We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic team-building activity”

Experience Gaelic Games
Book In Advance
More Info
US$41.51*
and up
Gaelic Games Experience in Dublin
Ranked #14 of 532 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This is a hands on activity - full of fun and laughter and delivered in the heart of the community. A fun mix of culture, history, sport and soft activity. Experience Gaelic Games introduce visiting groups to Ireland’s greatest cultural secret and most popular sports – Gaelic Football, Hurling -(Stick and Ball game), Gaelic Handball along with dance. A uniquely authentic Irish activity! – just about the most memorable and fun Irish experience visitors can have!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic team-building activity”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The Regeneris Company team had a great morning trying out Gaelic football, handball and hurling. it was fascinating to find out about the history of the games before heading outside into the sunshine to have a go ourselves. The organisers were brilliant and having taught us some of the basic skills soon had us playing a competitive match. I would definitely recommend this for a team building event for other companies travelling to Dublin.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Viborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gaelic games is great fun!”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I went to Dublin with 30 18-year-old students, and the best part of our trip was definitely Experience Gaelic Games. Georgina was warm and welcoming, and the céili dancing was great fun. We also tried Gaelic Handball, Hurling, and Gaelic football, and especially handball and football was a great experience for everyone. Hurling turned out to be a bit too difficult for some of us to learn in just one afternoon;) We wanted to learn about Irish identity, and the introduction to the different sports taught the students how important these sports are to Irish people. I will definitely be back next time I bring students to Dublin!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Temple University Students Loved it!”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This past summer, 2012, I was privileged to teach Temple University (Philadelphia, PA, USA) students in Dublin, Ireland. I had taught a previous group in 2010, but this time I was looking for experiences which would enrich the students' lives and their understanding of Irish sports. I came across Experience Gaelic Games early on in our stay, contacted Georgina, and arranged for a 3 hour lesson in hurling and Gaelic football at the Games' host field, NaFianna, just on the outskirts of Dublin City Centre.

The students loved the time so much, they requested another visit before they left, this time to actually participate in match. Georgina arranged that as well, and within 2-3 weeks of our original lessons, the students were at it again with a mixed match of hurling and football ( 1/2 time each). They divided themselves into 2 teams, one team wearing black, the other red, and had a terrific time.

At the end of the Dublin course, I distributed a survey to the students, and out of approximately 25 events/experiences and guest lectures, both Experience Gaelic Games experiences were runaway winners, averaging 9.6 on a 10 point ranking scale for a valuable and fun experience.

Georgina and her staff were superb hosts. The lessons were excellent. The match was eye-popping, with the young women giving the young men all they could handle as collegial competitors. Both afternoons, the lessons and the match, were top-notch. I've recommended to the Temple University Study Away program coordinators that they make Experience Gaelic Games steady and routine fare for the Temple students studying in Dublin.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rennes, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time for a stag week end”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We decided with 9 other lads from France, to have a stag week end in Dublin, and started with this activity, straight away after our arrival. We were looking forward to playing on the pitch, as we all like sports. We were not disappointed at all, we really enjoyed discovering gaelic football, hand ball and hurling, with a great coach. We had guys in our squad who didn't speak english at all, and they enjoyed as much as the others. This was the right first activity for our week end, before popping downtown for a lunch in The Church (suggested by Georgina and included in the package) and a pub crawl. Thanks very much to Georgina who did her best to welcome us.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmanuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The most fun we had around Dublin”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We came here on a business school trip - as we booked a morning session, our hosts were most likely dismayed to see 16 American students straggle into their building, still wearing the badges of the previous night's trip to Temple Bar. Despite this, we couldn't have been happier with our experience at Experience Gaelic Games. We spent 2-3 hours there as the hosts walked us through the basics of Hurling, Handball, and Gaelic Football, including splitting into teams and playing a full game on the field. We couldn't have had more fun. The organizers were extremely patient with us as we learned the games, and they were very encouraging and instructive. Best of all - cookies and water when we came off the field! A trip to Dublin wouldn't be complete without a trip to Experience Gaelic Games, and we're so thankful for our wonderful experience there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jphmoney99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Experience Gaelic Games also viewed

 

Been to Experience Gaelic Games? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing