We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!!!! Fleas!!!”
Review of Dublin Central Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dublin Central Inn
Ranked #79 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Milan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Stay Away!!!! Fleas!!!”
Reviewed 11 March 2008

The hotel was dusty and old. Much too expensive for the quality. Apart from that, anyway, the big problem was that when we came back, both my friend with whom I was sharing the room and myself started to feel itching and had red buttons. After dermatological examination, it was found out that we had fleas! The hotel was the only place where both of us could have taken them at the same time. Therefore, don't put a foot in the hotel before they undergo a deep desinfection.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank viaggiando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jldoyle, Management company at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2008
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Days Inn, this is certainly not indicative of our usual guest feedback. I would be very grateful if you could contact me directly regarding the itching you experienced. Our hotel is operated under a regular and thorough pest control prevention programme, and we were recently accredited by Days Inn Worldwide for our high standards of cleanliness and hygiene throughout the property. I would like to know in which room and what dates you stayed with us. I look forward to hearing from you soon so we can take immediate investigative action, as this is an extremely rare occurrence.

Regards
Patrick Carney
General Manager
Hotel Tel: +353 1 874 9202
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    442
    287
    103
    44
See reviews for
116
511
69
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2008

Days Inn Talbot was my first choice, since they were offering a great deal.
And for it's location it was a great bargain.
I was a little concerned when reading the reviews. However I'm used to Europe hotels since I now live in Europe.
Beside the reason for this trip was to catch up with a friend.
And we weren't planning to catch up in the hotel but outside when exploring Dublin.
Which is by the way a lovely city.
We loved Dublin so much, that we are planning to come live here for a year or two. (crazy ideas you get when traveling..lol)

The hotel is about 5 min walking after the directlink stop o'connel stop (airportbusservice) depends on traffic it may take about 20 to 30 mins from the airport or to the airport.
As I can recall as you step out from the bus (with the bus behind you) Turn right and start walking until you see Earlstreet at your left side. Go into the street and you'll be able to see the Days Inn sign. Earl Street is connected with Talbot street.
The entrance to the hotel is just a one black door. So sometimes you may pass it without even noticing it.

Walking distance to almost everything. From the O'connel street to Trinity college and the famous Temple Bar area.
Which we enjoy since after a night out, we loved walking back to the hotel. Instead of taking a cab.
Shopping streets also doable (about 10 min tops)

What I loved also about this hotel is that you don't have to go far to get something to eat.
Plenty of choices on o' connel street.
In the same street where the hotel is, you've got plenty of choices for breakfast/lunch and even dinner (from restaurant to bakery)
Lots of (mini) supermarket to buy stuff you need.
Most of them stays open until the midnight hours!. Even during the week!

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, so can not comment on that. However the choices seems good.
YES the room & bathroom are small, but that's almost everywhere you go in Europe. Especially if it's a city center hotel.
So no surprise for me.

The only thing that was odd was the position of the television.
It was mounted on the side of the beds.
Which made it sometimes uncomfortable to watch TV when lying on the bed. And there were no seating area!

Never the less..it's on a busy street so do expect noise during the morning and evening rush.
However around midnight hours it becomes very quiet.

The staff was friendly and helpful. And we could also leave our luggage behind when we checked out.
No charge!

I definitely will be coming back to Dublin (not for now since, Copenhagen is waiting for me this march :-p)
But when returning I'll definitely choose this again pure for it's location.

Thank you Days Inn Talbotstreet.

  • Liked — Location, location and the great deal
  • Disliked — Size of the room and bathroom (position of the TV)
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advensyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2008

We were very nearly put off this hotel after reading some of the other reviews but I'm really glad we decided not to change.

Yes the rooms are small and yes it's noisy but we found it excellent value, very clean and the staff were great!

It's a perfect base for exploring the city and next time we go, we'll be staying here again!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vbm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffiield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2008

The hotel rooms are quite small but we found them very clean and tidy. No problems with the cleaning aspect. The safe didnt work. The thing I couldnt get my head around was that they had a Tv and underneath it was the kettle, so everytime you bolied the kettle the steam would rise into the Tv- Not good!! Health and Safety at its best eh!!

The walls are paper thin and there is a lot of noise if you end up in a room that faces the main street as this is very busy. From people coming in from the pubs and clubs to work men or people going to work early doors.

The location is central and only a 2 min walk from Oconnell St and a 10 min walk from Temple bar.

We were told by the taxi driver that it was a rough end of town but we didnt have any problems at all. We had our best night in the local there. Although you wouldnt step out of line!!

All in all a nice little hotel, cheap really nicely located. If you are looking for a plush hotel. Do not stay here. It is a place to lay your head if you want a cheap place to stay.

PS take plenty of money if your going drinking. 7-10 quid for a pint and half of lager.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank vadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2007

Situated about as central as you can get in Dublin....but that's about it. I previously stayed in this hotel when it was under different management, it was much cheaper to stay in and breakfast was included. ....not anymore....Now you pay at least 100 euro and breakfast is extra. I was driven to distraction with all the problems i had....the bedrooms are like shoe boxes...u barely have enough room to swing a cat....television is at right angles to the bed (not that u will probably be staying there to watch tv)...lot of loose power sockets etc.....window handle was broken and had to put up with an open window on a very cold and windy night! If you have a bad back you might like the hotel beds....the mattresses are like concrete...I felt like sleeping on the floor.....the hotel is also very noisy.....i was listening to running pipes all night...the walls are like paper...and the inconsiderate women in the room next door decided not to go to bed until 5am. Talbot Street is very noisy during the day...so always ask for a room on a higher floor at the back of the building. But on a better note...if you want a top notch hotel, a decent nights sleep and a good breakfast for 100 euro....simply stay at Wynns hotel on Abbey Street or the Comfort Inn at Granby Row...they are palaces in comparison.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The bed!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank DublinProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglaston, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2007

Good location, you were near many stores, pubs and buses.

The hotel room was clean and well maintained. The only thing we had an issue with was the bathroom. It was clean but there was a musky smell but that was the only negative. We had a good stay and security wise, someone was always present at the front desk. The were good at remebering your face and always welcomed.

The internet was available and the guests hangout area was comfortable. There was a nice patio sections outside the guest section so smokers could go out and the television was available for viewing. The machines were filled with food and there were memos as to the time for breakfasts and tours.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the space in the front entranc
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank heroinchic79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2007

My Mum and I stayed here in Nov 2007. We both agree that the price is great and that the location good for everything - tourist information, shopping, Connolly St station, the hop on hop off bus. There was however one major stumbling block that would put us off staying there again and that was the beds - they were really really hard and so close together they might as well have been a double. To be fair if I was a travelling on a small or tight budget this place is great value but I just could not sleep the beds were so hard, the walls were also pretty thin and I was awoken to my next door neighbours morning bathroom ritual most days. On a positive note the breakfast was good value for 10 euro compared to what we had been paying throughout europe. The front door staff were friendly but not over helpful and one was almost verging on rude when we asked for a map with directions . She was busy at the time with what appeared to be another staff member but we were polite and waited until they finished speaking with each other before we asked. We also had an issue with our card not working every night we returned to the room - but that can happen anywhere. To sum it all up - if all you are looking for is somewhere to rest your head, a bed for a night or two while partying up in Dublin and can sleep on anything go for it . If you are wanting a few home comforts pay the extra money and stay somehere with a few more extras

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The beds and room Layout
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Richardcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#88 of 151 in Dublin
615 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,065 reviews
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wynn's Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
1,164 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,444 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#84 of 151 in Dublin
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Central Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Central Inn

Property: Dublin Central Inn
Address: 95 - 98 Talbot Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dublin Central Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, the Dublin City Inn formerly Days Inn Talbot Street has great value hotel rooms in Dublin City centre. Located just two minutes walk from O'Connell Street, in the heart of Dublin City Centre. A great place to stay on a city break in Dublin, you will find all the delights of Dublin on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dublin Central Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin City Inn Hotel Dublin
Days Inn Dublin
Dublin Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing