We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see when in Dublin”

Guinness Storehouse
Ranked #5 of 586 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: GUINNESS STOREHOUSE(R), Ireland's No. 1 visitor attraction is a "must see" on any visit to Dublin. Housed in an old fermentation plant in the heart of St James's Gate Brewery, the now seven-storey visitor experience tells the story of Ireland's iconic drink and beings to life the heritage of this world famous beer. Your journey begins standing at the bottom of the world's largest pint glass, which rises through the building. It is a dramatic story that begins over 250 years ago and ends in Gravity(R) Bar, Dublin's highest bar where you will receive a complimentary pint of GUINNESS(R) while enjoying spectacular views over Dublin.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok, so I'm a Guinness fan, but nevertheless, I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Dublin. It is a museum/pub/brewery that offers insight into social history, technicalities of beer production, marketing, tasting and even pouring and serving the perfect pint of Guinness.

The only thing that I would change are working hours, since it closes, in my opinion, too early. It would be great to be able to have a drink at the top floor, with all the glass walls, during the evening and night hours.

Thank SaKaGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuinnessStorehouse, Manager at Guinness Storehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Guinness Storehouse. We have so much fascinating Guinness history to share, so we’re thrilled you enjoyed the various exhibits and videos throughout the building. The Guinness Storehouse is a daytime attraction but we do hold evening functions and events where guests are treated to the wonderful city lights from the Gravity Bar. Thanks again for the feedback, we really do value it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36,778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gravity bar"
in 5,841 reviews
"free pint"
in 1,718 reviews
"top floor"
in 2,124 reviews
"pour your own"
in 1,345 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 2,244 reviews
"brewing process"
in 958 reviews
"black stuff"
in 1,212 reviews
"brewery tour"
in 452 reviews
"degree view of dublin"
in 416 reviews
"learn how"
in 1,030 reviews
"own pace"
in 829 reviews
"connoisseur experience"
in 317 reviews
"tasting room"
in 792 reviews
"learning how"
in 405 reviews
"gift shop"
in 1,052 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 297 reviews
"visiting dublin"
in 484 reviews
Filter

320 - 324 of 36,778 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have read a few negative reviews and wonder if those folks saw the same exhibits that I did. Entrance to the Guiness Storehouse is about $23 per person in round numbers. The building consists of seven floors. The exhibit takes the traveler from the sowing of the grains of barley to the ultimate baking at 232 degrees Centigrade--not a degree over nor a degree under.

You need to take your time hear and stop to observe the various films, narratives and items to see. Did you know that the barrels used are air tight and yet there is no glue holding the staves together. It is a matter of craftsmanship. Amazing.

At the end of the tour each guest over 18 is served a pint of Guiness, unless you prefer one of the other brands now owned by Guiness or its parent Diageo. Learning how to drink Guiness was a treat. I have always avoided it thinking it would be too "hoppy" for my taste, but I was pleasantly surprised that if one drinks Guiness much look good wine and savors each mouthful, the experience is entirely different.

Of course, one has to have a bit of curiosity to enjoy this exhibit, so if you are easily bored it may not be for you. Some folks have complained about the price, but if one considers the cost of a pint of Guiness, 6 euros, that reduces the cost to 13.50 euros (something over $15 for about two hours of entertainment. If you do not drink beer or have no appreciation for the talent of the brewmaster, this probably is not the tour for you. However, if you have any love of Ireland, I suggest you not miss the exhibit. The Guiness company consumes something like 2/3 the barley harvest of Ireland, so it contributes to the Irish economy, and is present in Ireland on a number of stages.

Thank ken4401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuinnessStorehouse, Manager at Guinness Storehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks so much for getting in touch, and for this glowing review of Guinness Storehouse. We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit! We've so much fascinating history to share around Arthur Guinness and Dublin so we love to hear positive feedback from our visitors. Hope you can make it back again soon. Sláinte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A wonderful place to learn the history of Guinness. Learn the how it’s made to how to pour a draft properly. A very nice souvenir shop and restaurant. Very worth your time, you won’t be disappointed.

Thank jceresa5773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuinnessStorehouse, Manager at Guinness Storehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi there, and thanks so much for visiting! What a great review - feel free to share your Storehouse story and pictures on any of our other social platforms too. Sláinte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not like anything I had ever experienced! A great day out for a Guinness lover! My wife Nancy doesn’t drink but she enjoyed a soda and the views from the sky bar. Perhaps a tad a overpriced for what you get but truly a once in a lifetime experience.

Thank don_mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuinnessStorehouse, Manager at Guinness Storehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to post this review of Guinness Storehouse. We’re glad to hear that you and your wife Nancy enjoyed the amazing views from Gravity Bar – it’s a great way to see Dublin! Looking forward to having you back again soon. Sláinte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were really looking forward to doing this tour, a famous brand from its roots. We pre-booked the first session. The tour is selfguiding over many levels and each level offers something different.
However, some aspects are interesting alot are not, The advertsing floor was really disappointing and expected so much more from this. I expected some aspects of the factory and how they store, bottle/can/cask it etc. but there is none of this and your not in the factory.
We pulled out own pint which was fun and got a certificate then off to the viewing lounge - you could'nt move it was as if everyone had just come in and went straight up there. It was so busy we couldnt drink properly so left our pints and headed out once the lift finally arrived.
I would say if you had time and money, it could be worth doing but we were disappointed.

Thank Brizzle1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuinnessStorehouse, Manager at Guinness Storehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for getting in touch. We’re disappointed to hear you didn’t fully enjoy your experience here at Guinness Storehouse. We are housed in an old fermentation plant, and all tours take place in our visitor centre. Unfortunately, there is no access to the working brewery. However, at the Storehouse we aim to take visitors on an unforgettable and a magical journey deep into the heart of the world-famous Guinness brand and company through videos, installations and interactive elements such as Guinness Academy and the Tasting Rooms. Your admission ticket gives you full access to all features within the Storehouse, as well as a pint of Guinness in Gravity Bar. Nonetheless, we appreciate your review, and take on board all customer feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guinness Storehouse also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Guinness Storehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing