We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated Elegance”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Nellysford, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Understated Elegance”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We have stayed at the Merrion three or four times in the past few years. We have returned to wonderful welcomes, even by our names! We expect to return shortly and have always asked for the 3 for 2 deal for six nights for a room on the garden side on the first floor with a King size bed. We have been there for Easter as well as Christmas . Christmas shopping is only a stones throw away. The help is very attentive but not intrusive. We tend not to eat breakfast there but do go to the Cellar Bar as well as the restaurant. It is truly a # 1 place to
stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank betty-the-cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,729
    393
    104
    36
    22
See reviews for
600
1,652
103
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Beautiful hotel in a great location. We had lunch and breakfast there and the food was excellent.Our room was comfortable, and the bed wow! best nights sleep ever!

However the Merrion's greatest asset is it's staff, polite, proffessional and friendly. Cant wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the garden wing are quiet , have a little Juilet balcony and a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eleanorkent24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Great hotel in a very good location. Fast check-in. The bedrooms are very comfortable, large bed and very quiet for a good night's sleep. Room has all the amenities you could ask for including complimentary water, bathrobe and slippers. The bathroom is very clean with both bath and shower facilities. There is a fantastic restaurant for an evening meal and the breakfast choices are varied. The cooked breakfast is fantastic. The Cellar bar has a very good wine list in very relaxing and warm surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raven108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed at this great hotel to start our trip to Ireland. What a great choice. It's a great location just a few short block to Grafton Street where most of the action is. The hotel is elegant. The lobby/drawing room is filled with comfortable couches and chairs. The fireplace is always burning creating a nice smell/atmosphere throughout the area. High tea is served in this area. The staff is VERY helpful and accommodates all your wishes. We stayed in room 101. This room was very large with desk and two armchairs. All amenities are first class. The towels, bathrobes and slippers create a nice touch. The turn down service is also nice at night. I will definitely stay here again when visiting Dublin. The have parking facilities for your car. .

Room Tip: Room 101 is pretty nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southjerseywalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our stay. One of the nicest hotels I have ever experienced. The staff did not miss a beat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Fabulous hotel. I was brought here as a surprise for my 30th birthday. Wonderful place to stay, huge room and bathroom with a lovely deep bath. We ate in the cellar restaurant which was delicious. The staff are excellent and attend to your every need. Excellent facilities with a fast wifi connection. All in all a 5 star experience

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wlphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We spent last Saturday night in The Merrion and have to say it was just what we needed. We live in Dublin,so when my sister said she would take our three children (oldest is 5) for the weekend we decided not to spend the time travelling and just to enjoy our own city. Rather than spend two nights in an average hotel we decided to splash out and spend one night in luxury so where better than The Merrion. I have eaten there before and had drinks in the bar so was familiar with aspects of it.
We were allowed leave our car there early so got there by 11am and left our car and bag. We then wandered down to Grafton St and browsed the shops,had lunch,went for a drink(Can't remember the last time I had a glass of wine in the afternoon so that in itself was a treat!). We gort back to the hotel late afternoon and checked into our room. We had booked the champagne one night getaway so there was a bottle of champagne in our room . Lovely big bathroom and big comfy bed. We ate out that night in a restaurant around the corner on Merrion Row called Il Segretto which I recommend. It was really busy so thats always a good sign.
We were tired then so went back to hotel for a nightcap before having a great nights sleep with no children to worry about.
Next morning the paper was hanging on our door so we read that before heading down to breakfast. Had a final wander around town and then back to collect car and go get kids-back to reality.
There are of course cheaper hotels but really recommend it for a treat,especially with such a good location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ceannain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,210 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,936 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,960 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing