We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hostel. Perfect location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Ranked #5 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Blaxland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hostel. Perfect location.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great hostel! The location is perfect, so central to everything. We stayed in a private room with bathroom. Whilst the room & bathroom were very very tiny it was fine for a short stay. There is also no elevator, so carrying heavy luggage up the stairs (especially when on the top floor) is not much fun. But everything was very clean and the bed was wonderfully comfy! The staff were extremely lovely and helped answer any of our queries. The hostel also has the best laundry service we've come across! It was something like 7 Euro to wash and dry a large bag of clothes!! And better still they do it overnight when you sleep.
A great place to stay for a short trip :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bwad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    414
    141
    46
    32
See reviews for
43
165
261
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just got back from a weekend in Dublin, My friend and I booked through Booking.com about 6 months ago together with booking our flights, We booked a twin room with a private bathroom, Unfortunately when we arrived we were informed that our booking wasnt there and it had defaulted to the sunday night only all thanks to Booking.com!! We were extremely cross/upset as you can imagine and Shane on the desk did get an ear full from my friend, But he ran around trying to sort us out somewhere to stay immediatly.
The Manager wouldnt come and speak to us and left it down to Shane to take the crap :/ The poor lad even gave us some euros to get a taxi to the other hostel we were put in.
We did get a discount on both nights and also made sure Shane got his money back that he gave us out of his own pocket as we were only informed when we returned that it was his own money.
Barnacles is spotlessley clean and bang in the middle of Temple bar, exactly where we wanted to be it was such a shame we had to go back and forth as would of really enjoyed stayig there for 2 nights!
Just want to thank Shane and the other staff who dealt with us, It wasnt an ideal situation but it was dealt with brilliantly, Booking.com will be getting a complaint for the mess up for sure!! x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barlow82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I spent four nights at the Barnacles Temple Bar and everything was great!

My room was clean and the insuite bathroom aswell! The bed and pillow were confortable, which is something we can't say about every hostel.

The staff was kind and helped me with everything I needed.

The only thing that stopped me from giving 5 stars to my review was the fact that my room would get very hot during the night!

Thanks for the great time in Dublin!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The best location you could possibly ask for. Close to all the bars and restaurants. The staff are very nice. We had a very small room but we had our own shower and the toilet which was really good. The mattresses were one of the most comfortable I've seen in the hostels. Their common room is comfy, there's computers you can use and wifi of course.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OPiksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have stayed in many hostels, but this one really blew me away. The location could not be any better it's in the center of everything you want to see and be apart of. All of the staff was beyond informative any question I asked they either knew the answer or figured it out extremely quick, Shane especially! I advised a few people who were traveling to Ireland to stay there and I will continue to do so with anyone else I encounter!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin18463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Excellent place to stay. Great location. The best staff- seriously so friendly and accommodating. The rooms were comfortable and the whole atmosphere felt safe and welcoming. Would recommend to anyone traveling to Dublin alone or in a group.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I really enjoyed this hostel. Very easy to find, great location. Was a tiny bit noisy but that's expected when your in the middle of main tourist location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Recommend to solo and couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,224 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#47 of 151 in Dublin
868 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,493 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar

Property: Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Address: Temple Bar House | 19 Temple Lane South, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, the perfect location to explore Dublin City. Barnacles hostels in Dublin and Galway are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar Hotel Dublin
Barnacles Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing