We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Ranked #35 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Check in can be a bit slow but generally a nice hotel well located on main bus route into Dublin. Good breakfast and rooms are huge with many having beds for 4 people. Good value as well. Free wifi. Love the waiter at breakfast with the shifty walk!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    644
    218
    90
    88
See reviews for
385
685
101
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Amazing place everyone is nice. Let me keep my bags there before I was able to check in so I could go out an do some exploring with out having to worry about my bags. I would for sure stay there again if I find my self in Dublin. Close to the city center you could walk it in about 20 minutes. Other wise a taxi did not cost much. Bus stop really close by too for getting to the hotel from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kady E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cutler Bay, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Excellent Hotel. Right in front to bus route to the airport and the City Center. You can take almost any bus and they will take you into the city and back. Very convenient to commute to other places. There is a convenient store across the street, a pub, a few restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Juan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlewellan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel, we stayed there over St Patricks weekend , handy to city centre by bus and taxi, staff were excellent and the rooms were very comfortable after along day shopping in Dublin and returning from a good nights craic in the many bars, food also excellent with a great hearty breakfast that will set you up for the long day ahead, I will make a point off staying here again for a weekend break.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick
Level Contributor
738 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I booked here because of good reviews and its closeness to the airport. Was not disappointed! This is what I'd call a luxury property and definitely was impressed as we came into the plush, expansive lobby. The breakfast, which we didn't take, was 10 Euro, about $15, and cheap by Euopean standards. We ate dinner instead at a nearby restaurant, The Cat and The Cage (separate review). Our room was really nice too, and quiet. The bath was large and modern, and the bus stop to take you anywhere is right out front. They have double decker buses here, as they do in London and Scotland, and it was fun to go upstairs and get a seated bird's eye view of the people and places that we toured in our short time here. I had to call down because I couldn't figure out the kettle (the plugs and outlets are different there) and the manager was on duty. He not only came up to show me the kettle, but brought us up a tray of brewed coffe and two pastries himself. A lovely man. He was so pleasant (this was at midnight) and chatted happily with us for a few minutes before departing. That really made a great impression with me. I appreciate friendly people and personal service and I hope that he reads this and smiles. You made our night, sir!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkitty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

3km from airport, very reasonable parking fees, great cooked breakfast for 10 Euro, very nice room, very happy with selection, used this hotel to arrive night before flight and turned in rental car, hotel has airport shuttle for flight

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here for my partner's 28th birthday visiting from England and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Service was generally good, especially from Simon in the bar! What a great guy, we felt so welcomed and the Guinness and food was great on the first night we ate there. A true diamond to the Skylon hotel, he should be praised and rewarded for his serve to the customers.

The room is reasonably sized, lots of space. The bathroom looked newly decorated and was nice and clean. The bed was nice and firm with some give, some hotel beds can be too soft. Free unlimited wifi - GREAT! I did however have a few things that knocked back my view of the hotel; night manager/porter didn't answer the '0' call around 11:30pm, as my partner works in the hotel industry himself he thought they were busy and headed to reception within minutes of calling to find them sat doing very little. A little annoying! The room just needed some attention to detail so painting over water marks, fixing the slight gap between the wall and the toilet gap etc. Nothing too serious but something we noticed around the hotel. However what I loved about this hotel was the fact they have no self closing fire door hinges attached to guest rooms, no slamming doors from other guests throughout the night and first thing in the mornings meant we could sleep in and sleep through the entire night (apart from the clanky radiator at 5am going off both nights). AC would have been fab first thing in the morning too, the windows didn't let much fresh air in and didn't fancy a noisy old fan blowing away all night.

Breakfast was good, however the sausages were the smallest thin sausages I've seen hahaha. I read there was Irish sausages mentioned by the GM (Shane? We saw 2 other GM's mentioned in the guest directory) but no option to choose them? Other than that the cooked breakfast was nice. We had no idea there was a buffet selection - great for grabbing toast also. The tea was GREAT, I struggle to get a good cup of tea in any hotel we have stayed at. I drank the whole pot, surprisingly. Service however was a little confused, we had 3/4 people asking if we had ordered breakfasts... Assigning sections may make breakfast a little less repetitive. However as always, all very friendly members of staff :)

The coach service from the airport was spot on too. You couldn't go wrong for it being free to get there and 3euro each to get back to the airport. Door to door service and the driver was definitely up for a laugh. Great start and end to our stay.

The hotel is located across the road from many places to eat and grab a drink. Bus services all heading in to town to get around easy. Reception staff are lovely and knowledgeable RE where to go, where to eat, how to get around etc. Everyone in Dublin were friendly to us, all very nice people and up for a laugh or craic as they all love saying :)
All prices are reasonable, if not more than reasonable. Overall, we WILL stay again! We were sat planning our next visit with friends whilst sat in the lobby! Thank you for a great stay :) hope to be seeing you all again soon for a longer stay simply because of the great staff, great location and pleasant rooms!

Room Tip: Visit the bar on Thursdays for 4euro per pint of Guinness and good food. Get the free shuttle servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jord920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,653 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#27 of 151 in Dublin
2,169 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Skylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Skylon Hotel

Property: Dublin Skylon Hotel
Address: 27 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin D09 V1Y2, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dublin Skylon Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#32 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dublin Skylon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxurious hotel with free Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is located ten minutes from Dublin International Airport and five minutes from Dublin City Centre. Croke Park Stadium is within walking distance. The Skylon Restaurant serves breakfast from 7.00am to 10.30 am. And you can discover the many delicious menu options at The Skylon Bar & Grill, one of the tastiest restaurants near Dublin City Centre. All our menus come with a suggestion of wines from around the world, a selection of craft beers and our extensive cocktail menu.Guests at the Skylon Hotel can expect the very best of Irish hospitality. Check in is after 2pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Dublin Skylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylon Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing