We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Ranked #36 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Spent 2 nights in the Skylon in Decemberd 2013 while visiting family in the area and I cannot say a bad word about our stay.
The bedroom seemed to be recently renovated and the bed was so comfortable. We stayed on a bed an breakfast rate and breakfast was excellent both morning with lots to choose from.
We had dinner in the bar on one of the evenings and again we had no complaints. The menu was very reasonably priced and portion sizes were generous.
The one thing that I must mention is the staff who are an absolute credit to the hotel. From check in, staff at breakfast and in the bar we were always made feel like they couldn't do enough for us. Everyone was so courteous and helpful and really made the stay that extra bit more special.
Looking forward to returning to the Skylon.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Shivers2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations Manag... ., General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Shivers8585,

Thank-you for taking the time to post a lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and our newly refurbished bedrooms. You are very kind to give the staff a special mention - I am blessed with great staff! It is great to hear that you will be returning to the Skylon. Drop me an e-mail when you are coming back and we will see if we can do a little something special for you: smcgavock@dublinskylonhotel.com.

Regards,

Shane
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,300 - 1,306 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Friendly comfortable atmosphere. Building work above my room started at 6 am and woke me. The room itself was nicely decorated and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was quite old and dated. Breakfast buffet was average. Bar was nice and staff were very helpful.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank sparkyoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations Manag... ., General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Sparkyoc,

Having found the hotel friendly and your room and bed comfortable it is very disappointing that you were disturbed by building work. Please accept my sincerest apologies. We were having batrooms re-fitted but work should never have started at that hour. If you could be kind enough to drop me an e-mail I would love to get you back to the hotel and you can see our lovely new bathrooms for which we sacraficed your sleep. Sorry once again and I hope to meet with you on your return - smcgavock@dublinskylonhotel.com

Regards,

Shane Mc Gavock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed at the Skylon hotel on Saturday 14/12 & was very dissappointed. I should start by saying that i do not normally leave negative reviews however really felt that in this case it was necessary. Our room (117) was nothing like the photos displayed on the website. The room decor was very old - this is normally not an issue for me but felt that the website was mis-leading. The bed was barely a double & was not sufficent for myself & my partner. It was actually funny how small the bed was
The towels in the bathroom all had holes in them and not something that you would expect. The room was not very clean - espcially the bathroom (shower was rusty and dirty).
The rooms are by no means soundproofed - it was extremely noisey all night so much so that i thought initially that i had left the door open! Paid €90 for the room for a hotel that was not in a city centre location, breakfast was not included and i had to pay for parking. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations Manag... ., General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Anon003,

It was a poor decision on our part to allocate room 117 to a couple. Please accept my sincerest apologies. Only the following week the room was completely refurbished with a big King bed. I would love to get you back to stay in one of our executive bedrooms that are large, soundproofed rooms where I can promise you will have a lovely sleep. I have located your details on the system and I will be in touch.

Regards,

Shane Mc Gavock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband & I stayed in Dublin's Skylon Hotel for the weekend to do some Christmas shopping. The hotel was in a great location, with a bus stop right accross the street which took us straight to O'Connell Street which was right in the centre of the main shopping area for a reasonable amount of money. The hotel was lovely, rooms clean & facilities satisfactory with a fantastic breakfast. The entertainment in the hotel on the Saturday night was lively & we enjoyed the music & buzz without leaving to go elsewhere. This hotel is definitely value for money & we look forward to staying there again

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kane356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations Manag... ., General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Kane356,

Thanks you so much for the lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel and the entertainment on a Saturday night. I reckon I could tempt you back for a little break in January - Dance the night away on Saturday and enjoy the Jazz band and afternoon tea in the lobby on Sunday. Drop me an e-mail anytime!

Regards
Shane
GM
smcgavock@dublinskylonhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during our 7 day Ireland trip. The hotel is conveniently located..a 15-20 minute bus ride from the airport as well as the city centre. Bus number 16, 13 and 41 take you to the city centre and the bus stop is right opposite the hotel. We reached the hotel at 1 pm but the room was not ready..so we left our luggage at the cloak room and then headed to the city centre.

We checked in late in the evening..the room was quite spacious and nicely decorated. The bed was huge and cozy too..had a good night sleep in the bed. The breakfast was also good (both hot and cold). The receptionist was quite helpful and provided us good information on the bus to Galway. The food at the bar was average.

There are quite a few good restaurants opposite the hotel and there is a SPAR too for some essentials thay one may need to buy.

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel and would not mind returning again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rinky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations Manag... ., General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Ricky23,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel - it is very much appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed the new Kingsize beds and had a pleasant stay. i look forward to meeting you when you next return.

regards

Shane
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

To start, this hotel should be more than a 3*. The welcoming feeling upon arrival to the hotel was outstanding, the staff couldnt do enough for me. The room was imaculate and had fresh bedding and towels every day. The restaurant and bar was also outstanding with brilliant food and drink along with great customer service throughout my stay. I would be more than happy to stay in this hotel again, the staff and the environment made my stay remarkable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations Manag... ., General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Holly A,

I am so delighted to hear the staff made your stay remarkable and that you enjoyed the hotel. We really hope to see you back at the hotel again soon. Drop me an e-mail when you are next returning smcgavock@dublinskylonhotel.com.

Regards,

Shane
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

First time here for some time and really was worried about our choice. Read Tripadvisor reviews and they were mixed. Might sound wrong but it was such a good price, it was almost too cheap. Can only say from first step inside we were just so glad we did not change. This hotel is not cheap it is simply great value for money and why go anywhere else in Dublin? Staff throughout the hotel were so helpful every time - nothing was too much trouble from when we checked in to when we left. Do not want to pick out anyone in particular but must mention the flying barman with great craic - Kieran (older, thinner on top?). Room was everything we needed and the bed was huge, comfortable and quiet even being at the front. The location is perfect for travellers from the airport and anywhere north of Dublin despite the atrocious traffic on the Drumcondra Road. All the more reason for parking the car at the Skylon on arrival and taking the bus. Once more, thanks to the receptionists (always smiling), the bar staff, the breakfast waiters serving the super breakfast and the cleaners who did such a good job. Oh and thanks to nice touch from the owner who came over and chatted and to the manager who took the time to talk. Please do not judge this hotel simply on price or else you might pay far too much elsewhere. Looking fwd to going back. By the way, the wee thank you e-mail from the hotel after he trip was really nice. Did not get that from our last 5*.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room - should be given if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smilingguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations Manag... ., General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Smilingguest,

Wow such a wonderful review; you are so kind. It was lovely to meet you and your wife during your last stay. Many thanks for giving Kieran a special mention. I am blessed with great staff. We would be delighted to have you return to the Skylon. I can always be contacted directly as I would love the opportunity to tempt you to come back for a nice break in January!

Regards,

Shane
GM
smcgavock@dublinskylonhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,727 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,445 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,620 reviews
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Skylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Skylon Hotel

Address: 27 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin D09 V1Y2, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dublin Skylon Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#22 Family Hotel in Dublin
#28 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £57 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dublin Skylon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxurious hotel with free Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is located ten minutes from Dublin International Airport and five minutes from Dublin City Centre. Croke Park Stadium is within walking distance. The Skylon Bar & Grill serves breakfast from 7.00am to 10.30 am. And you can discover the many delicious menu options at The Skylon Bar & Grill, one of the tastiest restaurants near Dublin City Centre. All our menus come with a suggestion of wines from around the world, a selection of craft beers and our extensive cocktail menu.Guests at the Skylon Hotel can expect the very best of Irish hospitality. Check in is after 2pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dublin Skylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylon Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing