We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel.. Couldn't fault it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dublin Central Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dublin Central Inn
Ranked #79 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Crayford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel.. Couldn't fault it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Dublin city inn from 24th January - 27th January. I could not fault this hotel at all. In a perfect location based in talbot street just near o'connell street! Was easy to find once directed by the helpful tour guides based up o'connell street. I got here around 15.00 so was able to check in straight away. I was very happy with the room, it was clean, tidy and more than I could have expected. The receptionist staff are very nice, always welcoming with a smile on their face. My room was cleaned daily.. Where I was provided with new towels and the bed was made immaculately. If I was to come to Dublin again I would 100% stay here again! I requested a street view room and that's what I got.. The windows are large which I really liked.. Get a good view of talbot street and there is also a tesco up the road.. A pound shop type place called dealz and there is a pharmacy a couple doors down.. This is just a few of the places up talbot streets.. If you fancy getting a tattoo like I did there is a tattoo shop across the road called 'dragon tattoo'.. Highly recommended.

A big thank you to all the team at dublin city inn for making my stay as pleasant as possible.

Emma xox

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Emma,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay on Trip Advisor . It is so much appreciated your feedback and delighted top see all aspects of your stay were enjoyable.

All the team will be thrilled to see your comments.

We do hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Dublin City Inn during 2014.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    432
    277
    99
    42
See reviews for
110
498
68
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at Dublin City Inn for two nights and felt it was very good value for money. Honestly, our initial impression upon arrival was skeptical as we were given the key to a room which was already occupied and felt that the alley leading to the parking lot behind the building felt a bit unsafe. However, once we were settled in our correct room, we felt very comfortable throughout the rest of our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to others. The room was small but functional and clean with a good shower and a nice bed. The parking lot was well secured and easily accessible from inside the hotel. The most appealing aspect of this hotel was, of course, the location. We found that it was an easy walk to the Temple Bar area and a slightly longer but very doable walk to the Guinness Storeroom. We appreciated the convenience of having a Tesco express just across the road and found that there were also a few nice restaurants within just a couple of blocks. We ate next door at Italian Connection and would definitely recommend that guests try it if they are looking for something nearby! The staff members at the front desk were pleasant, friendly, and helpful. While this isn't a luxury hotel, we felt that it was the perfect place to stay for a weekend away in Dublin especially for those like us on a budget. Just as a side note, we were surprised to discover that the entrance to the hotel was a single door wedged between two ground floor businesses on Talbot street - this didn't bother us at all but may be helpful to know when trying to find the place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your stay on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to see you choose Dublin City Inn for your 2 day break. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us.

I will pass on your kind comments to all the team.

We very much appreciate your recommendation and we hope to see you again the next time you are visit Dublin.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Highly recommended. I booked Dublin City inn for a suprise trip in Jan to Dublin for my sisters 21st, I emailed them asking them whether they could leave anything birthday related in her room upon arrival. The manager was extremely responsive with his replies, and pulled out all the stops to make katies birthday as special as possible. For a small extra fee the staff put up banners, left (a good quality) sparkling wine, signed a card from us, and left chocolate and balloons. The manager remembered the request and my sister by name, personally wishing her a happy birthday. Room was lovely and staff were lovely. Room was exceptionally well priced, with only a ten minute walk to all the tourist-y parts of the city.

Room Tip: If it is for a special occassion email the manager and book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Lauren,

Thank you very much for your lovely review following your sister's recent stay for her 21st birthday. All the team do like to add the extra touch for any occasion to ensure all our guests enjoy there time with us.

I will share your kind comments with all the team here and we hope to have the opportinity in welcoming you and your sister to Dublin some time in 2014.

Many Thanks and Happy New Year to you.

Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I stead here for three nights at end December.. Rooms are small n need little up to dating.. But over all clean ...very friendly staff ... Specially reception ... It's cheap... Great location... Street can be very busy as it just below O Connell street but that didn't bother me... Bed was comfortable .. A warm room... Overall a nice stay

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank xoxmalibu89xox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent stay on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your feedback and we are delighted to see you enjoyed your time at Dublin City Inn.

We hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back sometime in the future as we do offer great value for our ideal city centre location.

All the team will delighted with your comments as they do provide excellent excellent service to all .

Many Thanks and Happy New Year to you.
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights over the new years eve period. The location of the hotel is brilliant, only a few minutes walk to the City Centre. We got an air link bus straight from the airport and it drops you a few minutes down the road from the hotel. We arrived early on our first day in Dublin, as check in time is at 2pm the staff were more than happy to look after all our bags and were very friendly and helpful with directions/advice where to go. The room we had was warm and comfortable and perfect for a short break. They also had a guest lounge with internet access, vending machines and a TV which was nice if we wanted to buy a snack/drink or somewhere to relax outside of our room. As we booked our room in the summer it was really good value, we would definitely come back to Dublin and stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Ellie,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dublin City Inn for your New Year Break. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your time with us and also ringing in 2014 in Dublin is always a fantastic time. We very much appreciate your feedback on our staff as we always strive to provide a comfortable stay to all of our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the not to distant future

Many Thanks and Happy New Year to you.

Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed there in Nov and it was a great experience.The staff was very helpful and very pleasant. The breakfast was very good and the breakfast bag was a real treat with lots of food to you through the morning when you had to leave early. We were on the fourth floor and it was quiet. My only complaint was the bathroom. The shower was so small it was like being in a coffin and if you dropped anything it was impossible to pick it up without slamming into the wall or knocking the shower door open also there was mold in the bathroom and the toilet and glasses didn't seem to be sanitized. The location was really good just a 2 block walk to O'Connell st and plenty places to eat and little grocery stores . Good location to buses and sightseeing. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Fourth floor is quiet and the rooms were a decent size
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frances c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Frances,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time in writing such an informative review of your stay at Dublin City Inn recently. We are delighted to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with the exception of the shower size .

I do agree our take away breakfast bag is a treat and a great away to start the day and is very popular when our guests are taking part in the all day tours which commence before our dining room is opened.

We would be delighted to see you again and i will pass on your kind feedback to all the team.

The very best for 2014.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I stayed at the hotel from October to December. It is good value for money. It is suitable for families, couples and single people.

The hotel is well-located, close to O'Connell Street providing easy access to all amenities, such as, supermarkets, and transport. 'Slightly rough area, though. Could be noisy (from outside) at night, which can interrupt sleep.

The breakfast is a good mixture of hot and cold meals, fruits and drinks. The staff are attentive. The dining room is spacious, but could benefit from air conditioner to let out the smell of cooking oil.

The rooms are serviced regularly providing cleanliness and making it a pleasant place to stay. Comfortable bed, central heating. There is also regular supply of tea, coffee, sugar, milk sachets in the room.

A negative, in terms of cleanliness would probably trapped old dust in radiators and window seal. All in all, good place.

Room Tip: Breakfast is served on the first floor and so it tends to smell of cooking oil. The fourth floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Jacqueline,

Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your stay on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to see you enjoyed your time with thank you again for your kind comments.

We are ideally located in the heart of the city to explore all that Dublin has to offer.

I will pass on your comments to our accommodation and restaurant team.

We do hope to have the pleasure on welcoming you back to Dublin City Inn should you be in Dublin in the coming months.

Happy New Year from all the team.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#85 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#97 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#87 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Central Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Central Inn

Property: Dublin Central Inn
Address: 95 - 98 Talbot Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dublin Central Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, the Dublin City Inn formerly Days Inn Talbot Street has great value hotel rooms in Dublin City centre. Located just two minutes walk from O'Connell Street, in the heart of Dublin City Centre. A great place to stay on a city break in Dublin, you will find all the delights of Dublin on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dublin Central Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin City Inn Hotel Dublin
Days Inn Dublin
Dublin Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing