We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruining Nasi Lemak reputation!”

Nyonya Malaysian Restaurant
Ranked #2,029 of 2,546 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ruining Nasi Lemak reputation!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Was looking forward for a nice Malaysian plate of nasi lemak with hot spicy ikan bilis sambal on a hot plate of coconut creme rice! Dissapointed. The rice tasted stale, more like an overnight kept rice, no coconut taste or smell. The sambal was not sambal and had more sliced onions than ikan bilis. It was served with pieces of chicken rendang, so it was more like eating chicken rendang stale boiled rice!
The beef satay was ok and the soya bean cincau tasted like it was poured from Yeo Hap Seng can!
How we Malaysian proudly promote our food as the best....and this is rather dissapointing. Nyonya restaurant....you better hope Chef Wan doesnt visit your restaurant and eat your nasi lemak!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MagG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    14
    10
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wondeful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had a wonderful meal here. We ate the chefs recommendations and were delighted. To start, duck spring rolls, Malaysian pancakes and some particularily delicious ribs. For our mains we had steamed sea bass and also butter prawns that came with the egg cooked in a delicious way that was totally new to us. Really worth trying. Dessert was perfect too (Malaysian crushed ice dessert and a banoffi ice cream). A wonderful meal and in a lovely relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BBMacJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

As malaysian I am really annoyed with so call restaurant claimed to be msian but have so many short cut in preparing the food that the food is almost unrecognisable. We went to nyonya last night and I ordered clay pot chicken rice which is basically white rice plonk into a clay pot and topped with stir fried chicken. Far from the authentic clay pot chicken rice I usually get in msia. My husband who is irish ordered rendang beef and even he could tell it taste more like a curry. The satay is fried rather than grilled. Only consolation the chicken rice is good. Service is okay. We would not be in any hurry to come back. As a msian who is really proud with her heritage it is like a backslab to the face to be serve such a mediocre fare.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila Philippines
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Since we were using a very cheap menupages coupon, I suppose we got what we paid for with regard to the meal itself. Our 2 course choices both looked and tasted unappetizing, and was served with little or no enthusiasm by an unsmiling waitress. This was the first time I have been made to feel like a 'coupon customer', and frankly we couldn't wait to get out of the place.
To top off our negative experience, I had to ask for soap for the bathroom.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ordinary ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Called in here before a show in Vicar Street. Nice food, but nothing to rush back for. That said, this is traditional Malaysian home cooking, good honest food. Staff friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Laughing_Gravy_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nyonya Malaysian Restaurant also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Nyonya Malaysian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing