We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel but overpriced for what you get” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“OK hotel but overpriced for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

The Merrion is a nice hotel but for 260 Euro for a room per night, which does not include breakfast, it simply does not live up to the expectations derived from staying at of other 5* hotels at this price. Breakfast was about 30 Euro extra. The room was just OK (nothing special). The cellar bar was cosy but the food at this bar was poor. I had a simple dish of fish and chips. As a lone business traveller, I do not like sitting in the more upmarket restaurants in hotels on my own so I usually favour a good bar meal. The fish's batter was thick and greasy. The chips were lifeless. This is such a great dish when done well with good fresh fish and thin crisp batter. I have had much better at small pubs and expected more at a 5* hotel.

Staff were generally helpful but after sitting in the garden for 30 minutes waiting for a waitress to come over and see if I would like a coffee I gave up and left.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank drellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,524
    363
    96
    32
    19
See reviews for
544
1,533
92
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

It's hard to believe a hotel in Dublin could top the Merrion. Its unassuming entry is a gateway to the perfect travel experience. The staff is exceptionally courteous and helpful whether you are asking for additional pillows or reservations at one of the nearby restaurants. Visitors to Dublin can worry about spending their Euros outside the hotel as the gratis WiFi access, bottled water in the rooms, and daily newspaper eliminate the oft-time small charges which have a habit of adding to a hotel bill.

At the end of a day's jaunt in the city, the Merrion's room is a fantastic respite and place to reenergize. The beds are tremendously comfortable and the easy chairs in the rooms are perfect for reading the vacation novel or the guidebook for the following day's adventures. The entire room is well-appointed and well-thought.

Although there seems to be a great deal of business accomplished in the sitting areas and bars (it is across the street from the Irish Parliament), the tourist in Dublin is perfectly situated for striking out into the city. There is a seemingly endless supply of great restaurants within blocks of the hotel entrance and the great shopping of Grafton Street is within five minutes.

Likewise, the main tourist spots in southern Dublin are well-within walking distance. The National Museum is essentially outside the Merrion's doorway and Trinity College, Dublin Castle, Temple Bar, and O'Connell Street, among others, are easily visited on foot.

Staying in shape at the Merrion is easy, as well. The pool, fitness center, and steam bath are all adequate to maintain a visitor's level of fitness. Runners will find the Merrion an excellent starting point and the central location a perfect spot to branch out in all directions of the city.

Our only less-than-perfect experience is what makes us "The American Mark." One order of the multiple course sandwiches and pastries at the Merrion's High Tea is more than adequate for a group of three. My wife, daughter, and I would have been perfectly happy with one portion, rather than the three we mistakenly ordered. So would my wallet. Of course, it did make for lots of extra cake.

In short, the Merrion is a perfect headquarters for a family stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheAmericanMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Our fourth stay here. Was reluctant to criticise but after reading a previous review that mentioned the same problem I am concerned that the hotel are not listening.
Noisy, noisy, noisy. Loud whistling noise when water had run for a few minutes. Sounds like air in whole plumbing system. We could hear a loud whistling noise every time people beside or above us used their plumbing too. Could not even drown out the noise with the gentle hum of air con as this sounded like a freight train was approaching. Noisy service lift on the other side. Laughter and chat of staff started at 6.

On a positive note the concierge (esp Daniel) were faultlessly professional and really friendly.

Get the plumbing fixed and I will come back. And listen to guests when they point out faults because if you had then this problem would have been rectified earlier.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sue2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charleston, sc
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

An exceptional hotel, quiet, low key, wonderful service. It has pleasant friendliness of a small Inn. Beautiful garden, lovely art on almost every wall. Definitely a place to go back to.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cirencester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here two nights before going on to a family wedding. We were given one of the rooms looking onto the Govt buidlings, which apparently are most in demand, but the traffic noise was too much for me so we were glad to have a much quiter - and nicer I thought -- room facing the garden but still in the old house for the second night. The breakfast is copious, but free range/unprocessed/organic food doesn't seem to have reached much of Dublin and this hotel wasn't an exception. Same problem with a bar meal. Excellent front of house staff though.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank smudgecirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Got the chance to stay here for a conference (even though I live in Dublin!) - comfortably the best hotel in the city centre in my opinion. Excellent friendly and warm service, really comfortable lounges and bars; food is to DIE for; leisure area is small-ish but maintained to the highest standard; location opposite government buildings, beside merrion square and the good bars of baggot street cannot be bettered.

If you have just one night in Dublin, and are willing to spend money on one of the bigger chains (Westin, Hilton, Radisson etc.) spend it here instead - this place is the best!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

This is a very nice hotel and you will pay for it. The service was extraordinary, the staff was so nice and helpful. The room was fantastic. The grounds were beautiful. You may also run into some politicos and celebs. But it comes with a price, this is 5 star. It is in Merrion square so a bit out of the way from the tourist areas, but something tells me he clientele here are not tourists.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank off_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,688 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,265 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing