We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Ranked #11 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Mardi
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

When we arrived there had been a mix up and one of our room bookings had been lost, however staff sorted it out quickly and gave us parking for free to compensate. The rooms were nice, looked to be newly refurbished and had a great view over the river. The door to the balcony did not open though. After a long trip we ate in the restaurant downstairs and the food was lovely. My one complaint was that our room was very warm and we were hot sleeping however this seemed to be common in Ireland. The free carpark (when we found it - staff could not give us an address only directions) was very convenient. Breakfast was excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    510
    111
    28
    18
See reviews for
312
753
55
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with the kids over easter and was impressed with the spaceous family rooms.The room was spotless and its the friendliest hotel iv ever stayed in.Shannon on reception has lovely bubbly personality and the manager Eddie was very knowledgeable in things to do with kids.The bar serves Asian food which we wouldnt be familiar with but it was yummy.Will defo be going back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Catriona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I haveJust spent 4 nights at the Spencer Hotel .Right from the time of check in the staff could not do enough for us including changing our room to one on a quiet side of the hotel.
The beds were very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. We ate at the hotel resturant on two nights and and again no complaints there.
We would just like to add a special word of thanks to Shannon and Rachel on the front Desk for all their help. We have booked to stay again.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeG11223344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City Center, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The rooms are large and modern. Everything from the large screen TV to the shower works fine.
Service is very friendly. Restaurant has nice food at reasonable prices.

It is a bit of a hike if you are walking to the downtown area, but worth it if your accomodations are more important.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I attended a conference at the Dublin Convention Centre and stayed at the Spencer for 4 nights. There is nobody to help carry bags up to the room but this seems to be common in Ireland. There is no bag rack in the room despite there being enough space for one so it's a bit back breaking to unpack. There is no fridge and only bottles of tap water. There is a Nespresso machine but only the black pods so if you don't like very strong coffee this isn't for you. There is also instant coffee and an array of teas but the cups are very small and only fit 2 sips of tea in them. Wifi is free and works very well in all parts of the hotel. There are loads of tv channels available to watch and the rooms are very quiet. The air conditioning is easily controlled with 2 dials. The shower runs with good pressure and the towels are luxurious and soft. There were no slippers or gown. The safe is big enough to fit a laptop and some other things in it. Lighting is good enough for make up application and the mirrors are nice and big. The room service was prompt and delicious but the €7 tray charge was a surprise. The bar downstairs is modern and well stocked. Lots of places to sit and watch the World Cup! Breakfast is a good spread but the bowls are often empty and one has to ask for them to be refilled. This becomes a problem when one is running late and has only 5 minutes to gobble down some cereal before a meeting but for those staying on leisure visits I'm sure it's no problem at all. The hotel is very close to the convention centre and the walk is pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5halin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel seems freshly renewed, everything is very clean and new. The bedding was good; all perfect for a good night sleep-... but: The doors to the aile are not isolated at all. There is something missing in the design because in the room you can hear EVERYTHING that it is outside the door. It is as if the people passing by had entered in your room.
Other than that BIG defect, the hotel can be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Comfortable beds, excellent internet and top notch staff. I am very fussy and asked Ruslen at the check in a ton of questions. He answered everything so nicely! Also another young man gave us excellent directions and provided a map.

Rooms nicely updated and has two Nespresso capsules complimentary. Blackout curtains and convenient light switches and plugs for electronics. Nice tv with digital cable. Dressing gowns/bathrobes available on request. Excellent gym with full weights, cardio and squat rack. Classes and pool also available.

Breakfast is semi overpriced at 15€ per person but has full selection of cold meats, cheese, pastries, cereals, hot breakfast etc. I wish they offered proper pancakes rather than this auto flapjack machine. Our waiter Des was fantastic, helpful and really made such an effort.

Convenient location and we look forward to two more nights here. Cheers to the staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,210 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,539 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,935 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC

Property: The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Address: International Financial Services Centre | Excise Walk, Dublin D01X4C9, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Dublin IFSC)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#4 Business Hotel in Dublin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin Clarion
Clarion Hotel Dublin
Clarion Dublin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing