We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel on a short break to Dublin. It's location is just outside the city centre, within walking distance actually so central without central prices. The room was spacious and comfortable. Staff all friendly and helpful. Restaurant and adjoining pub served good quality meals. I ate the best breakfast I've had in a hotel for some time. The atmosphere is great something for everyone. The bar had live bands, whilst in the lobby they provide quieter eating spaces if that's your preference. Fantastic value for money. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    665
    224
    95
    91
See reviews for
412
701
104
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here in January for two nights with friends. Well located on Drumcondra Road with plenty of buses into the city centre and no shortage of shops, carryout and restaurants in the area. Check in was fine although I do not know why guests have to pay for car parking in the hotel grounds. Anyway had a superior room which was really big and beds for three - would I be really awkward to say that the TV was almost too small for the room? We were there on 2 b&b and 1 meal. Bit disappointed with table d'hote menu with three choices in each section. Better menu in the bar and would recommend eating there. Great service especially if Shane is there - really knows the meaning of good customer service and just came over as a nice guy. Breakfast was fine but bit much on the table when tea and full breakfast served when we were still eating cereal. Just getting too grumpy when things were just what we needed for a break in Dublin. Definitely to be recommended if you get a good price.

Room Tip: Try asking for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilingguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The Skylon Hotel in Drumcondra is a hotel that I have stayed in about three times now. It's reasonably well positioned for central Dublin (about a 30 minute walk but there are numerous buses). There are some good restaurants nearby too and an abundance of take aways. The rooms are very comfortable and wifi is free via bitbuzz. Parking is underneath the hotel and costs €5 per night. I went to get something from my car late at night and was impressed that the night security man challenged me as he spotted me on CCTV. One feature in the bedroom that I liked was the number of standard 3 pin 13 amp plugs beside the bed. Most hotels have bedside lamps hardwired to the wall and the standard plugs are across the room over the desk (and seldom enough of them). The beds are comfortable. Breakfast is reasonable in price. Buffet style for cerials and fruit and then waiter service (very fast) for the hot dishes. The bar is roomy and comfortable with live music from Thursday to Sunday. I will most certainly stay again at some stage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have been travelling all over Europe for the last 3 years, for business purposes. All I need from a hotel is a comfortable, cozy room, free WiFi and a nice location (buffet breakfast is also a plus). Skylon Hotel meet all my requirements.

The hotel is nicely located about 15 mins on foot from the Dublin city center and is easily reachable from the airport through a number of buses; there is a bust stop just outside the hotel. The room was big enough and had a comfortable place for working with a laptop, chairs and coffee table, among others. The bed was really comfortable; not too soft, not too hard. The bathroom included all necessary amenities (soap, shower gel and shampoo) and it was clean. The room smelled wonderfully at all times and it felt really cozy.

There was free WiFi in the room using the daily vouchers provided by the receptionist. Connection was steady and speed was not fast but it surely did the work; free wifi is always appreciated! The stuff was always friendly and helpful.

The room was booked through a travel agency and I was informed that the price was reasonable; however, for some reason breakfast could not be included in the booking so I missed that; however, I appreciated and used the facilities for coffee and tea making in the room (instant coffee, tea, cups, water boiler etc. were available for free in the room) which also saved me some time. I also didn't have the opportunity to try the hotel's restaurant, which seemed really promising.

I was really pleased with my 3-day stay at Skylon Hotel and I would surely consider it in a potential trip to Dublin.

Room Tip: My room was facing at the back of the hotel; the view was awful but it was really quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vprot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,355 reviews
300 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 698 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Executive rooms are roomy and seem a bit more modern and comfortable than a couple of years back. Also had a good modern Nespresso style coffee machine in room. Free wifi via code. Staff at reception very friendly at check-in and checkout. Breakfast always seems a bit manic with waistcoat clad waiters. Very good rate of €69 including breakfast. Big bar as part of hotel or a few bars & restaurants across the road. All considered probably now above average.

Room Tip: Ask for an Executive Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Check in can be a bit slow but generally a nice hotel well located on main bus route into Dublin. Good breakfast and rooms are huge with many having beds for 4 people. Good value as well. Free wifi. Love the waiter at breakfast with the shifty walk!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Amazing place everyone is nice. Let me keep my bags there before I was able to check in so I could go out an do some exploring with out having to worry about my bags. I would for sure stay there again if I find my self in Dublin. Close to the city center you could walk it in about 20 minutes. Other wise a taxi did not cost much. Bus stop really close by too for getting to the hotel from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kady E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,549 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,530 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Canal Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
1,691 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Skylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Skylon Hotel

Property: Dublin Skylon Hotel
Address: 27 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin D09 V1Y2, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dublin Skylon Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#32 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dublin Skylon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxurious hotel with free Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is located ten minutes from Dublin International Airport and five minutes from Dublin City Centre. Croke Park Stadium is within walking distance. The Skylon Restaurant serves breakfast from 7.00am to 10.30 am. And you can discover the many delicious menu options at The Skylon Bar & Grill, one of the tastiest restaurants near Dublin City Centre. All our menus come with a suggestion of wines from around the world, a selection of craft beers and our extensive cocktail menu.Guests at the Skylon Hotel can expect the very best of Irish hospitality. Check in is after 2pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dublin Skylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylon Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing