We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, really friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Ranked #67 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wexford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location, really friendly staff!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The location of this hotel can't be beaten, only a few minutes from Grafton St., St Stephen's Green and Trinity College. Wexford bus also stops right across the road and Pearse St. train station is just a few minutes away. We were in a king room and I had asked for a room with a view so we were looking out onto Merrion Square - very nice! I found all of the staff from reception to the bar to be very friendly. The only problem I had was that we were on a dinner, bed and breakfast package and when we were checking out a meal was added onto our bill but when I explained this the receptionist simply removed it. I would definitely recommend this hotel! I would stay again!

Room Tip: Request one with a view before you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank absolutetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
I am always happy to hear from our guests about their experience of Mont Clare hotel Dublin, what was great about their stay as well as any comments to help us provide an even more memorable experience for our guests.
When I receive a review like yours, it is such a positive reinforcement of the combined efforts of our entire team who striveto provide maximum guest satisfaction.I will be sure to share your feedback with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mont Clare Hotel Dublin in the very near future.
Kind regards,

Gary Mulligan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    447
    189
    70
    41
See reviews for
161
452
66
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had to stints at this hotel while in Ireland. The people at reception were excellent and allowed us to drop off our bags early and gave us directions for the Kilkenny (great spot for breakfast right around the corner - only 6 Euro for the best Irish Breakfast you are likely to have in Dublin). And the first room we were in had a king size bed and was lovely. The second room had a queen size bed as well as a twin and wasn't as clean - the drinking glasses were visibly dirty. There was carpet in both rooms which was clean despite looking a bit old - I'm not a fan of carpet. However, the rooms were quiet, the beds were comfortable and the location was close to everything we wanted to see. There is a playground right across the street which was perfect for our toddler. However, all the restaurants and shops in the area shut down at 6:00 so we ate at the Lincoln Pub (around the corner) twice - if you like smoked salmon order it here as they give you half a salmon or more for 8 or 9 euro. There is also a convenience store a block or two away where you can buy beverages and snacks for your room. All and all we had a lovely time but were really disappointed by the dirty glasses as that is disgusting and that is why we are giving this hotel a 3 as opposed to a 4.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScrumptiousKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Scrumptious Kelly,

Thank you for taken the time to review the Mont Clare Hotel on TripAdvisor. I.I would like to apologies for this disruption to you stay and I have spoken to the housekeeping department regarding the issue you raise as these are not the standard levels of service we provide at the Mont Clare Hotel. I am also delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the minor issue didn't ruin your stay. I will ensure to pass on your kind comments to the staff, who will be delighted to hear this.

And next time you visit maybe we will have the pleasure of a four star review.

Regards

Gary Mulligan
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights in June, arrived day of Gay Pride Parade right in front of hotel so road was blocked and we were rerouted by the police to a parking garage several blocks away. Hotel was nice enough to comp our parking for the rest of our stay for the inconvenience of having to pay and park elsewhere and then move the car later to the hotel reduced parking. I am sure it was louder than normal in the evening as many parade goers hung out at the local pubs nearby all evening.. Our room was 3rd floor street side so we felt like we had the best seats in the house for the parade. Go with the flow while on vacation. Made for a great story anyway! Hotel staff was excellent room was nice size, there were 3 of us. Our rate included breakfast and we had an early morning tour schedule so they made sure that we got something to eat at 5:30am. Breakfast was normally opened at 6:30am I believe. Great location close to Book of Kells and town and easy access to airport. Wish we had spent another night but was the end of our vacation. Would stay again. I think this is the best location out of the 3 O'Callaghan hotels!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Destiny1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
I am always happy to hear from our guests about their experience of Mont Clare hotel Dublin, what was great about their stay as well as any comments to help us provide an even more memorable experience for our guests.
When I receive a review like yours, it is such a positive reinforcement of the combined efforts of our entire team who striveto provide maximum guest satisfaction.I will be sure to share your feedback with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mont Clare Hotel Dublin in the very near future.
Kind regards,

Gary Mulligan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the Mont Clare hotel immensely last weekend thanks to all the staff for their kindnees especially Bernie our waitress. The overall service was fantastic we will be back again.

Micheal and Joan

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cullie815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor! At the Mont Clare Hotel, we strive to provide a home away from home to each and every guest and delighted that each staff member has enjoyed that every part of your stay here at the Mont Clare hotel as be worth the visit!

I have passed on your comment to the staff who will be delighted in your feedback.

The team and I wish you all the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mont Clare Hotel in the near future.


Regards

Gary Mulligan
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

5 Days in Dublin at a very sociable hotel, adequate and comfortable. Good location 300 meters from Trinity College and about the same to several of the Museums. Staff attentive and helpful; they even print boarding passes.
its true the Guinness does task different

Room Tip: There was a tremendous party going on in the basement on our last night. Shutting the window most of...
See more room tips
Green Features: There policy seems reasonable and is I think applied, however it all runs in the background. Dublin seems extremely pro recycling although many don't participate at street level.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor! At the Mont Clare Hotel, we strive to provide a home away from home to each and every guest and delighted that each staff member has enjoyed that every part of your stay here at the Mont Clare hotel as be worth the visit!


The team and I wish you all the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mont Clare Hotel in the near future for more good guiness


Regards

Gary Mulligan
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The O'Callaghan Mont Clare is located right in the centre of Dublin between Merrion Square and Trinity College and across the street from sister hotels the Davenport and the Alexander. A car is not really needed if you intend to stay in Dublin for the duration, but a discounted carpark is provided close by. Some rooms may be a bit small but the Hotel has plenty of character and the rooms are spotlessly clean. Beds are comfortable and rooms are quiet. We ate in the bar and had breakfast and both were very good. All the staff we met were courteous and helpful. Rachel on the front desk was very welcoming and helpful and Bernie, who seemed to cover everywhere, couldn't do anymore for any of the guests and made our stay all the more enjoyable. All considered, we were pleasantly suprised by this 3 star hotel. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms to front will have a street view but may be a bit noisier. Rooms to the back don't have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompsonsbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor! At the Mont Clare Hotel, we strive to provide a home away from home to each and every guest and delighted that each staff member has enjoyed that every part of your stay here at the Mont Clare hotel as be worth the visit!


The team and I wish you all the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mont Clare Hotel in the near future!


Regards

Gary Mulligan
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Staying at the Mont Clare is the perfect and ideal accommodation in Dublin. Located across from Merrion Square Park is this beautiful charming hotel with an attentive, caring staff. Rachel welcomed us to the hotel with a bright smile and conversation. Check in was seamless and within minutes we were in the hotel room. My daughter eventually also checked into the Mont Clare after a disasterous experience at a nearby hotel. Gary, one of the best hotel managers ever, carried our bags to our room and went out of his way to get a small refrigerator for my daughter. The hotel rooms were extremely clean and the beds were most comfortable! Gary was always up for a chat and even sat in the lobby one morning with me on the coach, before I headed to breakfast with my family. No issue was too big or too small for Gary and his phenomenal staff! Breakfast offered many varieties, from a full Irish breakfast to fruit and yogurt. Although the breakfast variety was impressive and the coffee was just wonderful, Bernie made breakfast time enjoyable and positive. She always made it a point to ask about our daily happenings in Dublin, while sharing something about herself. Bernie is the type of person you felt like you knew your entire life! That could also be said about Gary and Rachel! Although many other employees are staffed at the Mont Clare, Gary, Rachel and Bernie top the charts! They each have a genuine personalitiy and continuously went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and accommodative. I thank them for their kindness and professionalism. Staying at the Mont Clare was a fabulous way to end our travels in Ireland. I will highly recommend the Monte Clare to family and friends . Kuddos to Gary and his staff!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HFM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor! At the Mont Clare Hotel, we strive to provide a home away from home to each and every guest and delighted that each staff member has enjoyed that every part of your stay here at the Mont Clare hotel as be worth the visit! It was my pleasure to take time to talk to you and your husband and also we were delighted that your daughter join us as-well and We at the Mont Clare Hotel were delighted that you choose us to help celebrate your special occasion.


The team and I wish you all the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mont Clare Hotel in the near future!


Regards

Gary Mulligan
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,487 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Address: 1-4 Merrion Street Lower, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Dublin
#41 Family Hotel in Dublin
#60 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#63 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O'Callaghan Mont Clare is the perfect place for a Dublin retreat or adventure. Relax in Oscar's Bar, enjoy a sumptuous meal in Goldsmith's Restaurant and experience all the wonders the city centre has to offer. The classically decorated, traditional 3 Star Hotel Dublin is truly a home from home, full of character and charm. A former favourite of James Joyce, the O'Callaghan Mont Clare 3 star hotel Merrion Square is situated in an idyllic location, nestled away in a peaceful Georgian Merrion Square, moments away from the hustle and bustle of city life, where guests can experience Ireland's historical and cultural hub. A warm Irish welcome awaits every guest at the O'Callaghan 3 star Mont Clare Hotel. Our welcoming staff pride themselves on their knowledge of the capital's attractions, so whether you're looking for a city tour, the scenic route to Trinity College, or Dublin's best shopping district, they'll be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Mont Clare Dublin
Mont Clare Hotel Dublin
o Callaghan Mont Clare Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing