We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Merrion Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Alex(Dublin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,636)
Filter reviews
3,636 results
Traveller rating
3,053
416
107
38
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,053
416
107
38
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscellar restaurantgarden wingart collectionthe main houseart teapatrick guilbaudhighly recommend the merriongovernment buildingsdrawing roompublic roomsbeautiful hotelnational galleryturn down servicefive star hotelgrafton streettrinity collegemeriton
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,784 - 2,789 of 3,636 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We arrived early at 2pm for a one night stay. As soon as we stopped the car help was immediately on hand. We handed over the keys, our luggage was taken. we were guided through reception and taken to our room by a very informative receptionist who pointed out various features of the hotel. We were made feel so so welcome and felt no request would be any problem for them.
Our room was everything one would wish for... huge bed, bottles of water....fruit bowl etc. We were overlooking the beautiful gardens. This was our first time staying here but can honestly say it has been one of our favorite places to stay at any time. Apart from the convenience to the best restaurants shopping etc the hotel is wonderful for relaxing with the cosy timber... fires glowing in the drawing rooms even in July...all adding to the genuine warmth of the place. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful making one feel you are there only guest. Will be back ....soon I hope!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marymccaberogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear marymccaberogan,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We has a very enjoyable night in The Merrion, when we stayed recently, attending the Bruce Springsteen show in Dublin. We had two rooms and they were both finished to a very high standard, and so so comfortable.

Due to the timing of the concert, we could only dine in the cellar bar, where the food was excellent, and the service top notch. We have just returned from holidays this week, where we stayed in some good hotels in London and the Caribbean, but none as good as The Merrion, which caters for your every need. Our only regret, was that we did not have more time to spend in the hotel, but hey, there is always the next time.

In summary, there is only one word to describe this hotel - Classy (with a capital C).

Room Tip: All rooms are high quality
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiley_Irish_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Wiley_Irish_Guy,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at The Merrion.

I have shared your wonderful comments with all the team here who join me in saying a “big thank you” also. I am delighted that The Merrion was your favourite hotel of your holidays and I hope we have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I did not stay at the Merrion, I had coffee with two friends who work nearby - the coffee and home made biccies were really out of this world served by a waitor with good eye contact and humour. real wood fires and pure elegence

What suprises me most was the changes - the last time I was in the building, it housed the Land Commission, it was full of dust, creaky lino and ledgers with wizened gnomelike clerks who trundled around in shiny seated terralyne trousers and check sports jackets spending their time terrorising small farmers up and down the land. The writer Hugh Leonard started off his career as a boy clerk in the Land Commission.

The change is amazing, the place has the leathery feel of a good London Club. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Did not actually stay so cannot comment on the rooms, but the views out at night of the nearby Government Buildings, Merrion Square, National Gallary musat be a sight to see.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HughSheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Very tastefull and modern in a Georgian. Its discrete, its relaxed & staff are top notch, not overbearing/false and professionally relaxed.
Nice touch in 'remembering' to welcome one back + recognizing faces so as to let us through Bruce Springsteen paparazzzi.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loo99car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Loo99car,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We recently spent a few nights at the Merrion Hotel, a beautifully example of restored Georgian elegance at the heart of Dublin near Merrion Square. The hotel's public rooms are elegant and well designed, with many nice details, nooks and crannies to explore and space to relax in by crackling wood fires in the fireplaces. The hotel's Cellar Restaurant is a charming space with a friendly bar and outstanding wine cellar.

The hotel staff was outstanding. From initial reception to checkout, they anticipated our every need. We were upgraded to one of the largest suites at the property, even though this was our first visit.

The Merrion is within easy walking distance of Trinity College, Temple Bar, and many of the other main tourist sites in Dublin, and the nearby O'Donoghues Bar on Merrion Row is a cozy local pub that provides some of the best nightly traditional Irish music sessions in town. The nearby Natural History Museum is also worth a visit and there are many houses of leading Irish literary and historial figures nearby, as well as canals to explore and the River Liffey is just North of the hotel.

For a short excursion out of town, hop on the DART train at nearby Pearse Station and head to Howth for a hike on the scenic seaside cliffs there. The train ride is only half and hour and the cliffs are stunning, with beautiful plant and bird life, and great seafood restaurants in the pier area in Howth, including Ivan's and the famous King Sitric Fish Restaurant.

The hotel also has a spa complete with pool and gym and full spa services. The center courtyard has a lovely garden and terrace space from which to enjoy the (somewhat rare) sunny days and tea service in the drawing rooms is outstanding.

We would gladly return to the Merrion, where we greatly enjoyed the quiet beauty of the place and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, which made us fell very much at home in this great city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WellTraveled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear WellTraveled3,

Many thanks for the wonderful and comprehensive review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Merrion. I must say we get a great “buzz” when we read comments like yours; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews