We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harding Hotel
Ranked #25 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, England.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2008

We stayed in the Harding Hotel in January for a long weekend.

Location: The hotel is in a good location, very close to the centre and also close to Temple Bar. Although the hotel is on a main road we didn't have any problem with noise and the church bells weren't an issue for us either. We stayed in a room on the top floor so this probably helped.

Staff: The staff were generally friendly and helpful although it was sometimes difficult to get the attention of the person on reception as they were generally too busy on the computer or telephone.

Room: The room was spacious and clean and had everything that you would expect.

Food: We only ate breakfast at the hotel but the food was very nice and we liked the fact that breakfast was served until midday.

Overall: We would certainly recommend this hotel especially for the amount that we paid. This is one of the cheaper hotels in Dublin but you wouldn't know it once you're there.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank saintsimon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    963
    189
    44
    16
See reviews for
260
774
330
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in February. We found the staff friendly and always willing to help.Breakfast was very filling. Evening meal was good value for money especially in Dublin we paid about 15Euros for three courses so we ate there both nights. Rooms were clean and well equipped with tea coffee and sugar. The bar had a good atmosphere with many locals in it so we ended up spending most of the one evening in there. We had no problems with noise but we'd had a good drink. Temple bar was only a couple of minutes walk away.
I loved this hotel and booked to go back in September.

  • Liked — Close to Temple Bar
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington,county durham, england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

we stayed 2 nights and found it excellent value, the staff were very friendly, the rooms were a good size and very clean and we also had a full irish breakfast as part of our deal and it was excellent.
we will stay at the harding again hopefully very soon and for longer [ didnt notice the bells maybe the guinness drowned them out!!! ]

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank DARLOMAGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

We stayed at The Harding for february half term.
We booked two twin rooms. One of the rooms we were given was a double. This was sorted out within 5 minutes.
The rooms were clean and well equiped.
Very quiet area given the close location to temple bar area.
Super views from the windows.
Breakfast was really good.
Would recommmend to anyone.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, excellent location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Donna-Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

We read the reviews prior to booking and they gave a good impression.

Positive view:
* Hotel location good, all the sights accessible from it.
* Room clean and well presented.
* Polish staff - this is prevelant throughout the city.

Downside:
* Christchurch Cathedral bells chiming on the hour. As the room was so hot, the windows had to be left open, this was a mistake.
* The Early Bird menu is shown on the website but no-one knew about it and it finished some time ago.
* Breakfast is now 9.50 euro, try around the corner, it looked much better.
* The restaurant / bar was dead - try Hard Rock Cafe off Temple Bar, much more atmosphere.

Personally I found Dublin to be a very expensive city.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank mpenfold2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2008

We came to Dublin for the Wales v Ireland rugby match and stayed in the Harding Hotel for 4 nights. As you can imagine, Dublin was packed with Welsh fans and the hotel was extremely busy!

Our room was a triple - large and nicely decorated, with very comfortable single beds and a fantastic power shower. Rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily.

Our rate (less than £30pppn) included breakfast - choice of full Irish, smoked salmon & eggs or continental, with tea/coffee and juice. The breakfast was delicious and so filling that we didn't eat lunch the whole time we were there!

The staff were very friendly and helpful - we even sent one poor guy on a fruitless hunt for coathangers and he was only too happy to help!

The hotel is in a prime location, opposite Christchurch Cathedral and on the edge of Temple Bar. The sightseeing bus stops just opposite the hotel.

The only downside to our stay was the noise from the hotel bar. Our room was directly above it and we were subject to very loud (and bad) karaoke and a live band. earplugs sorted this out though. If you have children or are a light sleeper I wold request a room as far away form the bar as possible!

We will definitely be going back to this hotel as it has everything you need for a short break in Dublin at a fraction of the price of most of the other overpriced hotels.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Noise from bar
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erees3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 819 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2008

we stayed in the hotel for two nights and we were v pleased with the location of the hotel . we walked the Dublin town easily from the hotel and the breakfast was served till 12 so that was grt advantage.
After reading the reviews about the noise we did ask for room on higher level and we had room facing the main road but unfortunately there was noise from the boiler ( the main boiler must be v near the room) which kept waking us up so try and avoid being near that room ( room 412)and also there was road works early in morning.The decor was ok and view from the room was blocked.
we were able to walk to temple bar area easily and compared to other hotels Harding hotel did offer value for money.
They also offer free safe service and store yr luggage if you have late flight .
The nearest bus from the airport is 748 and you have to get off at wood quay ( near parliament hse)(you can buy a day rambler for 6 euros or 3 days for 11 euros) and if you are on budget then 16a comes as far as Dame street for less then 2 euros and it is 8 min walk straight towards the church .

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harding Hotel

Property: Harding Hotel
Address: Copper Alley Fishamble Street | Christchurch, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Dublin
#29 Family Hotel in Dublin
#37 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harding Hotel is a red bricked, traditional property located between the fashionable and lively Temple Bar and the old city areas of Dublin City, suiting both the leisure and business traveler, with comfortable 3 star quality rooms and facilities, coupled with a warm, welcoming, friendly service.Our spacious rooms are decorated in warm and relaxing tones, some offering views of the cathedral and are equipped with TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and fridge. Our comfortable beds, fresh linen and towels all serviced daily, will ensure that you just have to relax and enjoy the city when staying at the Harding. So why not come and sample the warm welcome, the excellent location, the spacious rooms and see for yourself how easy life in the city can be when staying in the Harding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Harding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harding Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing