We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jeanie Johnston Tall Ship and Famine Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$11.37*
and up
Jeanie Johnston Tall Ship and Famine Museum Tour in Dublin
Ranked #34 of 530 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rated as one of the most popular attractions in Dublin, a visit to the Jeanie Johnston Tall Ship and Famine Museum will intrigue and fascinate all ages. Over 1 million people left Ireland during the 1840s at the height of the Great Famine, fleeing starvation and hoping for a new life in America. This mass emigration created a huge diaspora of people with Irish ancestry in the Americas, and later in Australia. The life-size wax figures in the museum below deck on the Jeanie Johnston are all modelled on actual passengers who made the journey to North America on the ship. Daily tours begin AT THE SHIP which is located on Custom House Quay just downriver from the International Financial Services Centre and across the road from Jury's Inn Hotel.
Ontario
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have always wanted to see a tall ship so this was a great opportunity. I loved hearing the stories and I have such an appreciation for what those poor immigrants went through.

There isn't much of a tour really. You are gathered on top deck as a group and then you make your way to the main sleeping cargo area as a big group and listen to stories. That is all. So you don't really get to tour the ship at all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MichelleK20127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    280
    61
    20
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athy, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Kids will love it!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our children had a blast on board the Jeanie Johnston, they learned lots about the Famine without even realising it. Myself & my husband also really enjoyed the tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank purple_swb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“reminder of how lucky we are today”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The ship tells the story of how those Irish emigrants took the risk to travel to USA for a better life. Most emigrants took the risky and harsh journey because they had nothing to eat due to the famine at that time in Ireland. I learnt that quite a few millions Irish people either died or left Ireland as a result. This visits reminds me to cherish food even though it is abundant these days and not to waste food, as there are still many people in other parts of the world who have nothing or not enough to eat. We should be grateful for our food and try to help those not so fortunate.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank anita n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“History brought alive through storytelling. ”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We visited on a day mixed with sunshine and dark brooding skies. With only about 24 people on board it was stunning to think that up to 250 people were transported (willingly or not!) in this manner. Paul was a skillful storyteller which made the past come alive despite the dubious mannequins on display. With a family connection to the famine years I came away overwhelmed at the sacrifice my ancestors made and the challenges they faced. I hope the JJ sails again some day. Well worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank Twomaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,136 reviews
401 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
“Good visit”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Very informative especially if u have interest in this time period. Guide is good, and it allows u to feel what the Irish went through, although this is a replica which has some modern additions.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jeanie Johnston Tall Ship and Famine Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jeanie Johnston Tall Ship and Famine Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing