We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with fab staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Ranked #59 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel with fab staff”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I really liked this hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The location is great for getting around - the hop-on hop-off bus stops just across the road. The breakfast was a bit overpriced for what you got but it was delicious. I would definitely stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
I am always happy to hear from our guests about their experience of Mont Clare hotel Dublin, what was great about their stay as well as any comments to help us provide an even more memorable experience for our guests.
When I receive a review like yours, it is such a positive reinforcement of the combined efforts of our entire team who striveto provide maximum guest satisfaction.I will be sure to share your feedback with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mont Clare Hotel Dublin in the very near future.
Kind regards,

Gary Mulligan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    437
    173
    67
    36
See reviews for
155
436
63
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed in the Mont Clare on the 24th April for one night. I arrived quite late and the girl at check in was very friendly and welcoming. I had some difficulty accessing the car park and I phoned her in reception twice and she explained it perfectly. The room was nice - two single beds. The bathroom was also very nice. Breakfast was fine - I opted for the continental breakfast buffet and the food was more than satisfactory.
I usually stay in the Davenport or Alexander which are both just across the street, however the staff in the Mont Clare have won me over and I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
I am always happy to hear from our guests about their experience of Mont Clare hotel Dublin, what was great about their stay as well as any comments to help us provide an even more memorable experience for our guests.
When I receive a review like yours, it is such a positive reinforcement of the combined efforts of our entire team who striveto provide maximum guest satisfaction.I will be sure to share your feedback with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mont Clare Hotel Dublin in the very near future.
Kind regards,

Gary Mulligan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a seriously good hotel, the staff are fantastic and couldn't do enough for you. Gary looked after us and Bernie was there to make our stay everything we wanted.

Rooms are great, beds very comfortable, would recommend to everyone.

I would just go room only because the breakfast is quite expensive but just around the corner is the Kilkenny Store with a fantastic breakfast for 7 euro.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
I am always happy to hear from our guests about their experience of Mont Clare hotel Dublin, what was great about their stay as well as any comments to help us provide an even more memorable experience for our guests.
When I receive a review like yours, it is such a positive reinforcement of the combined efforts of our entire team who striveto provide maximum guest satisfaction.I will be sure to share your feedback with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mont Clare Hotel Dublin in the very near future.
Kind regards,

Gary Mulligan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lovely old wood and charming hotel. Reception staff were exceptional, helpful and went out of their way to help us with phone calls and advice. We arrived at 6am and they allowed us to check in the, which was amazing as we had had no sleep on our overnight flight.
Hop on hop off bus stop just across the road. We walked to the main shops and bars within 10 minutes.
Clean and comfortable. Wi-fi free in room for One hour a day, but I made use of the fee computer in the foyer quite often, to store photos, print etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
I am always happy to hear from our guests about their experience of Mont Clare hotel Dublin, what was great about their stay as well as any comments to help us provide an even more memorable experience for our guests.
When I receive a review like yours, it is such a positive reinforcement of the combined efforts of our entire team who striveto provide maximum guest satisfaction.I will be sure to share your feedback with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mont Clare Hotel Dublin in the very near future.
Kind regards,

Gary Mulligan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Everyone and everything at The Mont Clare was excellent. Great location for getting around Dublin and to and from the airport. My Daughter and I had an excellent time, plan on returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
I am always happy to hear from our guests about their experience of Mont Clare hotel Dublin, what was great about their stay as well as any comments to help us provide an even more memorable experience for our guests.
When I receive a review like yours, it is such a positive reinforcement of the combined efforts of our entire team who striveto provide maximum guest satisfaction.I will be sure to share your feedback with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mont Clare Hotel Dublin in the very near future.
Kind regards,

Gary Mulligan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is bellasimo!!!! Wood and brass all around - you feel like your transported back in time. The rooms are good size, and a one person occupancy is a nice size double bed. They have wifi available for a fee. I had my breakfast included, and it was delicious! The staff is friendly and courteous, and the location is great! I would stay here again. Lovely!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendithewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such positive feedback. We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay. It is always encouraging to receive such kind words and it is appreciated by all the team. We continuously strive to ensure our guest’s needs are paramount and I am glad to see that this is what you have experienced.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Gary Mulligan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley Down
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked the hotel through Booking.com and got a good deal. The transfer from the airport was so easy, we booked the Hop on Off Dublin bus service in advance, which gave us a weekend pass around Dublin and airport transfer. The airport bus stopped in O'Connell Street bus stop 2, we connected the Hop on Off service which took us to the Merrion Square stop opposite the hotel. So easy.
I had prearranged a birthday cake for lunch and the staff were so excited about our arrival, lots of attention and care. Thank you also for the complimentary champagne, made the lunch very special indeed. Our rooms were lovely very comfortable with good facilities. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, nothing was too much trouble.
Live musicians played in the bar as we returned from our meal in Temple Bar, and sitting listening to good Irish music with a night cap very enjoyable.
We set off to explore and again used the Hop on Off service and this proved really useful allowing you to take in the sights, and have a laugh as the driver told his tales about this wonderful city.
We checked out and walked down to the main street in Temple Bar collected the airport service and transferred to the airport easily.
Our trip was great, Dublin welcoming and the Hotel and Staff excellent. Big Thank you's to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor. I am delighted you chose to stay with us again and got to experience all the area has to offer. It really is a testament to the team and our location when guests like yourself .
As a hotel we make every effort to ensure all aspects of our service is consistent and our team work hard to create a great service experience for all our guests.
It is very encouraging when our guests take the time to share these great experiences with us as our team and I greatly appreciate this feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mont Clare in the very near future.
Kind regards,

Gary Mulligan
Operation Manager

We look forward to welcoming you back next year for another birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Address: 1-4 Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Dublin
#41 Family Hotel in Dublin
#60 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#63 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O'Callaghan Mont Clare is the perfect place for a Dublin retreat or adventure. Relax in Oscar's Bar, enjoy a sumptuous meal in Goldsmith's Restaurant and experience all the wonders the city centre has to offer. The classically decorated, traditional 3 Star Hotel Dublin is truly a home from home, full of character and charm. A former favourite of James Joyce, the O'Callaghan Mont Clare 3 star hotel Merrion Square is situated in an idyllic location, nestled away in a peaceful Georgian Merrion Square, moments away from the hustle and bustle of city life, where guests can experience Ireland's historical and cultural hub. A warm Irish welcome awaits every guest at the O'Callaghan 3 star Mont Clare Hotel. Our welcoming staff pride themselves on their knowledge of the capital's attractions, so whether you're looking for a city tour, the scenic route to Trinity College, or Dublin's best shopping district, they'll be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Mont Clare Dublin
Mont Clare Hotel Dublin
o Callaghan Mont Clare Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing