We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in central Dublin”
Review of Harrington Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harrington Hall
Ranked #89 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My friends and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Harrington Hall. We were originally meant to stay in different accommodation but since that fell through Harrington Hall was one of the only hotels available for the St Patrick's week period. We were all so relieved to find accommodation that we weren't expecting the hotel to be of any great standard, but we were proved wrong. The hotel (which may be more aptly called a Guest House) definitely exceeded our expectations. We got an early flight into Dublin and arrived 4 hours before check-in, but the woman at reception was extremely helpful and allowed us to leave our luggage in the luggage room until we checked in, which was very helpful since we wanted to look around without lugging things around! Since I had booked through another website, there was a discrepancy with the price but this was quickly resolved and we didn't have to pay extra. We checked in at 3 o'clock and the rooms were spotless and nicely made up. We had 3 rooms of 3 but they were certainly not cramped - high ceilings and comfy beds, with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space.

The hotel is perfectly located for seeing all of Dublin. We managed to walk everywhere and quickly found our way around. We only had to use public transport once and that was to go to the outskirts of town. It is on a lovely street (Harcourt Street), which has Georgian houses and a couple of extremely popular night clubs (great for us, but maybe not if you're not wanting to experience noisy nightlife). There was noise from the clubs at night but if you're at the back of the hotel you don't notice it at all; and even if you are at the front it's not terribly loud.

The staff were all really helpful the whole time we were there and allowed us to use the living room for playing cards and poker until 3am, which was ideal since we were a large group. On check-out (noon) we were again allowed to leave our bags until we had to leave for our flight so that we could make the most of our last day. We also asked for a taxi to be booked to take us to the airport later and the guy on reception was very obliging and organised it for us.

All in all we had a really good stay (although one morning there was no water for a couple of hours which was weird - think it was a general plumbing issue though, which they resolved quickly!) and would definitely return if we went back to Dublin (which I think a lot of us will do)! This hotel is definitely great value for money and the service was impeccable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed here over Christmas. My first impress was wow! What a stunning hotel, what a gorgeous room, what a fantastic central location! And such good value too. I couldn't believe it. It seemed too good to be true....

We went out for some drinks and came home at about 1 or 2am. We had to get up fairly early to go to the airport to fly home. Unfortunately our rooms were right opposite Copper Face Jacks, the skanky nightclub made famous in the UK when Robbie Keane caused a minor scandal by taking his teammates there before a football match in Dublin (or something).

Anyway, it was noisy. Very very noisy. Like Italians celebrating winning the World Cup noisy. It was also bright too with the flashing lights shining through the curtains. This all went on until about 6am. The hotel should really invest in some blackout curtains and some kind of sound proofing. If you stay here and want to sleep make sure you get a room facing the back!!

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the night club!! Ask for a room in the back if you want to get any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
4  Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Even before we traveled the staff were only too happy to answer my questions via email and advised us the best way to get to the hotel. I only wish they'd told me the bus took an hour and a a half! On arrival we left our luggage at the desk as we couldn't check in until 3pm (it was 9:00am) and the very helpful lady on Reception marked on a map the easiest way to get into town and suggested some local attractions we may want to visit whilst in Dublin. I only regret not taking note of her name, she was really helpful and friendly.

When we finally checked in the room was quite comfortable and decorated in a 'boutique' style as advertised, I think it kept in with the character of the Georgian buildings in this part of town.

The hotel is located just down from Grafton street, so is very close to town, we didn't mind walking everywhere but there's transport links close with the tram stopping right outside the hotel.

Breakfast was great, again very friendly staff and good food, the usual really, selection of fruit, pastries, meat and cheese, yoghurts, cereal etc. and a full Irish breakfast, my wife had pancakes both mornings and i opted for the scrambled eggs and Irish trout on our second day.

Two nights cost us 180 euros, with breakfast as well. Not too shabby as Dublin is expensive and the friendliness of the staff made our stay very enjoyable. I wouldn't hesitate to return there!

Room Tip: Phone up beforehand as the room pictured on the booking website was not the same as the room we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

if you want a very central and nice hotel in the heart of Dublin, harrington hall has it all.
Rooms are clean and quite big. I would say that rooms and location are the two best thing of this hotel.
the breakfast is quite poor, limited choice, average food.
the biggest draw back of the location is definitely the noise doring the night of the week ends.
most clubs are just next door, therefore lot of people make noise till very early in the morning. if you are in town to have fun in partying, this hotel is perfect.
for business reason i suggest other locations.
staff and managers are helpful and professional, i really appreciated the help and the option of changing my room at no cost.

i would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simone p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Harrington Hall is an impressive property with real character. We loved the homely feel and warm service. The rooms are tastefully decorated and of a good size - a refreshing change to predictable and rather bland hotel chains. We had a cooked breakfast each day which was excellent. If you are looking for an extremely comfortable, unpretentious stay only a short walk from Dublin's city centre then I would highly recommend you stay here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pichon96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed in the Harrington Hall for one night. Had car parking available which was brilliant for a Dublin city centre hotel. Room was clean and spacious, stylishly decorated with good broadband access. Paid extra for the breakfast which was nice. Recommended,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul186360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed at Harrington Hall with my 2 daughters Oct. 2013 for our first night and last night of our two week trip. I recommend taking the Aircoach from the airport and getting off at Leeson Street for a short walk to Harrington Hall. We arrived very early morning and Harrington Hall was able to store our luggage in a small closet while we went out and explored Dublin. We had a triple room with three single beds and plenty of space. I had read reviews here on the loud noise coming from the nightlife on the street and never experienced this. The breakfast was very good with many choices. The location of Harrington Hall is great - just around the block from St. Stephen's Green. I would totally recommend Harrington Hall and plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmp618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Albany House
#60 of 152 in Dublin
845 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#58 of 152 in Dublin
852 reviews
South City Centre
Harcourt Hotel
Harcourt Hotel
#115 of 152 in Dublin
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Latchfords Townhouse
#109 of 152 in Dublin
127 reviews
Kilronan House
#38 of 152 in Dublin
956 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 152 in Dublin
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington Hall

Address: 70 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £71 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harrington Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Harrington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hall Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing