We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four and a half star review.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Killarney, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Four and a half star review.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel would have got a 5 star review was it not for one rude receptionist and a disastrous taxi service. (mentioned later).

The Skylon doesn't look great from the front entrance but once you walk inside, it is fantastic. We arrived very early and just needed somewhere to drop our bags so we could go to a function across town. I think Daniel was the gentleman who greeted us at reception and looked after our bags and parking and he was very professional and apologetic when explaining we couldn't check in.

My other half returned on her own as I was still at the function and her check in was quick and easy with a friendly, professional receptionist and her bags were waiting for her. The room was a nice size, not huge but not cramped with a flat screen TV (a rarity in Irish hotels), a very comfy bed and a powerful shower. Everything I look for in a hotel room. My OH has back problems and said she had never had such a good nights sleep!

The surrounding area is also nice, a few pubs and shops across the road and a little village just a 10 min walk away. The locals in the pub seemed friendly too.

The rude receptionist shall remain nameless but the first taxi we ordered, we were waiting for 20 minutes and when we asked how much longer we were told 15mins more so we started walking and flagged one down. I would recommend flagging one down because they are driving past regularly enough, but we didn't know that at the time. The second taxi did turn up after about 10mins to collect my other half (she didn't want to start walking alone) to bring her to our restaurant where I was waiting but he took her to another restaurant in a different part of town!! A complete disaster but the restaurant were top class (separate review).

We would stay here again and I have already booked another stay for October and now we know to get our own taxi's.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    665
    224
    95
    91
See reviews for
412
701
104
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times over the last two years and must say that I have found every stay most pleasant.
Paul and his staff are the best they are so helpful and friendly.
The rooms are very clean, showers good quality and clean bed linen also the TV's are new and all channels can be obtained.
The food, although not 'haute cuisine' which I would not want anyway is always edible and plenty of it, although not always hot.
Unfortunately there are no spa facilities here but I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: swimming pool and spa rated terrible only because the hotel does not have either. The newly refurbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Me and a group of 20 girls stayed here over st Patricks day just gone and must say the hotel was great. The guy called Paul I think it was really looked after us and was very helpful and kind. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice. Rooms we're clean and spacious. The hotel has a bar and somewhere to eat which is nice and classy. The location was just out of centre but only few euro in a taxi. Would recommend to anyone to stay here wether it be a family, couple or group. Big thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alannahjadex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, especially Celine and Colette on reception.
Very spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee facilities.
Helpful with business services, good restaurant/bar and many buses to the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a hotel on the main N1 road into North Dublin. The car park is off road, the internet works and the rooms are of good quality. The restaurant / Bar has a good selection of food for a reasonable price which is rare for City centre hotels in Ireland. Overall an excellent hotel that gives value for money with easy access to Dublin Port or Airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Excellent hotel with friendly helpful staff. Highly recommend! I stayed on the 10/4/14. It was a stones throw from the Mater Private hospital where my dad was having heart surgery. Booked two rooms here as family would be coming & going over the course of my dads stay in hospital. On check in I was asked the purpose of my visit to which I explained the situation & the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful. She also gave us free vouchers for breakfast as I had not included it in our booking. Rooms were spacious & spotlessly clean. There was a lovely atmosphere in the bar which also served food. We ate here, food was excellent & good value for money. There was a bus stop outside the hotel. The bus route went right by the hospital & this also continued into town. Location was convenient & I would highly recommend this hotel. I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Dublin!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunstruckcanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I am a mature student studying for a degree in Adult Education. Two of the modules took place in the Marino Institute of Education on Griffith Avenue. The two/three day lectures were very hard going so it was important to find a relaxing, warm and comfortable Hotel nearby so we could chill out in nicely decorated rooms and enjoy a good hearty meal with a nice drink. My fellow students and I got all of this in the Skylon Hotel. We were looked after so well by receptionist Frances and all the team there. I would look forward to checking in after a long day of lecturing, get a complimentary newspaper and relax on the comfortable bed with a nice cup of tea. We would all meet up then later and have an excellent meal from their extensive bar food menu. Sometimes we would go across the road to have something to eat and the choice of restaurant/cafes is fantastic. Breakfast was always a joy with lovely fresh juices, fresh fruit salad, cereals and a good hearty Irish. You were definitely fed and watered for the day. I would highly recommend this Hotel for anyone, be it business or pleasure. Well done Skylon. and thank you so much for your excellent customer care..I'll be back!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issybell62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,549 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,530 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Canal Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
1,691 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#27 of 151 in Dublin
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Skylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Skylon Hotel

Property: Dublin Skylon Hotel
Address: 27 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin D09 V1Y2, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dublin Skylon Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#32 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dublin Skylon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxurious hotel with free Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is located ten minutes from Dublin International Airport and five minutes from Dublin City Centre. Croke Park Stadium is within walking distance. The Skylon Restaurant serves breakfast from 7.00am to 10.30 am. And you can discover the many delicious menu options at The Skylon Bar & Grill, one of the tastiest restaurants near Dublin City Centre. All our menus come with a suggestion of wines from around the world, a selection of craft beers and our extensive cocktail menu.Guests at the Skylon Hotel can expect the very best of Irish hospitality. Check in is after 2pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dublin Skylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylon Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing