We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Ranked #12 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Spencer for 3 nights, and had a spacious two bedroomed suite. Rooms were decorated to a high standard, and incredibly clean. We used the gym and swimming pool - both were good (the jacuzzi was not working though).

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to O'Connell Street, and about 25 minutes to Temple Bar.

There are places directly around the hotel for food.

I would have no issues recommending this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuchiterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer_GM, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear SuchiterG,

Thank you for writing your review. I am pleased that the hard work of our accommodation team can receive the credit it deserves.

Unfortunately the Jacuzzi was out of order for routine maintenance, it is back up and ready for use and unwinding.

I hope that you will be able to join us the next time you are in Dublin.

Best Wishes,

Eddie Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,183
    474
    104
    27
    16
See reviews for
281
723
55
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newry
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a 6th floor suite for two nights including a balcony with great views over the Liffey. The room was clean, spacious and included WiFi and 2 TVs! The hotel location is good with a short walk to O'Connell Street and the Temple Bar area.
Breakfast stops a little early for me at 10am on weekdays but the breakfast selection is excellent inc cereals, fruit, cheese/meats, pancake-maker, breads, pastries and Irish fry.
Car parking is an additional cost at a nearby underground car park.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thep0stman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer_GM, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear thep0stman,

The team at The Spencer really appreciate your kind review. Thank you also for the great photographs attached to hotel review.

Our breakfast hours are set to accommodate as many of our guests as possible but we do try assisting those late risers when possible. Let us know next time you are staying and we will try our bests to organise something for you.

Best Wishes,

Eddie Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent customer service. Room overlooking the Liffey with a great balcony. Fab breakfast. Ate in the hotel bar on a wild n wet Saturday night - lovely food. We got Fish n chips and the Burger - loads of food excellent VFM
Would definitely return

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hilltopfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We came into Dublin airport very late (2240) and it was pouring down rain; we were very grateful to have a shuttle service (PaddyWagon) to the hotel at that late hour. We arrived at our hotel after midnight and the staff was wonderful, friendly in checking us in quickly as we were soaked and tired. Our room was the family suite. It was clean, neat, and perfect size for a family of 3. It was also facing the street and the view on our balcony was perfect. The breakfast was great with a wide variety to choose from. We ate dinner at the hotel once at the Asian place downstairs and I really did not care for it as it did not taste good to me. Luckily, there are many other restaurants around the hotel to choose from. We ate the sushi place just across the street and that was good. We also ate the bagel cafe right next to the hotel and I really liked that place. The location of the hotel was perfect as we were there for the Rock & Roll Half Marathon and it was near the start of the race. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deenbereiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at The Spencer for 4 nights in July, at the tail end of a trans-europe vacation. The hotel is very modern, well decorated and in a great location for walking tours of Dublin. Check-in was friendly and efficient, fortunately as we arrived a bit cranky with Aer Lingus having lost one of our suitcases. The front desk staff were amazing, while we were out being tourists they called the airline repeatedly until finally 3 days later our missing bag was returned. We had 2 rooms, both very comfortable, great showers, espresso machines, blackout blinds and very comfortable beds. The front desk staff were extremely helpful with procuring taxis and tickets for the Abbey too. The food in the Asian restaurant downstairs is so good we were tempted not to bother leaving the hotel in the evenings, while the breakfasts are also excellent. There is a good ambience in the lobby/bar area in the evenings and the pool and gym are well worth a visit. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Dublin - highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ucdgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As a former client of the old Clarion hotel, and a big fan of The Morgan hotel in Temple bar, I was delighted to hear in January that the Fitzpatrick group had taken over the Clarion and were re-branding. Having been located in the IFSC for over 6 years, The Spencer Hotel has breathed new life into what was a very tired building.

The company I work for hosted our relaunch here in July and the staff went above and beyond to ensure our needs were met for the day. Everything from the meeting rooms, lunch in 'The Pantry' and the BBQ were fantastic and I would HIGHLY recommend The Spencer to anyone for business or pleasure.

I would like to commend especially Elaine and Emma in helping to coordinate the launch, Rene and Eddie for ensuring we were well looked after throughout the course of the day and Shane the bar manger for tantalising our taste buds with his AMAZING cocktails!!

We'll be back!

Juls

Room Tip: Each room is designed to the highest quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_stimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer_GM, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Julie_stimpson,

Thank you for your lovely review.

It is great to hear that you are enjoying the improvements which are being carried out since the changeover.

Thank you for mentioning many of the team. It is great to see that so many of us have made positive lasting impressions.

If there is anything that we can do for your next business event, do please contact us.

Looking forward to seeing you in The Spencer soon.

Best Wishes,

Eddie Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We used this hotel for the second half of our two cities tour of Ireland. Walking distance from the train station modern boutique style hotel on the River. We had booked a suite for 4 adults ( family of 4 but our daughter is 18) which turned out to be a suite of 2 bedrooms sharing a bathroom, beautifully furnished. Tea and coffee plus water in the room, we would have liked a fridge too as we like fresh milk in our drinks. Great location 15 minute lovely walk along he river to O'Connell street and to centre of Dublin. especially great at night when lit up.the hotel having a pool was great especially for the kids as a bride after having to visit a few bars around the temple bar area. Had a bar meal on the first day, expensive for what it was but okay, had breakfast only on the last day and very disappointed of the quality as 15 euros each even for our 10 year old and cooked side was disappointing. Poor quality sausage, green scrambled eggs so I asked for fresh poached, fatty bacon, no potato cakes, no beans. We advised you go for breakfast a quarter of the price to the bagel bars across the way.

Room Tip: If you want a good river view ask for. Room at the front but high up as on a main road. We were at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharpees4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer_GM, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sharpees4,

Thank you for your review and feedback.

I apologise that your experience in our breakfast room did not live up to its usually high standard.

While the hotel offers an Irish Breakfast, rather then an English breakfast, baked beans are available and are prepared as requested.

If we are able to welcome you back to the hotel, we will happily organise a fridge for your room with enough notice.

Best Wishes,

Eddie Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,398 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC

Property: The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Address: International Financial Services Centre | Excise Walk, Dublin D01X4C9, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Dublin IFSC)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#4 Business Hotel in Dublin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin Clarion
Clarion Hotel Dublin
Clarion Dublin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing