We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal in Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments
Ranked #77 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Overnight stay for 3 women. Staff were friendly and helpful, wi-fi worked great, beds were clean. The location is good, but not great. It is a long walk from here to Temple Bar and taxi costs can quickly make the budget prices not-so-budget. Also, toilet was broken when we arrived, but fixed right away. There is some street noise here; garbage trucks at night, car alarms, etc., but we were high enough above the street to be fine. There is no elevator, so those not wanting to deal with stairs should ask for a lower-floor room. Staff were helpful and stored our luggage for a few hours on day of departure, which was great. Overall, it was a positive experience, in particular with the lovely and helpful staff. I would stay here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Stay on lower floors if you have lots of luggage as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina G, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Shea G,

Thank you for taking the time to review Clifden House. We welcome all feedback and appreciate any comments that can assist us in maintaining and improving a high standard for our guests.

I was delighted to read your lovely comments about our Guesthouse. We have recently renovated and take pride in the new décor. I was surprised to see you found our location lacking as we are a very short walk away from O’Connell Street which is the centre of town.

Unfortunately we do not have an elevator as this is a listed Georgian Period house, we are not allowed to change the structure to accommodate a lift but there is always staff on hand to help with any luggage.

Thank you again for your review and look forward to having you as a repeat guest in the future.

Kind regards,
Claudia Irimescu
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here over a weekend with my boyfriend. Although we had a few criticisms (instead of the double we booked, we were given a rather cramped family quad; the original ceilings were obscured by a low and ugly false ceiling; the shower was a little erratic and; the bathroom was in need of a renovation), overall we had a positive experience. The staff were very friendly and the management is in the process of renovating what has the potential to be a really beautiful guesthouse. The room was squeaky clean, all linen and towels were fresh, toiletries and tea/coffee were in plentiful supply and the areas of the guesthouse that have been renovated are stylish and in keeping with the building's Georgian features. The location, just off O'Connoll Street, is very good. We did not have breakfast. All things considered, we felt we got very good value and had a pleasant spot that is only getting better - keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with original ceilings for a more spacious feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle_Ni_Riain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClifdenGuestHouse, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Michelle_Ni_Riain
Thank you for taking the time to review Clifden House. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to continually review and improve our standards.
I am very sorry to hear that you had a couple of minor issues during your stay with us. Renovating the rooms was a huge task and we did our utmost to ensure it did not interfere our affect our guests stay. In some cases however, it meant allocating different rooms, which appears to be the case here. I am delighted to hear that you found the house clean and pleasant – this is highly important to us and our staff work very hard in maintaining our standards.
We hope to welcome you back to Clifden House in the future.
Kind regards,
Claudia Irimescu
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great value, friendly helpfull staff, we will stay again only 6/7miutes from city nice big rooms would recomend to everyone i know 3 beds in room i was in so pleny of room for the kids too will have them with me nxt time very quiet

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seamusd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClifdenGuestHouse, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Seamusd7
Thank you for your lovely review of Clifden House. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves in providing quality accommodation and friendly service, so it is great that you recognised those things during your stay with us!
Kind regards,
Claudia Irimescu
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at cliftden guesthouse. Amazing staff couldnt be more helpful and made our stay even better. Special mention to Flav and lennard. We love you. Will certainly be back again. We came from newcastle for a girly weekend as we have cery stressfull jobs. 3 single ladies who wanted to have some fun. Wasnt as close to the centre as we would have liked but only a 10/15 minute walk. Comfy beds .. We are sorry tan marks ( geordies what can we say )

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClifdenGuestHouse, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Lou120,
I am very happy to hear that you girls enjoyed your time in Dublin and had a great stay in Clifden House. Our staff are indeed very helpful and do they’re very best to ensure guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. I will pass on your kind words to both Flav and Lennard.
And you’re forgiven for the tan marks, the laundry company will take care of that!
Please don’t hesitate in contacting us if you plan in visiting Dublin again.
Kind regards,
Claudia Irimescu
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Travelled to Dublin with 12 ladies for a hen doo and stayed at Clifden Guesthouse. We booked back in Jan and all the reviews looked terrible so us of us who knew where we were staying were a little nervous, however we were very suprised! Rooms have recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Beds very comfy and staff were so helpful, always someone on reception happy to order taxi.Big thanks to the reception staff who were very sociable and friendly! Bathrooms a little small and basic but we were told the bathrooms are a work in progress so dont let that put you off. I cant comment on price as i didnt book it but we paid £150 each for a weekend and that included our flights. Great place and i would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Andrea R,
Thank you very much for your kind comments and feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were happy with our facilities at Clifden Guesthouse. I have passed on your kind words to all the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Claudia Irimescu (General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel as a group of friends travelling from England for a weekend in Dublin. The receptionist told us the hotel had been under new owners only for a month, so it has recently been refurbished throughout, new carpets, decorations, beds etc. The rooms were really clean, clean towels given, there was 24hr reception and all of the reception staff were lovely, helping us out when we needed things like an iron, or with taxis, places to go, recommendations.
Our rooms were huge! With huge high ceilings, great big real fire places in the ground floor rooms, and flat screen TVs. Free wifi too.

The only small issue is the size of the bathroom, literally tiny (imagine the size of a downstairs wc in a home, then add a shower cubicle in there too) But reception did tell us the bathrooms are next to be done as part of the refurb so I'm sure this will change soon.

So all round, lovely clean hotel, friendly staff, good location and worth the money we paid which worked out about £25pppn

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank DanTee_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Dan Tee_27
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Clifden Guesthouse. I’m pleased to hear that you found our reception team to be helpful and accommodating – customer satisfaction is something we strive for at Clifden Guesthouse, so we really do appreciated your feedback on this. Once again, I appreciate your review and we hope to welcome you back to Clifden Guesthouse in the future.

Best wishes

Claudia Irimescu
General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The customer service indeed exceeded my expectations over the amazing room, the attention to detail plus the cheapest price on booking.com Just great. the room were huge, warm and quiet, the quality of everything was good I am planning another visit and definitely booking in this place again. I have no clue how it got its bad revues.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denitsa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Denitsa
Thank you for your kind review. Your feedback is very important to us as it ensures we maintain consistency in our high standards and services here at Clifden Guesthouse. It’s great to hear that we exceeded your expectations with our facilities, price and attention to detail – this is what we aim to do! We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Claudia Irimescu (General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Amberley House
Amberley House
#38 of 150 in Dublin
331 reviews
0 mi away
Parkway Guesthouse
Parkway Guesthouse
#15 of 150 in Dublin
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Studios and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Avoca Lodge
Avoca Lodge
#101 of 150 in Dublin
44 reviews
3.2 mi away
Broc House Suites
Broc House Suites
#45 of 150 in Dublin
21 reviews
1 mi away
Kildare Street Hotel
Kildare Street Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments

Address: 32 Gardiner Place | Dublin, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £48 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifden House is a 200 year old 'listed' non smoking Georgian home with 17 ensuite rooms right in the heart of Dublin city centre, with secure car parking for guests even after check-out.Our Guesthouse is within a quick 5 minute walk to O'Connell street which offers convenient transport around the entire city, making it a great place to stay in Dublin.Experience the warm homely feel at Clifden House with it's kind & friendly staff. We cater for single, double, twin, triple and family stays.All 15 rooms are ensuite, with shower in lower rooms and full bath/shower in rooms on 4th floor, no elevator, with direct dial telephone, TV and tea/coffee making facilities.WiFi internet access available.Convenient easy access to ferryport, DART, LUAS, Busarus (bus station) and train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing