We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable!”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Good service is to be expected in 5 star hotels, but the Merrion manages to combine great service with a genuine warmth. The best hotel to stay in when visiting Dublin.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tommymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,003 - 3,009 of 3,569 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

Comfortable and stylish and the peat fire in the drawing room was so inviting and cosy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Unbelievably relaxing for a city hotel.We throughly enjoyed our stay and as ever left with our batteries recharged. Attentive staff, beautiful room, we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David645914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I'm smitten. This hotel exceded all my expectations: cuisine, staff, ambiance, local character, art collection, gardens. It is of the same quality as the Dorchester London or Carlyle NYC. I have good things to say about every aspect of the hotel and imagine that anyone would feel welcomed and enjoy a stay here.

Of the world's top luxury hotels, this one must offer the best value. The bottled water, wifi, and excellent full irish breakfast were all included in my rate--check out was a shock not because the bill was so much higher than expected, but because there were NO unexpected fees or charges. My experience was simliar or superior to hotel stays that would cost 4-6 times as much in another city. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The old rooms are especially nice/weekend deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

This is undoubtedly one of the best hotels in the world. You are greeted by the friendliest doormen who know absolutely everything about Dublin. Nothing is too much trouble, a trait shared by the other staff. Because it located centrally , you can get around the City very easily. The hotel itself is stunningly elegant with the most beautiful artwork everywhere. The rooms are good, but we managed to get an upgrade and that was extremely special. We moved into our suite and didn't want to ever leave. There is a great choice of restaurants in the hotel and the bar in the basement is great fun. And if you are into celebrity spotting, this hotel has them in bulk. The night we were there, we spotted Louis Walsh having dinner and a friend of ours on another occasion was in the bar beside Bruce Springstein. I cannot recommend this hotel too highly.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irishwelcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Stayed here for six nights over the Easter break, with my husband and two boys, ages 11 and 13. The boys are at an age where we all enjoy our trip best if we can get connecting rooms - we all need a little privacy but they are still too young to be by themselves in a strange city. Finding such rooms is surprisingly difficult so I started shopping around early, but the first few hotels we tried in Dublin, either refused to guarantee the rooms or did not even bother to respond to my emails. I'd initially thought the Merrion would be too expensive, but emailed them on a whim. Their response was immediate and courteous, and they were able to give us a wonderful deal for the two rooms including breakfast that worked out to be quite reasonable. Since we were traveling overnight from the US and would be arriving at 6am, we arranged to hold the room from the night before so we could check in as soon as we arrived - some hotels refuse to let you do this,even if you are paying, but the Merrion had no problem with it at all and was very accommodating.
From the street, the hotel is just another row of Georgian townhouses, but inside it is quite beautiful. Our rooms were in the new garden wing, overlooking the lovely gardens - the kids got quite a kick checking to see if the hotel duck was in the garden pool every morning. The rooms were very nice, the beds very comfortable and the bathrooms had both a shower and a bathtub (ladies, beware, the water in Dublin is very soft so chose shampoo accordingly). There was a decent selection of TV channels, both Irish and from the UK. Room service will send up a mini kettle and a selection of teas if you call and bottles of spring water are replenished every day.
Breakfast is served in the Cellar restaurant - we had a choice of the buffet, which had a good selection, or of the Irish breakfast which was beautifully presented. You can also order from the menu at an extra charge. If you are feeling lazy, you can order breakfast to be delivered to your room for a minimal charge.
We ate dinner at the Cellar restaurant once - the food was wonderful featuring a lot of local Irish produce, though service was a little slow. Warning - when guide books say call all restaurants for reservations, they mean it, even for pizzerias. And you should be aware that many restaurants in Dublin are closed on Sunday night - call before you go, we learned the hard way.
The Merrion also has a swimming pool and fitness center in the basement of the garden wing, which guests may use free of charge. The pool is quite lovely and it was very pleasant to be able to be able to take a dip after a long day of sightseeing. Families with small kids should be aware that there is no shallow end - it is all 5ft deep.
The hotel location is very convenient. It is about halfway between Merrion Square park and St. Stephen's Green, and two major museums are just down the block. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants within a few minutes walk, and although close to Grafton Street and the main shopping areas, it is well away from all the commercial hustle and bustle. If you want to get out of the city, it's about a ten minute walk to a major train station.
I would definitely consider staying there again - just wish we had had the time to sample their afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank W0mble63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Stayed here for two night to celebrate my fiancé's 30th Birthday and it's a great place for a special occasion. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a great location. I'd recommend getting a room with a garden view if you're not staying in the old part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaithiDathuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,706 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,299 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 152 in Dublin
4,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#7 of 152 in Dublin
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £215 - £601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing