We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Ranked #13 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

GREAT location and GREAT work out and pool facilities.
We loved our stay and especially the housekeeping staff who helped us many times. Especially Kaiva and also Marta both went out of their way to make us comfortable and with a smile!
Also in the bar Julia went out of her way. Service like this makes us want to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAmyThistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer_GM, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear TheAmyThistle,

Thank you for posting a very nice review.

It is great to read that Kavia and Marta in accommodation made such a great impression on you and also Julia in The Spencer Lounge.

We are all delighted you had a great stay with us and that you had time to have a work out in our Spencer Health Club and enjoy the pool.

We just finished a complete refurbishment off all our bedrooms and ground floor and are planning a refurbishment of The Spencer Health Club early next year so it will be even more amazing then.

Best wishes,

Eddie Sweeney
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,152
    460
    101
    24
    15
See reviews for
273
701
55
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel has recently been refurbished. We upgraded our room and based on previous reviews we requested a higher room overlooking the river. Although we arrived at 9.00 am and check in is not officially until 3.00 pm, the receptionist was very friendly and was quite happy to store our suitcase until the room was ready. The room request was granted and was a good size and a bonus was it also had its own balcony with chairs and a lovely view of the river. The kingsize bed was so comfortable. At the weekend there is no traffic outside to wake you up early although there is a busy road outside which wakes up early during the week. The higher room cuts out the noise. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. Smoked salmon each morning as well as fresh fruit, pastries and the big Irish traditional breakfast if you wanted it. The service throughout the hotel was very friendly and helpful, particularly Julia who served us in the cocktail bar. If you do treat yourself to a cocktail then try the "Ginger Sake Martini". Its gorgeous with a bit of a bite to it. The hotel is about 15 min walk to the Temple Bar area, and with all of the bridges along the river it is a very pleasant walk. The Dubliners are all very hospitable and love to talk with you.

Room Tip: Room 503 was large and overlooked the river. It also cuts out some of the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer_GM, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear jonesPortsmouth,

Thank you for taking the time to post an amazing review.

We are delighted you had such a good time in our newly refurbished Hotel and had time to enjoy one of our signature cocktails.

The balcony rooms facing the river Liffey are beautiful and The Spencer for sure has the best views of Dublin of any Hotel in the area.

Thanks for mentioning the breakfast you had in The Pantry. We are constantly improving the content and variety and will be very shortly the most legendary breakfast in Dublin!

A special thanks for mentioning Julia in The Spencer Lounge and the great service she gave you.

Best wishes,

Eddie Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked into the Spencer on Saturday night. It is in the process of been renovated, but is nearly completed, and it looks really well. The reception/bar area is very modern and the reception staff are very friendly. Its in a really good location if you are planning a night out, right on the canal and about a minute walk from Major Square luas stop. Its about 7min walk along the canal to reach O Connell st. The rooms are spacious, clean, very comfortable bed, lovely rain shower, hairdryer/ iron etc. I would ask for a canal side room the next time I stay only because that side gets the sun, the other side of the hotel is quite dark. A/c very good. All in all was very impressed and will stay again.

Tip for summer - the Marker Hotel rooftop bar is across the bridge next to Bord Gais theatre, perfect for sunny evening cocktails - or fantasic location if you are up for a show in BG or point.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurapop28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer_GM, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Laurapop28,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The great news is that the renovation is finished and we hope that the next time you stay you will be even more impressed.

You mentioned in your review that you liked The Marker's roof top bar. Next time check out our very own Spencer Lounge and Zen Garden which are great to enjoy with one of our very popular and unique cocktails. We also have seating outside the lounge so you can enjoy cool breezes and shade under our canopies if you want a more al fresco experience.

Best wishes,

Eddie Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Staying here right now.
Excellent rooms, spacious bed, ok location only 5 minutes walk from the busier areas.

Tip of the day, there is a free shuttle bus from stand 14 at the airport.
Look for the paddy wagon.

Downsides ?
€15 euro for a breakfast is a bit steep.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikekbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer_GM, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your mid stay review and we are glad you are enjoying The Spencer.

I take your point about breakfast, however, if you book one of our packages that include breakfast the price is heavily discounted as part of the package price and is really good value when booked this way. Our Pantry breakfast is a very lavish affair and well worth it if you want to treat yourself.

Best wishes,

Eddie Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights while on holiday in Ireland. We caught the 747 bus from the airport, as it stops very close to the hotel and a cheap and quick way to get there. Check in staff were helpful and friendly. The room was fine - not huge, on the 6th floor with a view over the street (Excise Walk) and into apartments across the way (privacy curtains stopped this being a problem). Some people may find the location a little far from Temple Bar, Trinity College etc, but we didn't find the walk a problem - only about 15 minutes. The LUAS (tram) stop very close to the hotel took us straight to the Museum of Decorative Arts and History, with an easy walk then to the Guinness Storehouse.
The main issue was that some of the rooms on our floor were being renovated, and so we were disturbed before 8:30am on a couple of mornings. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food.
We organised the hotel shuttle to get back to the airport, but it arrived early, meaning we held everyone up as we checked out. It also meant we had to leave very early in the morning but it was free.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueWelli2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The wife & I spent 3 nights here from 20-23rd jun. The Hotel is very clean and well located, a stone's throw from the LUAS (Tram) that takes you to the centre of town (3 stops) in no time . A leisurely walk would take around 12 mins. We ate at the inhouse restaurants twice and the food was terrific and well priced. On our 3rd morning (monday) we went down for breakfast (included in our package) at our usual 10:45 AM only to be told that the buffet breakfast extends only till 10AM on weekdays unlike 11AM over the weekends. As we turned to leave for the cafe right across the road, the lady at the the breakfast room desk told us to meet her colleague at the lounge bar who would set up a simple breakfast for us. Well, the 'simple' breakfast that these three lovely angels - Orla, Anne and Jocelyn - served us, with the broadest of smiles, was a huge platerful of smoked salmon, cheese and boiled eggs, another of bread and pastries and a third of fresh strawberries, grapes, oranges and apples alongwith endless orange juice and cappuccino!! To say that we were floored would be an understatement.....

Great hotel, Great people, Great time and our many many heartfelt thanks!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivekjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
494 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

After a very long and frustrating trip it was a pleasure to get to the Spencer. It is on the Liffey and a reasonable walk to central Dublin and its attractions. The rooms are very comfortable, the bar and restaurant are excellent and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. Its a short ride from the airport, taxis and tour buses are available out the front door and the tram which covers most of Dublin is a block away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,275 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,697 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC

Property: The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Address: International Financial Services Centre | Excise Walk, Dublin D01X4C9, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Dublin IFSC)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#4 Business Hotel in Dublin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin Clarion
Clarion Hotel Dublin
Clarion Dublin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing