We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Merrion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$354
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$232
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$291
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$334
US$317
Westbury Hotel
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Castle Hotel(Dublin)
US$203
US$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Canal Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$359
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Albany House(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$203
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
US$456
US$343
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$258
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$249
US$209
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,633)
Filter reviews
3,633 results
Traveller rating
3,050
416
107
38
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,050
416
107
38
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscellar restaurantgarden wingart collectionthe main houseart teapatrick guilbaudhighly recommend the merriongovernment buildingsdrawing roompublic roomsbeautiful hotelnational galleryturn down servicefive star hotelgrafton streettrinity collegemeriton
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,043 - 3,048 of 3,633 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I travel a lot for business. This was the best room service I have ever had. We decided to have dinner in our room because the room was so nice. I have never before experience the hotel staff being so attentive to ensuring that the food was fresh and hot. They even rang to say that the chef was concerned that the soufflé we ordered would survive the trip to our room. It was superb. The food was great too! Well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willowmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Great location,excellent service,gorgeus food. All in all ,the best stay in any hotel around Dublin.Recommended

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corrs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The Merrion is a nice hotel but for 260 Euro for a room per night, which does not include breakfast, it simply does not live up to the expectations derived from staying at of other 5* hotels at this price. Breakfast was about 30 Euro extra. The room was just OK (nothing special). The cellar bar was cosy but the food at this bar was poor. I had a simple dish of fish and chips. As a lone business traveller, I do not like sitting in the more upmarket restaurants in hotels on my own so I usually favour a good bar meal. The fish's batter was thick and greasy. The chips were lifeless. This is such a great dish when done well with good fresh fish and thin crisp batter. I have had much better at small pubs and expected more at a 5* hotel.

Staff were generally helpful but after sitting in the garden for 30 minutes waiting for a waitress to come over and see if I would like a coffee I gave up and left.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank drellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

It's hard to believe a hotel in Dublin could top the Merrion. Its unassuming entry is a gateway to the perfect travel experience. The staff is exceptionally courteous and helpful whether you are asking for additional pillows or reservations at one of the nearby restaurants. Visitors to Dublin can worry about spending their Euros outside the hotel as the gratis WiFi access, bottled water in the rooms, and daily newspaper eliminate the oft-time small charges which have a habit of adding to a hotel bill.

At the end of a day's jaunt in the city, the Merrion's room is a fantastic respite and place to reenergize. The beds are tremendously comfortable and the easy chairs in the rooms are perfect for reading the vacation novel or the guidebook for the following day's adventures. The entire room is well-appointed and well-thought.

Although there seems to be a great deal of business accomplished in the sitting areas and bars (it is across the street from the Irish Parliament), the tourist in Dublin is perfectly situated for striking out into the city. There is a seemingly endless supply of great restaurants within blocks of the hotel entrance and the great shopping of Grafton Street is within five minutes.

Likewise, the main tourist spots in southern Dublin are well-within walking distance. The National Museum is essentially outside the Merrion's doorway and Trinity College, Dublin Castle, Temple Bar, and O'Connell Street, among others, are easily visited on foot.

Staying in shape at the Merrion is easy, as well. The pool, fitness center, and steam bath are all adequate to maintain a visitor's level of fitness. Runners will find the Merrion an excellent starting point and the central location a perfect spot to branch out in all directions of the city.

Our only less-than-perfect experience is what makes us "The American Mark." One order of the multiple course sandwiches and pastries at the Merrion's High Tea is more than adequate for a group of three. My wife, daughter, and I would have been perfectly happy with one portion, rather than the three we mistakenly ordered. So would my wallet. Of course, it did make for lots of extra cake.

In short, the Merrion is a perfect headquarters for a family stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheAmericanMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Our fourth stay here. Was reluctant to criticise but after reading a previous review that mentioned the same problem I am concerned that the hotel are not listening.
Noisy, noisy, noisy. Loud whistling noise when water had run for a few minutes. Sounds like air in whole plumbing system. We could hear a loud whistling noise every time people beside or above us used their plumbing too. Could not even drown out the noise with the gentle hum of air con as this sounded like a freight train was approaching. Noisy service lift on the other side. Laughter and chat of staff started at 6.

On a positive note the concierge (esp Daniel) were faultlessly professional and really friendly.

Get the plumbing fixed and I will come back. And listen to guests when they point out faults because if you had then this problem would have been rectified earlier.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sue2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews