We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little hotel in a quiet corner of Dublin”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harrington Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harrington Hall
Ranked #84 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Tonypandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel in a quiet corner of Dublin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Even before we traveled the staff were only too happy to answer my questions via email and advised us the best way to get to the hotel. I only wish they'd told me the bus took an hour and a a half! On arrival we left our luggage at the desk as we couldn't check in until 3pm (it was 9:00am) and the very helpful lady on Reception marked on a map the easiest way to get into town and suggested some local attractions we may want to visit whilst in Dublin. I only regret not taking note of her name, she was really helpful and friendly.

When we finally checked in the room was quite comfortable and decorated in a 'boutique' style as advertised, I think it kept in with the character of the Georgian buildings in this part of town.

The hotel is located just down from Grafton street, so is very close to town, we didn't mind walking everywhere but there's transport links close with the tram stopping right outside the hotel.

Breakfast was great, again very friendly staff and good food, the usual really, selection of fruit, pastries, meat and cheese, yoghurts, cereal etc. and a full Irish breakfast, my wife had pancakes both mornings and i opted for the scrambled eggs and Irish trout on our second day.

Two nights cost us 180 euros, with breakfast as well. Not too shabby as Dublin is expensive and the friendliness of the staff made our stay very enjoyable. I wouldn't hesitate to return there!

Room Tip: Phone up beforehand as the room pictured on the booking website was not the same as the room we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    214
    83
    37
    29
See reviews for
80
217
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

if you want a very central and nice hotel in the heart of Dublin, harrington hall has it all.
Rooms are clean and quite big. I would say that rooms and location are the two best thing of this hotel.
the breakfast is quite poor, limited choice, average food.
the biggest draw back of the location is definitely the noise doring the night of the week ends.
most clubs are just next door, therefore lot of people make noise till very early in the morning. if you are in town to have fun in partying, this hotel is perfect.
for business reason i suggest other locations.
staff and managers are helpful and professional, i really appreciated the help and the option of changing my room at no cost.

i would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simone p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Harrington Hall is an impressive property with real character. We loved the homely feel and warm service. The rooms are tastefully decorated and of a good size - a refreshing change to predictable and rather bland hotel chains. We had a cooked breakfast each day which was excellent. If you are looking for an extremely comfortable, unpretentious stay only a short walk from Dublin's city centre then I would highly recommend you stay here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pichon96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed in the Harrington Hall for one night. Had car parking available which was brilliant for a Dublin city centre hotel. Room was clean and spacious, stylishly decorated with good broadband access. Paid extra for the breakfast which was nice. Recommended,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul186360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed at Harrington Hall with my 2 daughters Oct. 2013 for our first night and last night of our two week trip. I recommend taking the Aircoach from the airport and getting off at Leeson Street for a short walk to Harrington Hall. We arrived very early morning and Harrington Hall was able to store our luggage in a small closet while we went out and explored Dublin. We had a triple room with three single beds and plenty of space. I had read reviews here on the loud noise coming from the nightlife on the street and never experienced this. The breakfast was very good with many choices. The location of Harrington Hall is great - just around the block from St. Stephen's Green. I would totally recommend Harrington Hall and plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmp618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location. I suggest sat nav to help you find the hotel. I wouldn't stay here again, unless it was just a quick night. The location is excellent, near Grafton Street and the College greens. We had a room in the basement of this Georgian town home. It was very cold down there and we could chill our refreshments sitting on the window ledge. That's cold. The free parking is difficult to say the least. It's a small courtyard out back that should fit five cars but they stuff about nine cars there. They insist you leave your keys with them even if you parked where you would not have to move the car. The receptionist was a bit rude and off putting I must say. The hotel needs a major renovation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank javafinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

What's not to love about this beautiful b&b? OK, I can think of only one thing ...

CON = the parking is a nightmare. We had to wait 22 minutes to pull out b/c the guy couldn't find the right key to the car that was blocking us in!! That made our drive to the airport all the more frustrating b/c we thought we left enough time to get there. So if you are staying and bring a car, keep that in mind. If you don't have a car, even better!! It's right on the tram line and buses are plentiful.

PRO = other than parking, it was most excellent! The triple bedroom had great beds in a roomy space. The view out the window was nothing to write home about, but who cares? You are in Dublin and in walking distance to everything!! LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!! Shower was the best I had the entire time I was visiting Ireland. No shower has the pressure that this place has!! There were even tissue boxes in the room (which I hear is a rarity). The dining area was absolutely delightful--a bright, yellow, and cheery space! Breakfast included a wide assortment of fruits, cheeses and meats, as well as hot dishes. What I especially loved is the whole fruit that was offered--plums, pears, and grapes (you don't see that often) in addition to apples, oranges, bananas, etc. There was also cut up watermelon in the cooler. The pastry selection was almost pornographic -- so sinfully good. My only complaint about breakfast was the coffee ... drink tea instead! Trust me on that.

I know that some reviewers complained about the noise levels, however, we were in the back of the house, so noise was not an issue, although I could see how it might be if you were street side--there is a rather rowdy and raucous night club just across the street. So -- choose your room nearer the back.

This place was more than I had expected and I can't wait to go back again!! Staff were most helpful and accommodating!!

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, choose a room near the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizlgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Conrad Dublin
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
The Dean
#69 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albany House
#65 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#87 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Dylan Hotel
#18 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington Hall

Property: Harrington Hall
Address: 70 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Dublin
#46 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Harrington Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hall Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing