We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but clean basic rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Ranked #35 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Noisy but clean basic rooms”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good location, just 5 minutes by car from Dublin Port and on the bus route to the city centre. The down fall was the road noise which was continuous through most of the night. The only peace you got was when you shut the window and on a warm night this was not an option. The rooms are in need of AC. The 'very small bath towels' and hand towels where changed every day. You could not fault the comfortable bed or the cleanliness of the room. The biggest disappointment was that a wet shower room suitable for a permanent wheelchair user was not available for my disabled husband as this is permanently booked out to some organisation. They offered us a luxury room that consisted of two king beds in a large room with a very tiny bathroom which was not suitable for a wheelchair user. The door could not be closed if the wheelchair was in the bathroom.They said all the bathrooms were identical. Sorry we had to scrape the door and the toilet to enable the bathroom to be used.
The restaurant needs a new chef. The food was luke warm and lacked flavour. The prawn cocktail I had consisted of dirty lettuce, a few prawns and a scant teaspoon of sauce. Breakfast was certainly much better. The staff were all friendly and obliging. The room was not expensive by Dublin standards.

Room Tip: Not sure that there is a 'good room' when the window is open due to the noise in the front a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired1748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    643
    218
    90
    88
See reviews for
382
683
101
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice clean hotel, good sized room on the 5th floor, however, no lift from 4th up. Not a problem for ourselves. Towels changed daily, safe, kettle and hairdrier all provided.
Ideal location, 20 mins from airport using public bus number 16 or 41, 10 mins to city centre. Ate in restaurant first night, food passable, not brilliant. Staff seemed to be overworked and very busy. Didn't see entertainment and non provided on the Saturday night.
Simple check in bags left at reception on arrival and room ready by evening.
All in all a very pleasant stay, nice friendly and helpful staff, would definitely use the hotel on our next visit.
Word of warning, nothing to do with the hotel but if you think Scandinavia is dear Dublin City Centre is more expensive.

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor if you struggle up to flights of stairs, otherwise only 4 rooms up there and nice an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCount69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from the 10th-14th July 2014 we paid around £280 which was good value compared to other hotels. The hotel is around a 20 minute walk to the city centre which is nice. There is a bus stop directly outside which is great (buses only accept coins). There is also a dominos pizza across the road which is great for any late night snacking!
The food at the hotel was ok, nothing special.
The room was clean and tidy, bathroom quite small, bed very big not the comfiest and the tv was very small in comparison to the room. We had one slight problem on a few occassions we had a strong smell of sewerage in the bedroom coming from the bathroom we rang reception and she flushed the toilet a few times and brought us a nearly empty can of air freshener so wasn't really very helpful. Also one complaint was that we had to ask for extra tea making facilities they were not automatically refilled.
The hotel manager was very friendly and chatty
Overall good hotel :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

An older building. It's Clean & has the basics. It's Close to the airport and has Friendly staff. It Has parking but is limited & costs 5€. Has a TV. I would stay here again if i came back. I didn't eat here so can't tell you what the food was like.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Excellent, quiet hotel, with convenient and inexpensive shuttle to airport- ideal for business travelers......nice restaurant as well, comfortable bed! Would recommend for travelers planning to travel internationally the next day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very pleasant staff
Very clean room
Excellent breakfast choices
Equal with the best that I have ever stayed at
Airport Shuttle Service ICW Paddywaggon, is perfect
Location is perfect for a 20-30 minute stroll into Dublin City Centre

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Errolfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights as a honeymoon couple with the wife's mother.
The hotel is convenient only 10 minutes from the Airport and city center.
Rooms are clean and staff are very friendly, however:
We stayed in Room 105 and for some bizarre reason the hotel owners thought it would be a good idea to shine a 2000 Watt floodlight straight into our window, I asked 3 times if this could be turned off but nothing was done ! ... the curtains block out most of it but light still floods over the top.
It was sweltering hot in the room, as we had to keep the curtains and windows closed (due to the traffic noise) there is no AC in the rooms which is disappointing. so a good nights rest was not had ! They supplied a fan, which was the only fan i had ever encountered that neither blew nor sucked... but the noise was nice as it drowned out the traffic.
My wifes mother was staying in room 224 this was larger but still no AC and with the window open receives a strong smell from the kitchen as the huge noisy kitchen extractor fan is directly below the window.. not very nice.
WIFI was complicated and the staff must get annoyed issuing passwords to everyone it must take up alot of their time.
And why .. why .. why are they still using halogen bulbs ! I counted 10 in our room so thats 500Watts times 50 rooms !!! .. change to LED and save money.
Its a great location.. staff are good.. but sleep, you have to be very lucky and get a room round the back and away from the kitchen extractor.

Room Tip: Dont book room facing the road. Dont book rooms above the kitchen extractor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,444 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#28 of 151 in Dublin
2,164 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Skylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Skylon Hotel

Property: Dublin Skylon Hotel
Address: 27 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin D09 V1Y2, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dublin Skylon Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#32 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dublin Skylon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxurious hotel with free Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is located ten minutes from Dublin International Airport and five minutes from Dublin City Centre. Croke Park Stadium is within walking distance. The Skylon Restaurant serves breakfast from 7.00am to 10.30 am. And you can discover the many delicious menu options at The Skylon Bar & Grill, one of the tastiest restaurants near Dublin City Centre. All our menus come with a suggestion of wines from around the world, a selection of craft beers and our extensive cocktail menu.Guests at the Skylon Hotel can expect the very best of Irish hospitality. Check in is after 2pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dublin Skylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylon Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing