We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly acceptable but not outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Ranked #17 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights while on holiday in Ireland. We caught the 747 bus from the airport, as it stops very close to the hotel and a cheap and quick way to get there. Check in staff were helpful and friendly. The room was fine - not huge, on the 6th floor with a view over the street (Excise Walk) and into apartments across the way (privacy curtains stopped this being a problem). Some people may find the location a little far from Temple Bar, Trinity College etc, but we didn't find the walk a problem - only about 15 minutes. The LUAS (tram) stop very close to the hotel took us straight to the Museum of Decorative Arts and History, with an easy walk then to the Guinness Storehouse.
The main issue was that some of the rooms on our floor were being renovated, and so we were disturbed before 8:30am on a couple of mornings. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food.
We organised the hotel shuttle to get back to the airport, but it arrived early, meaning we held everyone up as we checked out. It also meant we had to leave very early in the morning but it was free.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueWelli2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,742 - 1,748 of 2,036 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

The wife & I spent 3 nights here from 20-23rd jun. The Hotel is very clean and well located, a stone's throw from the LUAS (Tram) that takes you to the centre of town (3 stops) in no time . A leisurely walk would take around 12 mins. We ate at the inhouse restaurants twice and the food was terrific and well priced. On our 3rd morning (monday) we went down for breakfast (included in our package) at our usual 10:45 AM only to be told that the buffet breakfast extends only till 10AM on weekdays unlike 11AM over the weekends. As we turned to leave for the cafe right across the road, the lady at the the breakfast room desk told us to meet her colleague at the lounge bar who would set up a simple breakfast for us. Well, the 'simple' breakfast that these three lovely angels - Orla, Anne and Jocelyn - served us, with the broadest of smiles, was a huge platerful of smoked salmon, cheese and boiled eggs, another of bread and pastries and a third of fresh strawberries, grapes, oranges and apples alongwith endless orange juice and cappuccino!! To say that we were floored would be an understatement.....

Great hotel, Great people, Great time and our many many heartfelt thanks!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivekjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

After a very long and frustrating trip it was a pleasure to get to the Spencer. It is on the Liffey and a reasonable walk to central Dublin and its attractions. The rooms are very comfortable, the bar and restaurant are excellent and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. Its a short ride from the airport, taxis and tour buses are available out the front door and the tram which covers most of Dublin is a block away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

When we arrived there had been a mix up and one of our room bookings had been lost, however staff sorted it out quickly and gave us parking for free to compensate. The rooms were nice, looked to be newly refurbished and had a great view over the river. The door to the balcony did not open though. After a long trip we ate in the restaurant downstairs and the food was lovely. My one complaint was that our room was very warm and we were hot sleeping however this seemed to be common in Ireland. The free carpark (when we found it - staff could not give us an address only directions) was very convenient. Breakfast was excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with the kids over easter and was impressed with the spaceous family rooms.The room was spotless and its the friendliest hotel iv ever stayed in.Shannon on reception has lovely bubbly personality and the manager Eddie was very knowledgeable in things to do with kids.The bar serves Asian food which we wouldnt be familiar with but it was yummy.Will defo be going back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Catriona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I haveJust spent 4 nights at the Spencer Hotel .Right from the time of check in the staff could not do enough for us including changing our room to one on a quiet side of the hotel.
The beds were very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. We ate at the hotel resturant on two nights and and again no complaints there.
We would just like to add a special word of thanks to Shannon and Rachel on the front Desk for all their help. We have booked to stay again.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeG11223344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The rooms are large and modern. Everything from the large screen TV to the shower works fine.
Service is very friendly. Restaurant has nice food at reasonable prices.

It is a bit of a hike if you are walking to the downtown area, but worth it if your accomodations are more important.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,643 reviews
1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,723 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
4,822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.9 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC

Address: International Financial Services Centre | Excise Walk, Dublin D01X4C9, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Dublin IFSC)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dublin
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £114 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spencer Hotel is a unique, stylish hotel in Dublin city centre. Our luxurious rooms have all the extras you would expect and plenty of added luxuries including; balcony rooms offering fabulous views of the Dublin cityscape by day and night. Our various room types are stocked with "The White Company Toiletries", rainforest power showers, Wi-Fi and comfortable respa beds. If you pick The Spencer for your stay, you can expect to be wowed by our fabulous location and designer features. If that’s not enough, East Restaurant offers an extensive Asian fusion menu served by our super friendly team. The Spencer Health Club is a luxurious facility that is free of charge to guests. You can use our sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, go for a swim in our pool or use our top quality gym facilities. Make it a trip to remember at The Spencer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin Clarion
Clarion Hotel Dublin
Clarion Dublin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing