We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Dublin Central Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dublin Central Inn
Ranked #83 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nice stay in this hotel, great location for Dublin City centre. Breakfast was good but nothing special, served with a smile though which is always good. In fact all staff encountered were pleasant. Rooms ok, nothing special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeleine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dublin City Inn and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is with great delight to hear you had a pleasant time with us.

I will share you kind comments with all the team and we hope to see you in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The location of the hotel is good and it was easy to find. The hotel itself is aging and looks it -- built in closets and nightstands were just utilitarian. Rooms were not particularly spacious, but covered all the basics. The bed was comfortable and the room pretty clean. The staff, except for the night porter, was incredibly helpful and kind and answered all of our questions.

Our first room's shower stopped working after the first night and only had blisteringly hot water and it took three days (two nights) before we were finally moved to another room. They called an outside plumber to come in who swore the work was done, but it wasn't. Twice. It's really frustrating to come back to a hotel after a long day of walking and exploring and not be able to shower. The night porter was less than helpful, but the day staff was obviously as frustrated as we were and worked to get us another room on the same floor and gave us plenty of time to move. The shower stalls are ridiculously small or dangerous -- ours was a tiny enclosure we barely fit in and our friends had a frighteningly steep sided, tall tub that was pretty treacherous. I had to shower it in one night when we were without.

There's absolutely NO air flow in this place -- no air conditioning or moving air at all by fan or otherwise, so it was stuffy and we struggled to sleep sometimes even with the window open as far as we could get it.

We requested a couple of things -- face cloths (which are not standard there apparently), additional towels, a clean top sheet -- none of which ever appeared. We're not generally fussy people, so we dealt.

The breakfast was great and I'm glad we had it. All good food, fresh and regularly replenished. I got spoiled and now want a full Irish breakfast every day here at home! It was an inexpensive stay, so if you're looking for absolutely no frills but a clean and convenient place to crash, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side of the hotel, it is much quieter than the rooms that open up onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freerangekarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

In order to celebrate my birthday this week I spent one night in this cosy B&B located in the heart of Dublin City Center runned by lovely & professional Staff. I have been working in hotel industry for the last 14 years and 12 years as receptionist and I can guaranteed this is a lovely place to spend your holidays as they look you after very well. The place is extremely clean, the staff is very polite, efficient and helpful and the food at breakfast was really good. My biggest compliments go to all the staff I met who provided us with a very good service, especially the girls on duty for breakfast on Friday Morning 27/6, the receptionist at the desk on the same morning (sorry I cannot remember her name..the initial was V) and of course the general manager Patrick, thank you for the lovely time I had in the Dublin City Inn, I have already started reccommanding your place to my family & friends and I can't wait to be back in the near future. See you Soon Alessia

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleKinsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Alessia,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful positive review following your recent stay.. It was a pleasure in having you as our guest.

I am delighted to see you had a pleasant stay as the team pride themselves on providing exceptional service to all of our guests.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and of course than jk you for your recommendation which is very much appreciated.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you're looking for a spacious hotel avoid this place. As soon as we walked into the room, I felt like I was in the 70s with the brown walls and chipboard 'cupboard' and instead of walking around our room we had to shuffle . There is no airconditioning or even a fan. To get some air circulating in the room we decided to open the window which was close to falling on top of us because it was completely detached from it's top hinge. Our room was adjacent to Talbot street which gets very noisy, even with the window closed we could still hear everything from the street. If it wasn't the noise in the street that woke us up it was housekeeping slamming their vacuum cleaner on the room door or hearing peoples doors slam as they leave their hotel room. During our stay they wanted to paint our door, we refused as we don't want to be smelling paint the whole time. It is an extremely old building and it shows. The location is great but I really didn't have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelAuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear you did not not have a pleasant stay as our main aim is to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable time. We do not advertise air conditioning in the hotel as we do provide fans to all room when requested.

As our location is right in the city centre there will always be an element of street noise as this been the case with all city centre hotels. I do apologise for the issue you encountered with the window which has now been addressed.

We do hope this will not deter you from returning in the future and we will ensure your return is a more comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I think this is a casef you get what you pay for. On the plus side, the location is not bad and the neighbourhood is quiet at night. They have a tiny secure carpark and they had a spot available for us, although it is tight. They have a lift so you can get your suitcases up and down. The beds were comfortable and the room has most of the amenities you need, and they provided an iron on request. Breakfast is simple and the toast comes warm, not cold which is nice.

However, if you choose the breakfast option, note that it doesn't start very early (8am at the earliest) and it gets busy so don't be surprised if it is full or you have to share a table. Not great if you are an early riser. The bathroom is not spotless, especially the floor, so bring slippers. The shower was not the best, but at least the water was hot. The room was warm, and as long as no one was smoking on the terrace below, opening the windows helped as there was no a/c.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iristraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for posting such a detailed review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see you enjoyed the services we provide and availed of our free parking which is on a first come first served basis.

Regarding our breakfast times if any of our guests are departing early we provide a full breakfast pack which they can take with them .

I will share your comments with my accommodation department as this is indeed not the norm as we constantly recieve positive feedback on the cleanliness we provide..

Thank you for affording me the opportunity in addressing your comments and we hope to see you again in the very future.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Rooms cleaned every day plus fresh towels daily. Shower recess small, if you have a lot of long hair to wash could be a long process due to little water pressure. Showering is fine though. Lock on window was broken, but the noise was not too bad. Best points, friendly and helpful staff, very, very central on Talbot Street and the breakfast...€6 for continental and €8.50 for the full Irish.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Anita,

Thank you for taking time in writing your review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the kind comments for all the team here.

Thank you again for staying at Dublin City Inn for your recent trip to Ireland..

We hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The rooms are well kept and cleaned daily, the staff are really friendly and helpful. The room has the expected storage for your clothes and personals plus tea/coffee making facility, TV and a hairdryer.
There is an add on for breakfast at currently 8.50 euro.
The hotel is located on busy street just off O'Connell St, really close by to shopping, restaurants, cafes and pubs.
O'Connell St will give you access to bus travel and taxis, if you take a right from the hotel entrance a 10 minute walk will lead you to the tram station and the Liffey River.
Buses run from airport 24 hrs a day, every 10-15 minutes at 7 euros each way, taxis around 25 euros, 10-15 minute traveling time..They will drop you off on O'Connell St, a few minutes walk to the hotel.
Dublin is a lovely friendly city, with lots of varied things to do and full of characters.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toasted1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. .

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to our wonderful city which has so much top offer.

The team will be delighted to read your comments.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#87 of 150 in Dublin
645 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
4,687 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 150 in Dublin
1,148 reviews
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Central Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Central Inn

Address: 95 - 98 Talbot Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £56 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dublin Central Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, the Dublin City Inn formerly Days Inn Talbot Street has great value hotel rooms in Dublin City centre. Located just two minutes walk from O'Connell Street, in the heart of Dublin City Centre. A great place to stay on a city break in Dublin, you will find all the delights of Dublin on your doorstep. Free Wifi Throughout all rooms and public areas . Temple Bar just a 5 minute walk away. Guinness Storehouse, Trinity College , Jameson Distillery all within walking distance , Take in Grafton Street for that last minute shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dublin Central Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin City Inn Hotel Dublin
Days Inn Dublin
Dublin Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing