We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This set the tone for our trip!”

Experience Gaelic Games
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.86*
and up
Gaelic Games Experience in Dublin
Ranked #14 of 530 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This is a hands on activity - full of fun and laughter and delivered in the heart of the community. A fun mix of culture, history, sport and soft activity. Experience Gaelic Games introduce visiting groups to Ireland’s greatest cultural secret and most popular sports – Gaelic Football, Hurling -(Stick and Ball game), Gaelic Handball along with dance. A uniquely authentic Irish activity! – just about the most memorable and fun Irish experience visitors can have!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This set the tone for our trip!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We signed up to try the Gaelic Games the first day of our trip. Our instructor, Brian, was excellent at explaining the rules and teaching the basic skills for each of the games. We had a blast. Little did we know, the All Ireland Hurling Championship would be played that weekend. We sat in a Pub with all the locals watching the game on the edge of our seats. We became obsessed. We watched the final end as a tie and learned it would be replayed again 3 weeks later! We became huge Hurling fans and visited Croke Stadium as well. We made a point of finding an Irish bar in Chicago to watch the game be replayed. We tell everyone how much fun we had learning the sport, watching it played, and submersing ourselves in the Irish culture. You've got to try this!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“6 german soccer boys learned Hurling”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a lot of fun practicing the gaelic sports. Our Coach Martin was really fantastic, we had heavy muscle ache after the exercises.The people at the Club where absolutely great. It was interesting to get introduced to the background of culture and social relevance of the GA Clubs. Absolutely amazing that the top players are still in amateur status.
Go there and experience it!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HJWINKEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral Merseyside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a brilliant experience”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I brought over a School Hockey Team of 34 boys aged between 12 and 15 and four members of staff from a school on Merseyside. Georgina had arranged for us a package of a morning of Gaelic Football and Hurling together with a visit to Croke Park the next day. Georgina met us as soon as we got off our minibuses and from that moment and for the next 3 and half hours Georgina and her staff took over . The boys had no real idea of what to expect but they were enthralled by the whole Gaelic experience and to be honest they would have stayed all day but for the fact that we had hockey matches in the afternoon. The boys were given instructions on both sports together with coaching and then the competitive element kicked in as they were allowed to play a couple of matches.
The boys loved it and the visit to Croke Park the next day allowed the boys to have a further insight into what Gaelic Games is all about .
We had struggled when we first got to Dublin finding our way around and when we finished with the Gaelic Games Experience we needed to go to South Dublin to play a couple of Hockey Matches. Cormac went out of his way and drove us through the centre of Dublin for 20 minutes to help us.
This is the kind of customer service and going the extra mile that makes the whole experience a success.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fun for our Team”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were a team from Norway visiting Dublin. Good friends for many years, and we are travelling together to have som fun together, away from work, family and wifes. This year Dublin and The Wall concert was the target. In addition we stumbled across the opportunity to do the Gaelic games experience. It was really Luck fpor us all!

It was just Great Fun: Our knowledgebase was Zero in the beginning, we got a good introduction, and then the games begun. After a few minutes all of us were hard-core enthusiasts of it all, and we can recommend it to all. Regardless of age, size, ...

We say: Go For It!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thor Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“By far the best thing we did in Dublin”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was such a fun afternoon for both myself (a non sporting type) and my boyfriend (a very sporting type). Georgina and Martin who ran the session were both incredibly genuine and friendly, and their enthusiasm for the sports so close to their heritage made the session very fun but also an educational experience. They were very accommodating and encouraging, and made even myself (who missed the ball most times I went to kick it!) feel a part of the game. My boyfriend has also since googled where he can play Gaelic football in the West Midlands!! We would both definitely recommend it to anyone up for a bit of fun.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KSault1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Experience Gaelic Games also viewed

 

Been to Experience Gaelic Games? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing