We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Harrington Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harrington Hall
Ranked #86 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is beautiful and our room was fantastic, very roomy and well decorated. No problems with the heat or the wifi or anything like that. There were some hairs in the bathroom sink which probably were missed when the room was cleaned which bumps my review down to 4 instead of 5, although this was easily dealt with it wasn't a nice discovery! Breakfast was good with plenty of options and not too costly either.

The staff were friendly and approachable, and very helpful when checking out particularly by letting us keep our luggage in the hotel while we went out for a couple of hours. When checking out some other guests seemed annoyed by the noise levels from the carpark, but we stayed in the room directly adjacent to the car park and didn't notice any excessive noise from there. As this room was at the back we didn't experience any street noise either, although I can see that it would be noisy in the rooms at the front from the tram and the people outside the clubs nearby (it was very busy even at 11pm) so I would definitely try and get a room at the back of the hotel.

Location wise, it's excellent. Not too far to walk to find restaurants or to join tours, right by St Stephen's Green. Also excellent value for money!

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, thank you for the pleasant experience and assistance!

Room Tip: Was very impressed with Room 4 and would recommend this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonpegg91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    220
    91
    39
    30
See reviews for
85
228
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Endicott, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

It is an older hotel, but kept in good order, beautiful hand carved medallion ceilings; large rooms, with separate sitting/tv area from bedroom; it was warm without AC but none of the hotels or B&B's we've stayed in on this trip have had A/C. Breakfast was pleasant, not all homemade. The staff were wonderful, polite, and very helpful.

The only complaint we would have ....is the noise from the disco clientele outside until the early morning hours....and we were on the second floor in the front of the hotel.

Also the hotel gave us coupons for 20% off dinner at a wonderful restaurant...1900 Bar and Grill...the food and service there was PERFECT....delicious and considerate...the Chefs food was original and outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Endicott, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Friendly staff, parking in rear for small cars, love the train and bell, rooms with style, and food very good. Restaurant "1900 Bar & Grill" good & just a few buildings down. Not for light sleepers as the music and drums start around 11:00 pm.

Room Tip: For quiet, ask for back not street room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

First may I say you can not fault the location of this hotel,it is bang on city centre at st stephens green.If your looking a weekend away like hitting the bars and clubs this hotel would suit you.However if you want a relaxing W/End and a chance to sleep go else were. We STAYED ONE NIGHT AND TRUST ME IT WAS ENOUGH. Directly across the road from hotel is 3 night clubs that stay open till 5am, with that we had drunks yelling and shouting along with the constant beeping of horns from the taxis coming to pick ppl up. Also the rooms are like a sauna and in previous comments I seen the electric goes off now and again, guess what it did with us as we were getting ready to go out. All and all not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 449ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

First off, some of the staff was very helpful and nice (others not so much). The place is old and rickety, which is fine and actually has some character as the rooms are sort of all over the place. Problems are that the rooms were very hot (3 that I know of), so we had to keep windows open and fans on, and the pubs and nightlife on that street were VERY active until at least 6am (we had to leave for a flight and it was still going). Fun area for partying, not for sleeping or staying cool.

Room Tip: Away from the main street would have to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights and our room was beautiful but we were on the ground floor and was awoken a few times by cars being moved about in the small car park adjacent to the room. The location is perfect and the linked restaurant was lovely. The breakfast was good with a varied selection. But due to the location I wouldn't advise people to stay here if your not up for some craic.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We will not stay at Harrington Hall until the noise problem is resolved. It is not acceptable to hear people singing, talking loud and carrying on up to 4:30am. Some nights the noise did not start until 10:30pm just the time when I'm trying to fall asleep. Come on !!! We paid serious money for a good night's sleep. If you want a good night sleep, this is not the place to stay at. There must be a curfew on the bars in the area and a noise restriction no later than midnight. Why should those who have paid money for a good night sleep suffer at the expense of inconsiderate others ? When we reserved, we asked for a quiet room in the back. That did not seem to work. Our high recommendation is no one should stay at Harrington Hall until the noise curfew is seriously solved.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Take your money somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BrasilTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Conrad Dublin
#18 of 151 in Dublin
441 reviews
Dylan Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#79 of 151 in Dublin
782 reviews
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 151 in Dublin
570 reviews
Albany House
#68 of 151 in Dublin
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington Hall

Property: Harrington Hall
Address: 70 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Harrington Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harrington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hall Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing