We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money hotel I've ever stayed in!”
Review of Harding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harding Hotel
Ranked #28 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2008

We came to Dublin for the Wales v Ireland rugby match and stayed in the Harding Hotel for 4 nights. As you can imagine, Dublin was packed with Welsh fans and the hotel was extremely busy!

Our room was a triple - large and nicely decorated, with very comfortable single beds and a fantastic power shower. Rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily.

Our rate (less than £30pppn) included breakfast - choice of full Irish, smoked salmon & eggs or continental, with tea/coffee and juice. The breakfast was delicious and so filling that we didn't eat lunch the whole time we were there!

The staff were very friendly and helpful - we even sent one poor guy on a fruitless hunt for coathangers and he was only too happy to help!

The hotel is in a prime location, opposite Christchurch Cathedral and on the edge of Temple Bar. The sightseeing bus stops just opposite the hotel.

The only downside to our stay was the noise from the hotel bar. Our room was directly above it and we were subject to very loud (and bad) karaoke and a live band. earplugs sorted this out though. If you have children or are a light sleeper I wold request a room as far away form the bar as possible!

We will definitely be going back to this hotel as it has everything you need for a short break in Dublin at a fraction of the price of most of the other overpriced hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erees3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,903 - 1,909 of 2,342 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2008

we stayed in the hotel for two nights and we were v pleased with the location of the hotel . we walked the Dublin town easily from the hotel and the breakfast was served till 12 so that was grt advantage.
After reading the reviews about the noise we did ask for room on higher level and we had room facing the main road but unfortunately there was noise from the boiler ( the main boiler must be v near the room) which kept waking us up so try and avoid being near that room ( room 412)and also there was road works early in morning.The decor was ok and view from the room was blocked.
we were able to walk to temple bar area easily and compared to other hotels Harding hotel did offer value for money.
They also offer free safe service and store yr luggage if you have late flight .
The nearest bus from the airport is 748 and you have to get off at wood quay ( near parliament hse)(you can buy a day rambler for 6 euros or 3 days for 11 euros) and if you are on budget then 16a comes as far as Dame street for less then 2 euros and it is 8 min walk straight towards the church .

Stayed: February 2008
7  Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2008

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during half term, checked out the reviews before we booked and they were definately right! A brilliant hotel, friendly staff and a great location!

Breakfast was served from 8 til 12, so good for a lazy morning but recommend eating before 11 as they begin to pack away and very little selection later. Good choice for breakfast and friendly staff.

Located just on the edge of temple bar so easy access to bars and restaurants, but be warned all very pricey!

Some slight noise from the bar below but not for long and very good considering the area!

Would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UkHappytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2008

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, the last week in january 2008 and it was fantastic.

The check in was simple and easy with a very helpful receptionist on the desk.

the room we had (405) was on the 4th floor and was perfect. It had a double bed (that seemed bigger than a double, maybe a double and a half) and a single bed that we didnt need.

the room faces the back and the view wasnt amazing but as it was at the back it was very quiet. The room was very clean and the bathroom was modern, a good size and again very clean.

the breakfast next door in the adjoining bistro was good with the option of a full irish or continental. It is useful that the bistro is joined onto the hotel so there is no need to go out into the street. And it is served til 12 which is a bonus!

the only small gripe we had was the time that the maid service came round. this was at around 8 oclock in the morning, which after an evening on Temple Bar isnt the best thing you want. They woke us with the hoover and then knocking on the door. Granted they did leave after i grunted a reply to their knock. But as rooms do not need to be checked out of till 11 oclock, 8am did seem a bit extreme.

all in all though, i would definately stay in this hotel again and probably will. I would recommend it to all my friends also. I may take a DO NOT DISTURB door hanger next time though!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bumblesquatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2008

After staying in London for 4 nights in a tiny room and 3 more nights in Paris in a small room, this hotel was a welcome change. The first thing we noticed after we checked in was that we could actually both fit in the elevator with our bags! Our room was very nice and huge compared to the rooms in London and Paris. The only issue we had while we were there was that the heat was having problems. Since we were there in January, this timing was a bit inconvenient. They did provide a space heater while they worked on this but it wasn't fixed until our last day there. Also, the service staff seemed more interested in surfing the Internet at the front desk than greeting us when we arrived and we found that to be a bit rude, too. The included breakfast was served at an attached restaurant and it was good. They charged a ridiculous rate for local calls so beware. We were able to have them removed after some discussion about the unresolved heater issues during our stay. You can see Christ Church Cathedral when you walk out the main entrance and just around the corner is Dublin Castle. It's also just a few blocks from Temple Bar so as you can imagine, the location was perfect. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

My husband and I stayed here for several nights during our honeymoon. The rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable, and the hotel is extremely well situated to the Temple Bar area. This came at a price, however, as weekend nights were quite noisy. But an excellent value overall.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeistyMarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2008

In an expensive country like Ireland and an even more expensive city like Dublin, I have to say that The Harding Hotel is an excellent value. Although we had some very minor complaints, I would definitely recommend the Harding Hotel to our friends and family traveling to Dublin.

We arrived in Dublin via the Aircoach. We were tired, disoriented, and grouchy...not a good combination. After getting trapped in a torrential downpour while walking through the streets of Dublin, we finally found the Harding. We were a bit earler than expected, so they kindly locked our bags up for us while we went and had some lunch and the most excellent Leo Burdock's across the street. After lunch, we were able to officially check in. Our room was very nicely decorated and facing Christchurch. We had a very large King size bed and lots of rooms to spread out besides.

The Harding is very conveniently located to many interesting things, most specifically Christchurch cathedral. One of our favorite memories from our trip is heading across the street for the Evensong. It was such a surreal experience to hear the incredible voices from the choir echoing in a building that old and historic. The Harding is also in walking distance to the Temple Bar area. The only time we took a cab is when we had dinner across town at Chapter One. Other than that, walking was the name of the game.

We only had one complaint about the Harding Hotel...the water pressure in our room was horrible. It was seriously just a little dribble out of the wall. All we could think about after getting off the long flight from Chicago and getting trapped in a torrential downpour was a nice,warm shower. Alas, that was not to be as the spray (if you can call it that) coming from the shower was only enough to get my one frozen hand wet.

Other than that, you really can't beat the value of the Harding. It's wonderfully decorated, classy, quiet (didn't hear any of the noise other reviews have mentioned and we were there on a Thurs. and Fri. night), and clean. If you are on a budget, you can't beat the Harding.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarahbean108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
1,590 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 150 in Dublin
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harding Hotel

Address: Copper Alley Fishamble Street | Christchurch, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#27 Business Hotel in Dublin
#37 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £62 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harding Hotel is a red bricked, traditional property located between the fashionable and lively Temple Bar and the old city areas of Dublin City, suiting both the leisure and business traveler, with comfortable 3 star quality rooms and facilities, coupled with a warm, welcoming, friendly service.Our spacious rooms are decorated in warm and relaxing tones, some offering views of the cathedral and are equipped with TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and fridge. Our comfortable beds, fresh linen and towels all serviced daily, will ensure that you just have to relax and enjoy the city when staying at the Harding. So why not come and sample the warm welcome, the excellent location, the spacious rooms and see for yourself how easy life in the city can be when staying in the Harding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Harding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harding Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing