We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Dublin Central Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dublin Central Inn
Ranked #78 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Kinsale, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

In order to celebrate my birthday this week I spent one night in this cosy B&B located in the heart of Dublin City Center runned by lovely & professional Staff. I have been working in hotel industry for the last 14 years and 12 years as receptionist and I can guaranteed this is a lovely place to spend your holidays as they look you after very well. The place is extremely clean, the staff is very polite, efficient and helpful and the food at breakfast was really good. My biggest compliments go to all the staff I met who provided us with a very good service, especially the girls on duty for breakfast on Friday Morning 27/6, the receptionist at the desk on the same morning (sorry I cannot remember her name..the initial was V) and of course the general manager Patrick, thank you for the lovely time I had in the Dublin City Inn, I have already started reccommanding your place to my family & friends and I can't wait to be back in the near future. See you Soon Alessia

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleKinsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Alessia,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful positive review following your recent stay.. It was a pleasure in having you as our guest.

I am delighted to see you had a pleasant stay as the team pride themselves on providing exceptional service to all of our guests.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and of course than jk you for your recommendation which is very much appreciated.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    440
    287
    103
    43
See reviews for
115
510
69
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you're looking for a spacious hotel avoid this place. As soon as we walked into the room, I felt like I was in the 70s with the brown walls and chipboard 'cupboard' and instead of walking around our room we had to shuffle . There is no airconditioning or even a fan. To get some air circulating in the room we decided to open the window which was close to falling on top of us because it was completely detached from it's top hinge. Our room was adjacent to Talbot street which gets very noisy, even with the window closed we could still hear everything from the street. If it wasn't the noise in the street that woke us up it was housekeeping slamming their vacuum cleaner on the room door or hearing peoples doors slam as they leave their hotel room. During our stay they wanted to paint our door, we refused as we don't want to be smelling paint the whole time. It is an extremely old building and it shows. The location is great but I really didn't have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear you did not not have a pleasant stay as our main aim is to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable time. We do not advertise air conditioning in the hotel as we do provide fans to all room when requested.

As our location is right in the city centre there will always be an element of street noise as this been the case with all city centre hotels. I do apologise for the issue you encountered with the window which has now been addressed.

We do hope this will not deter you from returning in the future and we will ensure your return is a more comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I think this is a casef you get what you pay for. On the plus side, the location is not bad and the neighbourhood is quiet at night. They have a tiny secure carpark and they had a spot available for us, although it is tight. They have a lift so you can get your suitcases up and down. The beds were comfortable and the room has most of the amenities you need, and they provided an iron on request. Breakfast is simple and the toast comes warm, not cold which is nice.

However, if you choose the breakfast option, note that it doesn't start very early (8am at the earliest) and it gets busy so don't be surprised if it is full or you have to share a table. Not great if you are an early riser. The bathroom is not spotless, especially the floor, so bring slippers. The shower was not the best, but at least the water was hot. The room was warm, and as long as no one was smoking on the terrace below, opening the windows helped as there was no a/c.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iristraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for posting such a detailed review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see you enjoyed the services we provide and availed of our free parking which is on a first come first served basis.

Regarding our breakfast times if any of our guests are departing early we provide a full breakfast pack which they can take with them .

I will share your comments with my accommodation department as this is indeed not the norm as we constantly recieve positive feedback on the cleanliness we provide..

Thank you for affording me the opportunity in addressing your comments and we hope to see you again in the very future.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Rooms cleaned every day plus fresh towels daily. Shower recess small, if you have a lot of long hair to wash could be a long process due to little water pressure. Showering is fine though. Lock on window was broken, but the noise was not too bad. Best points, friendly and helpful staff, very, very central on Talbot Street and the breakfast...€6 for continental and €8.50 for the full Irish.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Anita,

Thank you for taking time in writing your review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the kind comments for all the team here.

Thank you again for staying at Dublin City Inn for your recent trip to Ireland..

We hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The rooms are well kept and cleaned daily, the staff are really friendly and helpful. The room has the expected storage for your clothes and personals plus tea/coffee making facility, TV and a hairdryer.
There is an add on for breakfast at currently 8.50 euro.
The hotel is located on busy street just off O'Connell St, really close by to shopping, restaurants, cafes and pubs.
O'Connell St will give you access to bus travel and taxis, if you take a right from the hotel entrance a 10 minute walk will lead you to the tram station and the Liffey River.
Buses run from airport 24 hrs a day, every 10-15 minutes at 7 euros each way, taxis around 25 euros, 10-15 minute traveling time..They will drop you off on O'Connell St, a few minutes walk to the hotel.
Dublin is a lovely friendly city, with lots of varied things to do and full of characters.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toasted1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. .

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to our wonderful city which has so much top offer.

The team will be delighted to read your comments.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The bedrooms although small were comfortable and the breakfast was lovely couple of issues was the size of the shower had difficulty getting in and out I think it was designed for a leprechaun and the window lock was broken so very noisy. The location was excellent. The staff were brilliant give them a pat on the back they deserve it.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meerkat360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay on Trip Advisor, It is a pleasure to see you enjoyed your time at the Dublin City Inn. I will have the window issue addressed thank you for notifying us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future.

I will share your wonderful comments to all the team as they will be delighted to see.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We have been in the hotel since Monday evening and are set to leave in the morning and have spent 4 great nights here. The room is clean and comfortable with everything you need for a short break. The room is cleaned daily with fresh towels and replacement of tea, coffee etc. All the staff have been great and nothing has been too much trouble for them.
The hotel is centrally located and an ideal position in this wonderful city. It offers great value for money and we would certainly consider a return visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hbuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

It is such a pleasure to read your review and a great start to the weekend ahead. I am delighted to see all aspects of your stay were comfortable also you got to enjoy the mini heatwave Dublin is having at present.

I will pass on your lovely comments to all the team who will be delighted to see your positive feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#88 of 151 in Dublin
612 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,064 reviews
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,436 reviews
Wynn's Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
1,163 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#83 of 151 in Dublin
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Central Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Central Inn

Property: Dublin Central Inn
Address: 95 - 98 Talbot Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dublin Central Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, the Dublin City Inn formerly Days Inn Talbot Street has great value hotel rooms in Dublin City centre. Located just two minutes walk from O'Connell Street, in the heart of Dublin City Centre. A great place to stay on a city break in Dublin, you will find all the delights of Dublin on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dublin Central Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin City Inn Hotel Dublin
Days Inn Dublin
Dublin Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing