We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little noisy, but a great hostel with great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Ranked #4 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 695 helpful votes
“A little noisy, but a great hostel with great location.”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Was travelling with a friend through Ireland and stayed at Barancle's at both the beggining and end of our trip.

I can say that I would not have stayed here if I were on a romantic trip with my wife, but for a couple of buddies who wanted to be close to the tourist attractions and the pubs, we could not have asked for better.

This place is clean, safe and efficient. The common room with books, maps and computers was very useful and they give you 15 minutes of free computer time per day.
The rooms and bathrooms are quite small and the area noisy at night, but for our use it was great.

The only thing that was bothersome, was that we had a skylight in our room that did not have a blind on it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stinz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnaclesHostel, Business Development Executive at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear Stinz3,

Thank you for taking the time to review Barnacles Hostel, Temple Bar. We delighted you chose to come back again and stay with us at the end of your trip also.
Located in the heart of Temple Bar, our hostel is the middle of all the action. It is for this reason, many of our customers chose to stay with us – everything is on our doorstep. Unfortunately, some noise can travel through to the hostel from people enjoying Temple Bar. We provide free ear plugs to any guests if required. We have dorms available to the rear of the property available for any guests sensitive to noise.

Thank you for letting us know about the missing blind in your room. We will check the rooms to find the one with the missing blind and have it replaced.

We hope you come to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Susan Connell
Business Development Executive
Barnacles Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    420
    144
    46
    33
See reviews for
45
168
266
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chartres, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2011

This hostel is in a great location. A short walk to everything. Rather loud at night because it is right in the bar/party area of Dublin however. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hostel was clean but offered the bare minimum. Locks and sheets were not included. There was only one very small bathroom per room. And the breakfast was the worst I've ever had in a hostel - sliced white bread.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoganan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I received a warm welcome from the friendly (and may I add quite cute) front desk guy. I had a ton of questions for him and he patiently answered them all. The rooms were small and the bathrooms were like an airplane but still very comfortable. I was in a 4 bed room and it was really hard to put your backpack/suitcase anywhere. I left everything out for hours unattended (laptop and digital slr camera) and came back to all my belongings. Seemed pretty safe to me. I could see why people would think it was loud but I'm used to noise at home so it didn't bother me. Unfortunately I woke up the next morning with a terrible flu and couldn't imagine being sick in such a small space so I decided to leave and stay with family for my 2nd night.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loopgrl5
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

The staff was excellent and the location is terrific. Breakfast is included but it is literally just toast and orange juice. WiFi is free and they give you 15 minutes free internet on their computers. The common room is great and is a good place to meet other people at the hostel. Unfortunately they allow school groups to stay there so extremely loud drunk teenagers kept me up all night running up and down the hallway, screaming and pounding on doors. I say this hostel is best for high school and college aged students. Also, there is just a medium sized basket under the bunk beds to lock up your belongings so you have to trust the others in your dorm with most of your belongings.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopgrl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Barnacles for 2 days. The staff is so helpfull and cheerful. The location is good. We sleep well even though our neighbour woke us up 1 day. We had a double room and it was very small but very clean. It's was hard to move around when you are two in the room. The bathroom is clean but we didn't have space to put your stuff on. No phone or tv in the room. There is a large common room on the second floor with access to computers (1 euro for 30 minutes) and the hostel give you 15 minutes free. They charge you 8 euro to do your lundry. The kitchen is big but didn't have a lot of choice. Only juice and toast. But try the shannon café close to the hostel. You got a good latte and a scone for 3.50 euro. worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica025_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Great value and an unbeatable location. The staff was not 100% competent: (something that should be 'in the computer' was missing on several occasions). It is kind of a party hostel which was fine with me but other than that I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

My wife and I stayed for two nights. We booked online because of it's location. The location there is truly awesome. Close to everything! We're only 24 & 25 respectively, so we understand the partying aspect of Dublin, but this hostel is beyond noisy. People screaming, and breaking beer bottles/glasses until 2:30am both nights is enough to keep anyone up, even with the window closed. WiFi only worked in common room, or down one hallway. Bring earplugs.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerbert123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
2,260 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 151 in Dublin
889 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,508 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar

Property: Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Address: Temple Bar House | 19 Temple Lane South, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, the perfect location to explore Dublin City. Barnacles hostels in Dublin and Galway are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar Hotel Dublin
Barnacles Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing