We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rudimental”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Academy Dublin

The Academy Dublin
Ranked #92 of 286 Nightlife in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since The Academy opens its doors in late 2007, we’ve welcomed a large number of talented acts, and have a million great memories... From The Killers to Lilly Allen, Chuck Berry to Calvin Harris, Biffy Clyro to Michael McIntyre, we’re proud to be at the forefront of the live music scene in Dublin.Featuring 3 different venues within one building, The Academy gives punters a big choice of acts, clubs & events to consider when on a night out in the city. The Main Room has a capacity of 850 including the mezzanine balcony. With a prominent stage that is viewable from every corner of the room, and raised seating areas situated either side of the stage, it means that every punter gets to experience the show close up. This is where the biggest acts play, and where our late clubs take place.Academy 2 in the basement is our baby venue, with a capacity of 230. Here you will find new up & coming acts, both local and international. Countless bands have cut their teeth in Academy 2, only to announce soonafter that their next gig will be headlining the Main Room!The Greenroom is our ground floor venue which was given a complete overhaul in the summer of 2011. With a capacity of 450 and a new stage installed, its the perfect location for club nights, DJ’s, private parties & special events.
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
“Rudimental”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just back from this venue, first time here and wont be the last....absolutely electric. Bar prices a bit steep but that is to be expected. Great atmosphere inside and all staff seemed genuinely happy in their job...:-)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 338Dan6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlympiaTheatre, Front Office Manager at The Academy Dublin, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! Rudimental put on such a great show alright, can't wait to see them again in our big sister venue The Olympia Theatre next year...

We hope to welcome you back soon for more great gigs! Cheers from all staff at The Academy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    5
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
641 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 644 helpful votes
“Best venue in dublin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Was here for alkaline trio tonight. Disappointed with the band but the venue, as always, was fantastic! I've been here quite a few times before and it's always first rate. I asked a bouncer about how to get upstairs and he said guest list only. Later on when I was coming back from the bathroom he approached me and said we could go up if we wanted, great! Nice coach beside the bar with a fantastic view of the whole stage. Best venue in dublin by far!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rockfist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlympiaTheatre, Front Office Manager at The Academy Dublin, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Cheers for the positive review and feedback! Mixed reviews of Alkaline Trio alright, but glad that didn't affect your experience of the venue. Yes the balcony is mostly for guests of the artists, and for people with special needs, but if you come down early when doors open usually we can let a few folks up there to enjoy the view. Always worth asking in case there is a bit of extra space. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“really nice venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Really nice venue, small but massive! Myself and a group of friends went down to see / hear The Foals. They were awesome but I really like this venue. Very much like our own Mandela Hall in Belfast. Wouldn’t mind heading back someday.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JTclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irisholympian, Front Office Manager at The Academy Dublin, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
We are still buzzing off the Foals gigs, what an incredible live band! Glad you enjoyed your time in The Academy, we hope to see you back again in Dublin. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lawson gig!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I love this venue..it's nice and small, you can see the stage really well from anywhere.
The only thing I didn't like was the bar was not open for alcoholic drinks!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Molls21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irisholympian, Front Office Manager at The Academy Dublin, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Glad you enjoyed Lawson in The Academy! Because of the young audience for those guys, the age restriction meant we were not able to have the full bar open during the show. Most gigs in The Academy are Over 18's, so hopefully you will be back again and can enjoy a tipple then! Look forward to welcoming you again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“100% excellent venue.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

A great location. A fantastic music venue. Staff were really helpful to myself and friends. I can't recommend this highly enough.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ogie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irisholympian, Front Office Manager at The Academy Dublin, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
What a great review, thank you so much! Delighted you've had great experiences of our venue. Hope to see you back in The Academy soon, cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Academy Dublin also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Academy Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing