We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprise for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dublin Central Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dublin Central Inn
Ranked #79 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A surprise for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent two nights in Dublin after a week in Scotland. Based on the price we were quoted, our expectations were not high. We were pleasantly surprised. The room,while not large, was very comfortable with a very adequate en suite bathroom. Even though we were on the front of the hotel, our room was very quite. We knew that we would have to pay for breakfast, the full Irish breakfast buffet was very good. Well worth the charge. The staff was extremely helpful. The best part of our short stay was the hotel's location, less than a 5 minute walk from O'Connell St. And The Spire.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEVMASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Beverly,

Thank you very much indeed for such a positive and uplifting review following your recent stay at The Dublin City Inn. It is a pleasure to see you enjoyed your stay and of course our prime location to visit all of what our '' Fair City '' has to offer.

I will pass on your kind feedback to all the team here who will delighted to read your review.

We very much hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back should you be returning to Dublin at some stage in the future.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    433
    277
    100
    42
See reviews for
111
498
68
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed for one night, room is clean but small, was actually quite difficult to get round the bottom of the bed without causing injury to your legs. Room had free wifi which was quite stable an fast. The room also had the use of a free safe to store your valuables. Location was goo as you were right in the city centre although the view was onto a series of flat roofs. The en-suite was also quite small but usable, there was no hot water for a shower in the morning but there was hot water in the evening. To be honest I wouldn't pay for the breakfast, it wasn't the best, eggs were like rubber as they were out on the buffet for too long, the bacon and sausage was ok, my advise would be to pay an extra few quid and get a nice breakfast elsewhere, there are plenty of places to choose from. I head no noise during the night and i slept relatively well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesphinx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dublin City Inn recently. It is very much appreciated your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We are ideally located in the city centre which is a great base to explore Dublin.

I do apolgise for the shortfall in the standard of breakfast you encountered and I can assure you this is not the norm as we constantly revive positive feedback on the breakfast we provide . I will certainly pass on your comments to the breakfast team.

We hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Great location in Dublin. You cannot swing a cat in the room or bathroom but it's fine. Just need somewhere to lay down after a busy day in Dublin. Breakfast great and got parking behind the hotel. Resturants and O'Connell street a one minute walk away and a 5 minute walk to Temple bar. Great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisher1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. We do have some small rooms as this unfortunately this we are unable to change and i am glad is was adequate for your stay.

Your title says it all '' Well positioned '' we are so centrally located to enjoy so many attractions and restaurants, landmarks Dublin has to offer..

We do hope to see you again should you be travelling to Dublin at some time in the future.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was in a single room with a good sized bathroom. Breakfast can't be faulted and the staff were very friendly and efficient, as were the receptionists. Providing a breakfast bag for leaving earlier that breakfast being served is very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlakeyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent stay on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to see you found your accommodation to your satisfaction.

We are delighted to see you availed of our early breakfast pack as you were leaving . These are very popular as some guests would be taking part in various early morning day trips and excursions.

We do hope to see you again very soon.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I just checked in and I already can't wait to leave. I understand not having air conditioning, I've stayed in Dublin before. However I have never seen such small rooms with so little accommodations. I am paying enough for enough room to walk and more than 1 towel. The desk clerk is nice enough and helpful but this was not worth the price. Check in somewhere else.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank khickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay. I was disappointed to see you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay.

We do not advertise as having air conditioning . We do how ever on a request basis provide portable fans when required.

Thank you again for your review and as always i will share all feedback with all the team here.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband, 2 friends and I stayed at the Dublin City Inn initially from 23 May to 31 May. However, I was taken ill in the early hours of Monday 26th May. Patrick and his staff in particular Patrick and Anna Dudek were extremely kind to me, I will never forget their concern. These people and the rest of the staff are true friends. Unfortunately, I have heart issues, and had to return back to England. I was very upset.

We have been staying at this hotel for many, many years. It is a lovely place to stay, very clean and tidy and the breakfast is second to none. The best in Dublin.

Room Tip: Fourth floor is always a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzylizzie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay. I was very sorry to see you had to return hope earlier than expected as it is always a pleasure having you stay with us over many many years.

We all wish you a speedy get well and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back.

I will pass on your kind comments to Anna and all the team here.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just spent the one night here before travelling on to a family get together in Dundalk . Perfect for us . Close to the railway station and to the centre . Also handy for airport transfer busses. Don't let the tiny entrance put you off. Very friendly welcome. We had family room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet. A bit tired looking but very clean and with loads of basic needs. Towels, hanging space , comfortable beds and a safe . Full Irish breakfast was very good. Very good hotel for one or two nights. Would recommend it. Great inexpensive Italian restaurant next door!!!

Room Tip: We had room at back which was very quiet. Maybe one at front would be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norfolk-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your stay on Trip Advisor and of course for choosing Dublin City Inn for your family get together.

We are delighted to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and our breakfast is a great way to start the day.

We very much appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#85 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#97 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#88 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Central Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Central Inn

Property: Dublin Central Inn
Address: 95 - 98 Talbot Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dublin Central Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, the Dublin City Inn formerly Days Inn Talbot Street has great value hotel rooms in Dublin City centre. Located just two minutes walk from O'Connell Street, in the heart of Dublin City Centre. A great place to stay on a city break in Dublin, you will find all the delights of Dublin on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dublin Central Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin City Inn Hotel Dublin
Days Inn Dublin
Dublin Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing