We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun”

Experience Gaelic Games
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.88*
and up
Gaelic Games Experience in Dublin
Ranked #13 of 507 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This is a hands on activity - full of fun and laughter and delivered in the heart of the community. A fun mix of culture, history, sport and soft activity. Experience Gaelic Games introduce visiting groups to Ireland’s greatest cultural secret and most popular sports – Gaelic Football, Hurling -(Stick and Ball game), Gaelic Handball along with dance. A uniquely authentic Irish activity! – just about the most memorable and fun Irish experience visitors can have!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This was the first event on the first day of our two week trip. After we came home he still said it was his favorite event of the trip. Our entire family enjoyed the day and learned about Irish culture in a way we will remember. I encourage you to go.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant fun”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Visited as part of my Stag weekend in Dublin and had a brilliant time. The guys taking the course were great craic and really made the day. Having watched on the TV before you definitely get a new respect for what these guys can do! Great fun playing in the bigger games as well as trying out the individual skills - didn't quite have the co-ordination for hurling but definitely going to try out the football again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DonsFan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages and fitness levels!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Awesome! Our group of 11 ranged from athletic 20 somethings to pudgy, couch potato 50 somethings- that would be me... We all had a great time, staff was accommodating of our various ability levels and found ways to involve us all. We were excited to learn how to play traditional Gaelic games and had such fun that we attended the hurling championship semi-finals later in the week. This adventure was a nice break from the historical, archeological and pub crawling that filled our vacation. Wear shorts, t shirts and tennis shoes - you will be active!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tarheelsbeth1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun while learning how to play gaelic games”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I are Irish, now living in the US and were back on holiday with our teenagers over the summer. They have watched their cousins play gaelic and were delighted to get the opportunity to learn the games themselves - we joined in too! What a fun filled afternoon we had at Na Fianna. Great overview of the history and rules of the games and then the fun and laughter began as we got to experience each of the games firsthand with our wonderful coaches. We learned the rules of each game - football, hurling and handball, did tons of fun drills and got to play games to see how much we'd learnt (we're not quite ready for Croke Park yet!). Such a well run program - fantastic fun and will be recommended to all our friends to try when they are visiting Dublin.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MJCDOR_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A nice day out with the colleagues”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our office went to spend an afternoon learning Irish traditional games. As a foreigner living in Ireland I appreciated the possibility to understand a little more this aspect of the Irish culture and it was a good excuse to make some sports. A great way to spend an afternoon!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moonbiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Experience Gaelic Games also viewed

 

Been to Experience Gaelic Games? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing