We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a step back in time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilmainham Gaol

Kilmainham Gaol
Book In Advance
More Info
US$36.21*
and up
Dublin Freedom Pass: Unlimited Transport and Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing
Ranked #1 of 498 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bleak old jail was notorious in the 19th century for its harsh treatment of prisoners.
Sydney
Level Contributor
392 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“a step back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We came for a visit yesterday and couldn't get in so arrived at 9.30 am and still had an hours wait that we spent in the museum. Lots to see and read and watch. A great way to learn of the history of the Irish republic and the struggles involved in its inception. Good guides that take you through (as there is no self guided touring) with lots of info as well as experiencing the cells and the yards first hand. An interesting way to pass an hour or so.
When we left, the line waiting to enter was hours long so make sure you go early and expect to wait.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,691
    4,065
    839
    174
    172
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

On my second attempt I finally got into the gaol but it was well worth the lengthy wait. Tour guide was informative and I certainly learned more about the birth of the Irish Republic. The museum was very interesting too. This is well worth the 6€ to get in. Would suggest you avoid midday as it was very busy with tour buses dropping in etc. passed by at around 3pm and the queue was very small so perhaps this would be a better time to go if you don't want to wait too long. Don't think this is a good place to visit with small children as they cannot roam around as the tour is guided. There is a lot of standing still and listening to some very intensive stuff. One child was actually frightened of the gaol and had to leave.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank J_rogers277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

A must if you want to appreciate Irish history. Go early in the morning. First tour is 9am. Alternatively, send someone from your party to show up at 9, buy tickets foe a tour later that day, and everyone comes back then.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kilmainham Gaol”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

It was not what I expected. I don't really know if it really sticks to the reality of the facts that the guides talk about. It seems like a prepared story performed by really bad actors. They talk like reading from a script.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mlgaudier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Visitor in my own City (5) Kilmainham Jail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This attraction is right in the heart of the area in which I lived as a child and teenager.As a teenager, we visited most Sundays (without paying!!) and joined the tour. There came a time where we could have actually given the tours.
The jail has a significant place in Irish History. The leaders of the 1916 rebellion were taken to Richmond barracks, Keogh Square, which is only a short distance from the jail, (part of the barracks was later taken over by the Christian Brothers and I went to Primary school there). The signatories to the proclamation were brought from the barracks to the Jail.
There were also many other important guests in the jail, but I won't steal your guide's thunder....I'll let him/her continue the story.
I find this a wonderful placefor people to spend time, when my children were younger I brought them also. I think children love visiting old jails and hearing the stories that the guides have to tell, mine did at the time anyway. My guests also thought this was a great place on their itinerary.
Within a short walk from here is the Royal Hospital Kilmainham. Across the road is the Hlton Hotel and the bar/lounge do good food at reasonable prices.
Well worth a visit is the museum within the jail, probably better to go to it after the tour, but you will no doubt spend time here if you are waiting for the tour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KAButler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kilmainham Gaol also viewed

 

Been to Kilmainham Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing