We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great location”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in November, great location just outside city centre, only a few euro for the bus which stops outside hotel. Great selection of restaurants opposite the hotel also, thoroughly recommend Chilli Banana Thai restaurant. Easy check in at hotel who also upgraded us as it was our wedding anniversary, friendly staff and very comfortable beds.......best nights sleep I think I've ever had in a hotel bed. Also very reasonably priced for a weekend stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benandmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    628
    218
    88
    88
See reviews for
375
674
100
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for 3 days 2 nights and the front desk staff were generally helpful but could be a little more brisk. The rooms did not turn out as nice as the pictures showed (would rate the pic a 5/5, but reality 3/5). The biggest spoiler came at the end when we were checking out. We asked for a late check out, went out in the morning, and returned to discover to our horror the rooms were in the midst of renovation ( they were removing the heater), while our bags were still in the room, and the door was wide opened, with no one guarding the place. Explanations provided by the duty manager was far less than satisfactory, she defended that she called us many times but couldn't reach us, and that the head housekeeper was looking after our bags. There were indeed missed calls, but there was not a single soul in the room. If we had not packed our bags before we left i cannot imagine how it would have been. All this is topped off by the defensive and non apologetic tone of the duty manager which soured the end of our otherwise beautiful Dublin visit.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clpsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed last Thursday for 3 nights. There was no welcome from reception when checked in. Gave a room on the third floor,as soon as I went in to the room,I could hear the constant humming sound from outside down below, this happens when the hotel is really old. Because we had to stay for 3 nights, i wasn't going to let this to disturb my sleep,so I asked the housekeeping manager to give me another room, he kindly changed for me. but it turned out this one was even worse, because there were some ongoing building constructions going on very close to the hotel, made it impossible. Also the fan in the bathroom was extremely loud when the light was turned on, and the tv signals were very unsteady, the worst thing was there was no hot water from the sink!!. So I went down stairs explained to the receptionist. The person who dealt with me was very unhelpful, she ignored all the problems in the room, replied to me : we've changed the room for you already, so we couldn't change for you again, I wasn't impressed with her arrogant attitude at all, her colleague stopped her. In the end, I was given an executive room which was nice and quiet, and that was the end of that. Soon I moved into the new room, I realized the heating was cut out, a heater was left in the room, as if they were expecting this to happen.
Later I went down to reception to borrow a sowing kit, the same receptionist was there, I asked her if the hotel provides it, she replied with the same cold tone: "No we don't"! I found her very unhelpful and very unprofessional. On the other hand, the housekeeping staff has been very helpful throughout, especially the housekeeping manager. The breakfast was ok, bar food was very average. The staff in general was polite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A lovely hotel which we hope to return to. A little out of town but good for the airport and more central hotels of equivalent quality are significantly more expensive. Fantastically friendly and helpful staff, and a comfortable, clean room of a good size. Good Thai and Italian restaurants over the road. But for the shower being a little weak and difficult to control I would have given 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesfredreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We traveled with two teenagers, notoriously difficult to please. Their only comment was that if we visit Dublin again they would prefer a more central location. The thing is that to be able to afford such a good quality hotel in the town centre would have been far dearer.
Overall we found this hotel clean, comfortable, well run and very friendly. Wi-fi is free and available in all rooms. We had originally found a very competitive rate on a website (am I allowed to say ebooking?) but when we called the hotel directly they offered to match it giving us the possibility of a last minute cancellation if necessary.
The shop opposite the hotel sells bus tickets and the no. 16 bus (just outside the shop) will drop you off in the town centre in 10-15 minutes - avoid rush hours if you can. The same shop sells delicious baguettes that in the morning you can fill with a choice of freshly cooked breakfast items. One of these and a hot drink will only set you back E 3.50.
We had breakfast at the hotel on the last day - the service was good - the cooked breakfast was ok. we also had a meal at the bar which was very pleasant. We would certainly consider another stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper I would suggest asking for a room at the back. We did not mind being at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amersham104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruff, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here for a concert in the O2 in September. Three of us stayed. We found the location great and ate in a lovely Italian across the road. The day staff were very helpful, they gave us the information on the broadband in the room and told us about the shuttle bus to the O2 which we opted not to take but they even rang to check before it left. We found the room small but nice, clean and bright. When we arrived back from the concert the bar staff were lovely. These were the plus points, but the night porter was quite rude. And the shower the next morning switched between scalding hot and ice cold with very little in between. So the end of the stay was soured somewhat. I would stay again for the location but I'd be wary if the same night porter was on!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations Manag... ., Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Dee H,

I am delighted the Skylon was a good base for your trip to the O2. Thank-you for complimenting the staff and highlightinng the night porter that was having an off night. As we don't know who the culprit is all three night porters are going to buy you and your buddies a beer after the next O2 conert and sort you out with ham sandwiches. No concert is ever complete without a beer and a ham sandwich back at the Skylon. Drop me an e-mail when you are next returning smcgavock@dublinskylonhotel.com

Regards,

Shane
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I am the owner of a tour company and we are regular customers at the Skylon. We have been absolutely delighted with the service and friendliness of the staff. It seems most of the staff are real "Dubs" and have that Dublin wit. The non-local personnel at the Skylon also have their own charms. We are always happy to see Toni, Katie and Tara every time we come here. These 3 folks are always going out of their way to make us all feel welcome. It truly feels like I am visiting home and I am among friends. When the owners of our tour company come to Dublin, we always choose the Skylon hotel. We have had nothing but positive feedback from our travelers all through 2013. This is a hands on type of hotel. In fact, way back in the beginning of the year, I was concerned about a relatively minor issue. I wrote an email to someone in the "chain of command" and within a day, I heard from the owner of the McEniff hotels. How rare is this? We chose this hotel because it is near the city centre and the airport. Our tour finishes in Dublin and this is a very convenient location. I think that after 23 visits this year, I am very qualified to give the Skylon the very highest rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations Manag... ., General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Mickj W,

We have really enjoyed having you this year and all the many Americans that you brought to our hotel with their big personalities. They just had a great laugh with our crew here at the Skylon because we love the 'craic!' Toni, Katie & Dee thank you for the mention and are going out to celebrate with wine as they got a big tip today from a very generous tour operator.... It is so nice that you call us a wonderful 'country hotel in the city' as this is what Brian Mc Eniff has always wanted his Skylon Hotel. We really do love you and Trish here at the Skylon and we look forward to you bringing lots and lots more Americans next year for more 'craic!'

Regards,

Shane
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#29 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,408 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Grand Canal Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Skylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Skylon Hotel

Property: Dublin Skylon Hotel
Address: 27 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin D09 V1Y2, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dublin Skylon Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#32 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dublin Skylon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxurious hotel with free Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is located ten minutes from Dublin International Airport and five minutes from Dublin City Centre. Croke Park Stadium is within walking distance. The Skylon Restaurant serves breakfast from 7.00am to 10.30 am. And you can discover the many delicious menu options at The Skylon Bar & Grill, one of the tastiest restaurants near Dublin City Centre. All our menus come with a suggestion of wines from around the world, a selection of craft beers and our extensive cocktail menu.Guests at the Skylon Hotel can expect the very best of Irish hospitality. Check in is after 2pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dublin Skylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylon Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing