We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Ranked #4 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Noisy!”
Reviewed 5 January 2010

This hostel is awesome-great location, great rooms, great staff. Seriously one step outside and you're in the heart of Dublin. The only downside, a SIGNIFICANT downside is the amount of noise. I was in a double room, and could hear everything from the street all night. This included party-goers out until 4 am, then the sound of the pubs switching out kegs at 6 am. There are seriously people walking, partying, and yelling at all hours of the night. Didn't get sleep either of the nights I was there and it was a Sunday and Monday. Overall though, the cost/location outweighed it. Next time, I'd try to nap during the day a bit more when it's quiet.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coconutkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    408
    139
    45
    30
See reviews for
40
164
257
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2009

The best hostel in Temple bar. Party all night, good breakfast and stuff....just 5 points. Go there on your own and have the time of your life, just like me and my friends did...

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
Thank NiklasS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

If you're going to Dublin, under 33 or so, and looking for a conveniently located, clean, safe place to stay, I would suggest Barnacles over anything else. We stayed at a few hostels during our Europe trek and this was by far the nicest. It was clean, safe (multiple security measures were in place), and the front desk was extremely helpful: we got maps, plug converters and exchanged money with them. It was exactly what we were looking for. Plus, if you want to really enjoy Dublin, you can't beat staying right in the heart of Temple Bar.
You never need a taxi at night, it's clean and safe and vibrant.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

This place is off the hook, smack in the middle of Temple Bar and a really young, rowdy crowd making up most of the clientele. Of course this is to be expected in the bohemian area of the city, so if that's what you are looking for, this is your place! We stayed in the twin ensuite. The room was small but so were our bags, so no biggie there. If you have a lot of stuff an want a private room with room, stay somewhere else. Please not: the shower was unacceptable. Freezing cold, prickly, only turned off when you use two hands and all your strength, and the shower door only became more confusing in the chaos.. flood!! You get 15 minutes free internet and after that it is 1euro for 15 minutes, which is a rip off considering all the internet cafes in Dublin. Kitchen is ho-hum, and breakfast is diy toast. Only stay here if you came to Dublun to party and don't mind being uncomfortable for a couple of days- it serves the purpose. Stay elsewhere if you want to truly enjoy Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlaaBlaaBlaaVideos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2009

this was my first trip as a solo traveler and I never liked the idea of an hostel, but believe me! it was my best trip ever!
the staff were great! just like you and me, just regular people who travled the world and stayed in hostels.
The rooms aren't that big (I stayed in a 6 bedsroom) but it was big enough. And it was clean! every single day I was there (i've been there for 6 days) they cleaned everything, even the stairs! I've been to great hotels but this was something new.
I've met some awesome people there who are my friends right now, and they are all over the world. If you want to meet great people from all over the world and be with people just like you and me, just go there, you will have a blast!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinV1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

As I had a double room im not sure what the dorms were like but I would warn people that private rooms are very very small but contain everything you need. Free wifi was great but could only be accessed from the common room. The location cant be beat and even though it is just off a main street the rooms are easily soundproofed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2009

I am travelling through Europe by myself and had a blast in Dublin. The staff at the Barnacles hostel were amazing and helped heaps with deciding what to do, where to drink etc - they even came for a pint once or twice. Would definitely recommend this place to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,199 reviews
The Morgan
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,739 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 151 in Dublin
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,464 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar

Property: Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Address: Temple Bar House | 19 Temple Lane South, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, the perfect location to explore Dublin City. Barnacles hostels in Dublin and Galway are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar Hotel Dublin
Barnacles Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing