers complained about the noise levels, however, we were in the back of the house, so noise was not an issue, although I could see how it might be if you were street side--there is a rather rowdy and raucous night club just across the street. So -- choose your room nearer the back.

This place was more than I had expected and I can't wait to go back again!! Staff were most helpful and accommodating!!

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, choose a room near the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mizlgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed for 2 days , inc NYE, First the positives, 1. Free car parking ( which could other wise have cost 35-50 ) 2. Great Location.3. Reasonable price 4. Spotlessly clean 5. Nice building 6. Comfy Bed. Personally i had a lovely stay , but I'm a v deep sleeper so noise didn't bother me, Downsides 1. Front rooms are across from copper face jacks and Krystle nightclubs, so it is noisy, 2. Luas runs right outside 3.Walls are very thin, can hear everything 4. Breakfast if needed must be pre booked 5. Not really a hotel more like a guest house
None of the above is meant as a critisim, if you book expecting the hilton you will be disappointed, but for the price it was completely fine.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muddy2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A good hotel, very clean with nice public rooms. Willing staff but reception a little slow possibly due to limited space. Breakfast arrangements unnecessarily complicated.
Very noisy outside on Saturday night but this is Dublin

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Excellent location for walking into the city, downside- impossible to sleep, night club opposite that people didn't leave until 7.30am! No Bar!!!! and then if that wasn't enough the Tram system starts at 7.00am and the whole building shakes! The breakfast was ok, nothing special though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is really a guest house rather than a hotel. The positives are its location just up the street from Stephens Green, the staff are great especially the front desk and it is spotlessly clean and a very historic building and the breakfast is lovely although the room is small and cramped. The negatives are the small car park, the rooms are a wee bit rough around the edges but they are very clean, the noise from the Luas and night club are a problem but as it was a Sunday night and raining the night clubbers were not as nosiy as I had expected. We were given ear plugs which helped. If you are looking clean lines and modern fittings don't stay here go to the hilton or teh radisson - but if you just want a bed for the night and clean facilities and a good breakfast - stay here. I was pleasantly surprised after all the negative reviews I had read I was dreading staying here - but overall the positives out weighed the negatives and my aunt who had a room at the back experienced no noise at all.

Room Tip: get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArdMhacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently with my husband.Everything from the room, breakfast and staff were absolutely superb.5 star standard at very reasonable prices. I would highly recommend this hotel for both leisure and business trips.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Albany House
#62 of 151 in Dublin
836 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#68 of 151 in Dublin
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Harcourt Hotel
Harcourt Hotel
#115 of 151 in Dublin
1,354 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,655 reviews
Kilronan House
#42 of 151 in Dublin
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington Hall

Address: 70 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £61 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harrington Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hall Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing