We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Spot to Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Downstairs living space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Downstairs living space
View from living area View to seating area and desk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
59 reviews
Downstairs living space
View from living area
View to seating area and desk
Night-time at the Coastguard Station
Art work in dining area
Art work in dining area
Seating area by the fire
Dining area at night-time
The cottage at night-time
Beautiful antique bookcase
Discrete television and Bose radio and CD player
Kitchen and dining area
Kitchen with gas hob, dishwasher and Siemens combi oven and fridge freezer
Kictchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Hallway with washing machine/dryer
Entrance Hall
Hall Door
Entrance
Entrance
Private back garden
Private back garden
Log store in garden
Cottage Exterior
Poolbeg Marina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dublin, County Dublin

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Blakdogz
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Owner is great... or so they say”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Everyone says how helpful and friendly the owner was. Well, we can't say. After numerous phone calls to both the numbers he gave us, we have yet to hear from him. His friend, the taxi driver, left cards in the cottage, but the best we could do was leave messages for him. We were late arriving at the cottage and were met by a friendly neighbor who let us in. We drove to Dublin and all the directions were from the airport or in his friends taxi. After searching for more than an hour, we asked three cab drivers to take us there. The first two had no idea where it was, based on the directions we were given. The one that finally thought he might know drove all around the location until together we thought we saw a building that looked like the description.
Cottage is small, but beautifully furnished. Stairs are very narrow and there is a railing only half way up. Overall, nice for some... not nice for others

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Furnishings
Liked least: directions and inattention by the owner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2013
This is a baffling review. I sent several mails outlining the importance of sending me details of ETA. I spoke with the guests several times, firstly on the phone when they needed directions to the cottage. They were cut off and did not call back as they appeared to have problems with their phone and did not answer it, despite several attempts on my part. They did have two problems, they were not sure of their ETA in Dublin, but they give a rough estimate and i arranged for the housekeeper to welcome them. They did not arrive at the appointed time , 'sometime between six and eight'. The housekeeper duly waited and then arranged for a neighbour to give them the keys. I spoke with them on the phone the next day and, in the context that they had arrived later than expected, i told them that there were no conditions applied to their departure time. They could leave as late as suited them. The housekeeper informed me that the house was vacated a day later than agreed. Guests usually provide accurate times of arrival and, in the case of delay, there are four contact numbers which can facilitate a change in plans. Every effort was made to help these guests who appeared to experience difficulty when they arrived by car in Dublin and also some difficulty phoning me en route. It also seems that they availed of my hospitality by extending their stay and this surely must constitute sympathetic treatment of their requirements during their stay in Dublin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonoandEm
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot to Stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We loved this place! It was beautifully decorated, well maintained, and had everything you might need (laundry etc). There was a grocery store and restaurants nearby (15 minutes walk), and it was a quick 45 minute walk to Trinity College (buses were also available, but we had nice weather). The landlord was very kind and organized our pickup and drop off from the airport with a very reliable taxi service. We definitely recommend this flat to anyone visiting Dublin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior decor.
Liked least: Nothing, it was great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amyb675
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Terrible communication - could not enter property”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Arranged with Billy to be picked up at Dublin Airport at 9:30 am to go to property. Night before, weather delayed my flight. As soon as I had new flight plans, I emailed Mr. Mundow of the change. (I did not call at this time as it was approx 1 am in Ireland). No response. At my layover in the morning, emailed and called. No response. Arrived in Dublin approx 1:30 pm. Called and emailed again. No response. Went through customs, called and emailed again. No response. Waited at airport for approx 1 more hour. Called and emailed again. No answer. Took a taxi on my own to property. No one there, locked. Emailed again. At this time, was approx 5 pm so I arranged for my own hotel that night. Mr. Mundow emailed later that evening asking when I would be arriving and to call him. I did. Guess what? No answer. Requested and was denied a refund for my stay. Horrible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2013
The guest indicated that she would be travelling to Dublin from New York on 26th June on flight KL6192, arriving at 9.30 am. A taxi driver waited for one hour to greet her and take her to the property. She did not arrive on the flight indicated. The housekeeper waited at the property for two hours. I received a mail later that night that the guest had travelled from Paris rather than New York. I did not receive any phone call or text message at any stage although i confirmed contact numbers on receipt of her mail and i urged her to call. All communication was by email. I offered to meet the guest at the property, however late, but she declined. I also offered her an extra night's stay at no extra cost which was also declined. A refund was refused as cancellation was unreasonably late and access remained possible during the day and the following three days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ucleamonn
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A seemingly remote cottage, 20 minutes walk from central Dublin”
Reviewed 2 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

If you take the ferry into Dublin from the UK, you can actually see the cottage from the top deck as the ferry pulls alongside Dublin terminal. The coastguard station is unassuming from the outside in a no-nonsense Liffey-side neighborhood with a massive park at its heart. You may not be be able to stumble downstairs into a raucous pub, but you will enjoy your daily walk through this park even more: the shouting excitement of pickup soccer and football games, the neighborhood kids conspiring an evening of mischief, the moms pushing their prams and gossiping. If you want to go to Dublin and stay in an Irish neighborhood that is safe, close-knit and proximate to city-center, then this is perfect for you.

The cottage is itself beautifully decorated, stacked ceiling-high with books, and painted a dark blue inside, which makes the art on the walls pop out. The overstuffed couch sucks you into nights of wine, conversation and reading in front of glowing embers. The walls are thick as bedrock so you don't need to worry about hearing neighbors, hearing noise from the port, or disturbing anyone if you are having fun yourself. It's so quiet you think you're in the countryside and so welcoming you think you're home.

Further, Billy is a genial host, even providing a quick driving tour of the neighborhood and all sorts of tips on local fare and transit. Ask him to show you "the walk" and you'll discover a local hike that most locals don't even know about.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in a port neighborhood, Billy's orientation to Dublin, period furnishings
Liked least: Wasn't there long enough
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulandGa...
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“on the small side”
Reviewed 5 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Great little property would suit a couple or plus 1 quiet location fair walking distance from public transport links. The public transport is great into Dublin. Owner very helpful and very accommodating. If you have a car it is a great base for exploring.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: quiet location great view of the port at night
Liked least: distance from public transport
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CleaJ_12
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful host, nice location, fun city!”
Reviewed 3 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Billy did a great job setting up taxis and property management help even before we arrived in Ireland, once we arrived he did a great job getting us sorted with orientation to the neighborhood, activities, transportation, etc. Ringsend and Sandymount are wonderful neighborhoods with great restaurants and a lovely walk along the South Wall, and easy access to all parts of the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Billy - great guy
Liked least: weather
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful wood burning fireplace
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing